We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really enjoyable and comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bawtry
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable and comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed in one of the standard rooms for one night. The room was lovely but better with the curtains pulled as the view was of a brick wall. On arrival was a chilled bottle of Prosecco and two glasses which was a delightful start to our evening. The rooms were spacious and clean and the bathroom had quality soaps/shower gels. The bed was so comfortable (probably the most comfortable hotel bed I've slept in). Our stay was for a company Christmas Party so the five course evening meal was served on a large scale. The food however, was lovely. Served piping hot and the waiters came in en mass to serve everyone quickly.

The breakfast in the morning was absolutely lovely. Quality thick bacon, lovely sausage and a very FULL English breakfast (egg, bacon, sausage, fried bread, fried potato slices, black pudding, beans, tomatoe, toast). I think that covered it.

We really felt well looked after and all the staff were efficient and helpful. I would definately recommend this hotel which is well situated in the lovely town of Bawtry. Two slight downsides though....the car park was full so we had to pay and display which set us back £6 and as it was Christmas party season, people were up til the very early hours making a noise but it's to be expected.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    92
    88
    43
    26
See reviews for
61
169
6
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We thought we had booked a standard room, but reading the room descriptions we may have been given an executive room, so I'm not sure.

The room was a decent size, and split into two sections, the sleeping area and the lounge area with a small corner sofa. The bathroom was a lovely size with a wet room with two showers. The room and bathroom were both very nicely furnished, and felt modern and clean as well as a bit luxurious. No view out the window - just onto the car park and the annex of the hotel next door but as it's a town centre hotel we hadn't been expecting pretty views. We had a nice-looking basket of local snacks.

Negatives:
There did not appear to be any way to control the temperature of the room so we spent a lot of time cold as the radiators were off during the day, came on for the evening and then were just switching off again when we returned to the room about 11pm.

There was no duvet and the bed was made of sheets and blankets which felt a bit like I was back at my granny's house circa 1988. The blankets and sheets were scratchy and due to the radiators being off we were forced to get another blanket from the wardrobe which made the coverings feel very heavy. I didn't feel like the bed was luxurious and it definitely didn't match the modern comfortable vibe of the room.

The choice of channels was very limited (didn't bother us as we went out but we did note there wasn't much choice). Also no free wifi which I find a bit stingy as the hotel is not bargain basement prices. I would expect complimentary wifi, especially as there was no signal on our phones for calls or internet.

Also the room was a little noisy, as the bar was absolutely heaving (we stayed on a Saturday night). It wasn't actually as bad as I was expecting and I have stayed in far noisier hotels, but it may bug some people.

I liked this hotel and I would stay again but probably not in winter as I got a bit grumpy with the radiators and the sheets.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 99snickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Double room, one night stay, November 13, paid £125. Arrived to be told that they had a wedding on so the hotel parking was full, so would have to park in the pay and display spots at the front, which cost £8. Had it not been a Saturday night it would have cost more, as parking on Sunday is free, and another night would have meant getting up before 8am to buy another ticket for the next day. Breakfast was not included, that's £7.50 per person. Not a good start.
The room was clean, decorated in a modern (slighly garish?) style, and spacious enough, my wife was pleased to find a decent hair drier, and there was an iron and ironing board. The bathroom was a shower only wet room, which looked great, but may not be to everyone's taste. It was also a bit form over function, as the shower turned out to be pretty poor (very low water pressure and trouble getting hot water at first), and there was a curious lack of shelves, or anywhere at all to put anything, which meant wash bags and shampoo went on the floor.
Finally I was personally disappointed to find no Sky Sports channels in the room (forgivable), or in the bar (to me, unforgivable at this price).
Had the hotel been cheaper it would have been nice enough, but the base room rate plus the extras make the negatives hard to overlook.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mikey123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Came last Friday-22nd November for a family 80th birthday party. Wow! Couldn't fault a thing!
We arrived to find a welcoming and warm lounge area that we settled in whilst waiting for the rest of the group. Drinks were reasonably priced to say it was a Hotel of standard! Once we'd all decided on meals the manager took our order, she was very helpful in advising us suggesting we share sides etc.
We were then seated where meals were served swift and hot. Starters we're tasty and of good sizes, mains were delicious and there wasn't a vegetable left in sight! All mains were wonderful and the sides of honey roast root vegetables and seasonal greens were to die for! Desserts were plentiful and we were all very full but umming and ahhing at the end! The evening was not rushed but swift service was certainly given. All members of staff were aware at all times of where we were at during the meal but not on top of you by any means!
The only thing that lets the hotel down is having to pay for parking until 10pm but I see the reasons for this.
Cannot thank you enough for a wonderful evening! We will be back I'm sure :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AmyGinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sompting, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Crown in February as part of a package (Vulcan to the Sky - Avro Vulcan XH558). Our stay in February was great, good value for money, nice room, good facilities and lovely food. We were impressed so we booked again this month when we went to see the Vulcan again. This time, we were sadly disappointed.

Our room was in the other wing of the hotel, our view was a brick wall, we had no hot water for the duration of our stay, the carpet was filthy and the tea/coffee facilities in the room were very stingy. The beds now seem to have some kind of memory foam mattress which we personally found, quite nasty, hot and uncomfortable.

We ate in the restaurant again on the Saturday evening and the food wasn't a patch on last time, some veg were soggy, some not even cooked, the service was pretty poor and the restuarant was very noisy. Next morning when we went for breakfast, we noticed too, just how run-down it is starting to look. The carpet could have at least done with a hoover if not, burning and replacing and the walls and paintwork were chipped and filthy. The other thing to note is that the Crown breakfast (full english) is £5.00 extra and yet you can have as much as you like from the hot selection on the free side of the menu....in fact, much more than is actually included in the Crown breakfast!!

A real shame that standards seem to have slipped in so few months.

The other thing to note is that the small bar, whilst nice early evening, gets ridiculously busy and noisy on a Satuday night as it seems to be popular with non residents too.

Room Tip: Try to get in the main wing...a little more noisy maybe but nicer rooms with a chance of hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yellowllama099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

After reading so many great reviews of the Crown Hotel I decided to take the wife and kid for a well deserved weekend away. As we entered the hotel we were greeted kindly by the door man Hugo who carried are bags inside. The receptionist was extremely helpful in providing information of the area and the best locations for family outings. Food was excellent, a culinary delight for my taste-buds. The mixing platter you have to try, such value for the sensational taste! Bawtry was a delight everything was a walking distance away. I highly recommend visiting Bawtry and the Crown Hotel. I know we'll be back and thank the wonderful staff for such a great weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for Marcie, she was was extremely helpful and a delight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VOvoQui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have used the Crown hotel for business meetings at least a dozen times over the last 5-6 years and are generally very satisfied with the quality of accomodation, food and service offered. The rooms are very nicely decorated however size can vary greatly (in some instances the bathrooms are larger than some of the other rooms!) so it might be worth asking for one of the larger rooms on arrival. Although we generally eat out for dinner, breakfast and lunch are always of an excellent standard and extremely plentiful. The bar area is nice in the evening for a 'night cap' (or two) and all staff are polite and extremely helpful. The only real issue we've ever had was during our most recent stay when we could'nt get internet access for the duration of our 2 day meeting (which for a business event isn't good) however this was resolved just before our departure. Some excellent restaurants (Italian, Indian and Chinese) plus bars within walking distance is an added bonus of this hotel. Would thoroughly recommend, providing there is no repeat of the internet access issues!

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room as there is a big difference in size between the largest and smallest availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorksopBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bawtry
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
5.4 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
7.3 mi away
The Earl of Doncaster
The Earl of Doncaster
#7 of 19 in Doncaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel
9.0 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ramada Encore Doncaster Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: High Street, Bawtry DN10 6JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Bawtry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bawtry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star Crown Hotel is located in chic and cosmopolitan Bawtry. The hotel has been transformed with a rustic and contemporary style, with 77 bedrooms including sumptuous executive bedrooms with mood lighting, photographic wallpaper and sunken beds. The Crown restaurant open all day offers a locally sourced menu including grills, fish, pasta and its famous sharing platters, whilst the bustling Crown bar also offers a fizz menu and has a great atmosphere with candle lit lanterns and music. Bawtry is also right on the hotel doorstep and is renowned for its independent boutique shopping, restaurants and wine bars. The Crown is the perfect location to stay while visiting Doncaster Racecourse, Keepmoat Stadium / Doncaster Rovers, Doncaster Dome or when flying from Robin Hood Airport just 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and HRS so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Doncaster
The Crown Hotel Bawtry, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing