We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the No 1 restaurant of the area without doubt!”
Review of Caviars of Bawtry

Caviars of Bawtry
Ranked #4 of 32 Restaurants in Bawtry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $52
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Caviars of Bawtry, situated on a quiet side street in the picturesque market town of Bawtry, serves fine food in an intimate and elegant setting. The perfect venue for a romantic meal or special meal.
Belton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely the No 1 restaurant of the area without doubt!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Bawtry has become our favourite place for either an evening or lunch out, there are so many places to try. We found this gem quite by chance one evening after returning to our car, and after a search online thought we'd give it a try. It is absolutely superb, from the welcome as you arrive to the minute you leave. Nothing is too much trouble for Malcolm and his attentive waitresses, and the chefs, well what can I say? If you couldn't see them preparing and cooking the mouth-watering dishes you would think that they'd been in their posts for years, they are two of the most skilled young men we've had the pleasure to meet, and their choice of menus are out of this world. We've actually not eaten anywhere else in Bawtry this year! We have tried most of the menu, and the Sunday lunch is excellent value. We booked for a family birthday and had the upstairs room which was perfect. They change the menu regularly, and each time I've said that I'm going to miss some of my favourites, but each time , the new menu surpasses the old, and we've not been disappointed. It's a small place, but friendly, the décor is lovely, and it's perfect for that special meal or families if you like the best food and service! I've read that some have said it is a little pricey, but we think that it is excellent value and visit every week, it's worth every penny!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbeanlands, General Manager at Caviars of Bawtry, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Cheers for this - always nice to see you in, and lovely to read your kind words ... we'll keep pushing though, and try to get better!!
All the best,
Malcolm and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    63
    21
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good but overpriced.”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I had read the reviews of this restaurant and was really looking forward to eating there. It was lunch time in the week and we were the only customers present. Kitchen is open so you can see whats going on, which I thnk is quite brave.
The fod and service are good, the place is sweet, but a couple of days before I had eaten at the main hotel in Bawtry and found their prices to be better with all the facilities of a 4 star hotel to boot, so dont think, though the food was of a par, that this tiny bistro really warrants such high prices personally.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbeanlands, General Manager at Caviars of Bawtry, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Glad that you mainly liked your time at Caviars - our prices are pretty similar to other good restaurants in the area. We pride ourselves on buying the freshest and best produce, which means slightly higher prices too. We also make all our menu from sauces to desserts, which isn't always the case in other establishments, which is maybe why they can charge less?
Pricing is always an area we look at, but for example just last month someone wrote that the lunch was fantastic value and would have gladly paid more!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointed”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Booked a table weeks prior to going, never been before but read such glowing reviews and thought we would try it, 4 of us arrived and were ushered upstairs into what appeared to be an overflow area, nobody else were seated there. Food was average and the manager agreed to throw in a bottle of wine fo the inconvenience, was was never taken off the bill until we reminded them. Probably not go again!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbeanlands, General Manager at Caviars of Bawtry, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Sorry to see that you felt it necessary to write a review even though we had tried to accommodate you and had bought you a bottle of wine as an appeasement, although we hadn't done anything wrong!! Fair enough, there was a bit of confusion on the wine, so I do apologise. Yes there was a lack of atmosphere as the other table in that room didn't turn up - we have no control over that. It is in no way an overflow room, as it is often used for two tables of 4, and the tables get chatting and have a great time, or a big table of 8 or 10. Obviously it doesn't sound like you will be returning, but next time request where you would like to sit and we'll see if we can help out.

Kind regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place to return to - again and again!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I visited Caviars for the first time with a friend earlier this evening and I have to say that the food, along with the service, venue and ambiance was just excellent. The place is intimate with the open kitchen in full view of the ground floor dining room. Both starters were exceptionally good; I had the Scallops which were both really fresh and beautifully cooked. My friend had the Goat's Cheese which also, I am informed, tasted as good as it looked. The main course was not to disappoint either; Rack of Lamb, pink and cooked to perfection and the Chicken, I am assured, was also extremely good. Drinks were were well priced, good quality and both well kept and well presented.

It was a quiet night but I can imagine it being just as good (if not better) with a full-house.

Caviars is well worth trying if you are from the area or just passing through - I will certainly be visiting again in the near future.

Scott Green

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbeanlands, General Manager at Caviars of Bawtry, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thanks a lot for this review - it's nice to know that what we are doing is going in the right direction and being appreciated ... look forward to you visiting again & again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Had an excellent meal here for our wedding anniversary. The champagne cocktails were very good and the scallops were cooked to perfection. Had smoked ice cream, sounds strange but eaten with the very chocolatey chocolate pyramid was aweso.
Excellent food, excellent service, nothing more to say!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbeanlands, General Manager at Caviars of Bawtry, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Cheers for the great review - glad you like it all ... more good stuff coming on the new menu - the champagne cocktails will still be here though!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caviars of Bawtry also viewed

Bawtry, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Caviars of Bawtry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing