We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Trip”
Review of Highwayman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highwayman Inn
Ranked #23 of 36 Shepton Mallet B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights and have got to say that the room was very clean and comfortable, the staff were very welcoming on arrival and spent a very pleasant evening with various people watching the Champions League Final. We did not have a meal in the restaurant but it did look excellent value for money. Nice bar area and lovely staff, shame the weather was poor.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenHeckmondwike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 154 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2011

We received a warm welcome on arrival, the room was clean and well appointed with tea & coffee, freeview, and en-suite. The pub was busy and we had a lovely home cooked meal which was extremely tasty and good value. They had a karaoke night when we were there which was a bonus, as my partner loves to sing, and we were made very welcome and had a great time.
In short this is a family run pub restuarant with rooms which offers a warm & friendly service which is a welcome change from the big chain hotels. Super value, will definately stay again.
Thanks, Harry & Heidi

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harry_barrett1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

This roadside hotel/restaurant/pub is next to a main, busy A road.
Some rooms are located overlooking the road, and these tend to be rather noisy at night.If you want a good night sleep request one overlooking the car park! They could do with investing in double glazing.
The rooms where small, bathrooms of OK size.Overall quite clean.
Friendly service in the reception/bar/restaurant.Run by a family.
Very limited range of main meals served here.A revamped menu is long overdue I reckon.
Free WiFi in bedrooms but I received a very weak signal in my room, so again ask if this is important to you.
Full English breakfast was served in the mornings from 07.30.
About 5 minutes drive to the nearby showground; understand most clients stay here have some shows/fairs to attend.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKNorseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights in Early December. The staff were very friendly, the room clean, warm and comfortable. The food good and free WiFi. Perhaps the hotel could look a bit better from the outside. But, it is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbpop123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Basic but clean, staff friendly and made to feel welcome.

Not much around the hotel but only 20minutes drive into Bath and same again to Logleat so good location for either places.

Breakfast was very good with a selection of items and full english breakfast on offer

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tykes03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

We arrived on a cold wet friday afternoon and were due at a wedding on the saturday, the staff (mainly family members) greeted us when we arrived and from that moment on they could not have been more helpful or friendly, Barry the landlord and chef (amazing breakfasts!!)was amazing as was his wife Nic and their 2 children Andre and Connor. My wife and I hqad a great time the pub atmosphere was great and all the locals were so friendly.

Simon O'Shea

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mroshea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

I stayed with my friend as we were going to the Boyzone concert the next day at the Royal Bath Showground. The room was very clean and there was tea/coffee facilities aswell as a small but luxury bathroom. Breakfast was delicious and there was lots to choose from such as fresh coffee, cooked breakfast, cereals, juice and toast. Service was excellent and staff were very helpful. I would stay again if i came to Bath again

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westlife879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shepton Mallet hotels
0.0 mi away
Cannards Well
Cannards Well
#2 of 2 in Cannards Grave
184 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Prestleigh Inn
The Prestleigh Inn
#19 of 36 in Shepton Mallet
42 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Old Stables Bed & Breakfast
2.3 mi away
Whitecroft Farm B&B
Whitecroft Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Pylle
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Natterjack Inn
The Natterjack Inn
#1 of 2 in Evercreech
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highwayman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highwayman Inn

Address: Cannards Grave, Shepton Mallet BA4 4LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Shepton Mallet
Price Range: $77 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highwayman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highwayman Inn is situated in a stunning location in Shepton Mallet with superb views of the scenic Mendip Hills and 14 tastefully decorated en-suite rooms. All guestrooms are fully equipped with the most modern facilities such as multichannel TV, internet access and tea and coffee making facilities to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay. The Inn's restaurant is where guests can enjoy a healthy and traditional dish along with a drink in its acclaimed real ale bar. The Inn is the ideal location to explore and enjoy the wonderful surroundings of Somerset countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Highwayman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highwayman Hotel Shepton Mallet
Highwayman Inn Shepton Mallet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing