We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highwayman Inn
Ranked #28 of 36 Shepton Mallet B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 11, 2009

On arrival at the hotel a friendly member of staff greeted us checked us in and showed us to our room. The room was clean and spacious, in the evening we had a relatively sizeable meal at a very reasonable price and was waited on by a very friendly cheery waitress who served the food very swiftly. As the Hotel is located a little out of town we were delighted on the arrival of a Karaoke we had the most enjoyable of evenings the locals seem to be very friendly and the Karaoke was two very proffesional guys playing a mixture of music to suit all, at the end of the night we retired to bed where we both enjoyed a comfortable night. The breakfast we had in the morning was very nice and plenty of it, however i do wish they would serve it till a little later as we do like to have a lay in.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank ChrisTill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 154 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2009

Our second experience with this group, and my birthday "treat"! Check very very carefully what rooms you are being given. We were on the top floor up perilous stairs (where are Health & Safety when you need them?). Tiny eaves room, adequate bathroom. Ancient tv, no remote, wardrobe stuffed with dirty old pillows and broken cot. Daughter/partner had a room so small they had to move round bed to shut door, and he being 6ft 5" was unable to stand upright in their bathroom. Adequate boring pub meal, apathetic staff. Mentioned lack of loo rolls in bar toilets - not dealt with until following day. Breakfast at dirty sticky tables in bar. Daughter ordered veggie breakfast, ok - partner ended up with one as they had run out of sausages and bacon. Not a good experience. Given impression staff didnot give a toss. Have tried contact with Head Office and met with brick wall.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellie-mae7013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Arrived at Hotel & checked in at the Bar.Greeted by a friendly member of Bar Staff who gave us our key. Got to the room and first impressions were good, nice size room with everything in that you would need. Unfortunately the longer we were in the room the more apparent the bad sides became. There was alot of dust around the room with big hairballs around the night stands. Our bin was not emptied during the 3 night stay nor were toiletries or the tea & coffee replenished. We had dinner in the attached pub which was probably the least enjoyable part of our stay!!!
The hotel was a bit too far out from town for us so we had nowhere to go accept their pub but the location was very convenient for the showground. On the Friday there was a Karaoke in the pub until Midnight which made it difficult to sleep.
Overall thi is an ok budget hotel you are going to the Bath & West Showground but thats about it!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London_JetSetter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

Our room was small, hot and stale, none of the windows could be opened to ventilate it.
Main courses were pleasant and good value for money, however we waited in vain for a dessert menu and having located one ourselves found the puddings disappointing. Especially the rubbery chocolate fudge cake that didn't taste of either ingredient.
When we were booked in and shown to our room by a helpful young man we made a point of checking with him about breakfast and we were informed it was served from 7.30 to 9.30. Having been kept awake until nearly midnight by the karaoke session in the bar, it was good to have a layin. BIG mistake, when we came down for breakfast about 9 a.m. we realised that it was all being cleared away. The manageress refused to accept that we had been misinformed about the time and all we managed to grab were 2 bowls of cereal. I did sneak 2 slices of bread into the toaster but was outwitted by her removal of the butter and jam.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gowBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2009

I wasn't expecting much from a pub B&B in Shepton Mallet but it was a means to an end and as I booked late in the middle of August it would just have to do - however - we were pleased from start to finish, The location was reasonably quiet, the room was clean and tidy and very cosy, the staff were really helpful and the food was delicious!! Thoroughly recommend the evening meal, masses on the plate for under a tenner and it tastes like home cooked. The ham and chicken pie was yummy. We also had a very creamy, chocolatey pudding and went to bed very content.
Breakfast was served in the bar and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. A pleasure to stay here

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

My husband and I stayed for two nights in September, and it was not a great experience.
The hotel appeared run-down and in need of revamping everywhere.
The room was basic as expected for the price, but the windows had black mould around the frame, were dirty, and cob webs hung down across them, so they obviously had not be cleaned for some time.
The breakfast experience was not great either - we had to sit at the bar tables which were still sticky and dirty from the night before. The cutlery was dirty, and we had a cup with no saucer for our tea. The bread served as part of the breakfast was not fresh - it was still hard from the freezer!!
The evening meal (the 'special') was not worth the money - a small dish of pasta, fat-soggy chips covered in black bits from the fryer, and limp stale salad.
To top it all, on the Friday night we had to suffer the very loud noise of a 3-hour kaeroke which was immediately beneath our bedroom.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcdaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2008

My main purpose for my stay at this hotel was to visit Longleat as it is only a 30 minute drive away. There is, however, little else to visit within this secluded location. As it is has a pub downstairs, we had our evening meal at the inn. The steak was fantastic but the cake was stale. The breakfast in the morning was equally delicious. The rooms were of a good size and clean but the hotel seemed to lack a friendly feel overall.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Umpalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shepton Mallet hotels
0.9 mi away
The Prestleigh Inn
The Prestleigh Inn
#18 of 36 in Shepton Mallet
42 reviews
0 mi away
Cannards Well
Cannards Well
#2 of 2 in Cannards Grave
184 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Old Stables Bed & Breakfast
2.3 mi away
Whitecroft Farm B&B
Whitecroft Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Pylle
55 reviews
3.5 mi away
Manor House Inn
Manor House Inn
#1 of 3 in Ditcheat
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highwayman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highwayman Inn

Address: Cannards Grave, Shepton Mallet BA4 4LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Shepton Mallet
Price Range: $73 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highwayman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highwayman Inn is situated in a stunning location in Shepton Mallet with superb views of the scenic Mendip Hills and 14 tastefully decorated en-suite rooms. All guestrooms are fully equipped with the most modern facilities such as multichannel TV, internet access and tea and coffee making facilities to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay. The Inn's restaurant is where guests can enjoy a healthy and traditional dish along with a drink in its acclaimed real ale bar. The Inn is the ideal location to explore and enjoy the wonderful surroundings of Somerset countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Highwayman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highwayman Hotel Shepton Mallet
Highwayman Inn Shepton Mallet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing