We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, no frills Indian food”
Review of Lancers

Lancers
Ranked #12 of 31 Restaurants in Bawtry
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Exquisite Indian Dining
england
Level Contributor
148 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Lovely, no frills Indian food”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Been coming here to meals/takeaways for years
The Dower House may look nicer and if surroundings are important to you then crack on, if you want delicious Indian food at a good price, go to Lancers

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank meddlingmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    50
    21
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Service nor very good not go back if you go after 9pm the staff want you out so they can go home not very welcoming.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkG07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Better than the other reviews would lead you to believe.”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I visited with group of friends on a busy Friday night - and only because the Dower house across the road was fully booked.

A set menu for four - including poppadoms, four starters, four main courses, two naans, two side dishes, sweets and coffees - was a bargain £76. The staff were efficient and polite, and also willing to substitute dishes on the set menu for others.

The decor is a little tired - and therefore not as inviting as the Dower house. But saying that, I would still return and not just when the Dower house is fully booked.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoolePike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Level Contributor
158 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good honest indian food”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Standard Indian - nothing special but consistent and good value.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cran4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always excellent food”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

My husband and I have visited lancers for a number of years. If I was to have read the reviews on here I wouldn't have even tried it.
We always have chicken tikka masala and boiled rice and nan.
We have never had bad food, always a*.
We have travelled country wide and eaten many curries. As far as we are concerned no one can beat lancers.
I find it hard to believe some of the reviews and wonder if they've been written by neighbouring restaurants.
Always excellent, keep up the good food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Racael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lancers also viewed

Bawtry, South Yorkshire
Bawtry, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Blyth, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Lancers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing