We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Stay with Friendly Folks”
Review of Highwayman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highwayman Inn
Ranked #30 of 36 Shepton Mallet B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The hotel is at a good location, and is easy to notice. It has a large car park with lots of parking spaces. The town centre is within walking distance, albeit not that near (allow yourself at least 20 minutes to be safe!) The room was clean, with a rather spacious shower that had a good pressure. The staff were friendly and assisted wherever and whenever they could (checking in, cleaning up, checking out etc.) The wi-fi wasn't working well (one of their wireless routers was not working) but you could get a signal at the bar area. An overall pleasant stay.

Room Tip: My room was near the back entrance (11), which was good in my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cngjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 152 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

Booked this hotel for just one night in June. The room was adequate for our needs though a little cramped. The breakfast was good and the evening meal in the inn was good pub grub. I would use it again as a stop over.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

A really nice little hotel that isn't expensive is getting rare. The Highwayman Inn offers a good service which translates into excellent value for money. Given there is a bar restaurant open every day as well, it is an extremely useful place to stay as you don't have to go out at night after a busy day.

The bar is friendly and warm, typically British country pub atmosphere. In the restaurant part you can order a nicely varied range of food which is well presented and correctly cooked.

Breakfast is very good - bacon, eggs, sausage etcetera plus cereals and toast.

Overall a very reasonable price for what is on offer.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are over-heated but you can open the windows. there is a little traffic noise but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

comfortable hotel. Perfect for business travellers. Bed was very relaxing and the shower hot and fast. Usual problem with electric sockets not near bed, but a small point. I had no wi-fi in my room, but was told it was a fault with the router.. The food was good pub grub. Cheap enough but also delicious and plentiful . . mixed grill far to filling :-) It would also be an advantage to be under 5ft5, the corridors have beams across and need to duck , another minor point. The staff were friendly/polite enough without over doing it. Loads of room in the car park, which is not always the case.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank engineer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We booked this inn via booking.com as we had no idea what accommodation was in the area.
The photo of the outside was not flattering but those of the inside looked quite nice. The price of £49 per double room including breakfast seemed more than reasonable.

We were extremely well looked after, with pleasant staff and a lovely modern ground floor room, nicely fitted out. It had TV, hairdryer and tea/coffee-making facilities. We heard no traffic noise and the walls were 2ft. thick.The breakfast was full English and beautifully cooked. We found it extremely good value for money. They have a restaurant for evening meals but we went out to friends so cannot judge the standard.

One cautionary word: The room key is put in a holder. This controls all the room lights - so remember when you take the key out of the holder, everything goes black.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed here for a night whilst away for work,

Room was a good size and the bed was really comfy, if anything the windows could be double glazed due to road traffic but the traffic is much less at night.

Bar was really nice with a good choice of beers and also sky sports,

Breakfast in the morning was good.

Staff were superb right from check in to check out.

I would recommend this hotel and shall stay again when my work takes me near.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My wife and I booked into The Highwayman for an overnight stay, as we were working in the area the following day. The reception promptly handled our arrival and we were shown to a very suitable room which was wonderfully warm. We inquired regarding an evening meal, and were told we could go into the bar/dining area at any time which suited us.
When viewing the menu my wife asked about a meal with a 'wheat-free' content, due to her having a stomach problem, whereupon the chef arrived and offered to try and produce whatever she desired. The evening meal was hot, tasty and extremely enjoyable.
The breakfast was also suitably enjoyable.
Our only regret - we don't get to be in that area more often!

Room Tip: Don't be put off by some of the low ceilings - the service more than compensates!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveAfricaLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shepton Mallet hotels
0.6 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
990 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cannards Well
Cannards Well
#2 of 2 in Cannards Grave
182 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Prestleigh Inn
The Prestleigh Inn
#21 of 36 in Shepton Mallet
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Thatched Cottage Inn
The Thatched Cottage Inn
#16 of 36 in Shepton Mallet
252 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Kings Arms - Dusthole
The Kings Arms - Dusthole
#23 of 36 in Shepton Mallet
178 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Shrubbery Hotel
The Shrubbery Hotel
#8 of 36 in Shepton Mallet
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highwayman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highwayman Inn

Address: Cannards Grave, Shepton Mallet BA4 4LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Shepton Mallet
Price Range: $74 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highwayman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highwayman Inn is situated in a stunning location in Shepton Mallet with superb views of the scenic Mendip Hills and 14 tastefully decorated en-suite rooms. All guestrooms are fully equipped with the most modern facilities such as multichannel TV, internet access and tea and coffee making facilities to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay. The Inn's restaurant is where guests can enjoy a healthy and traditional dish along with a drink in its acclaimed real ale bar. The Inn is the ideal location to explore and enjoy the wonderful surroundings of Somerset countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Highwayman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highwayman Hotel Shepton Mallet
Highwayman Inn Shepton Mallet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing