We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wild weather; wonderful weekend”
Review of Pennard Hill Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shepton Mallet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pennard Hill Farm
Reviewed October 13, 2008

Storms and fallen trees only served to enhance the warmth of the welcome at Pennard Hill Farm. Spacious, spotless and beautifully furnished rooms, really comfortable beds and glorious views over the Glastonbury countryside; eggs collected that morning from the farm's chickens as well as local butter, apple juice milk and bread made a fabulous breakfast - cooked on the huge, duck-egg blue Aga.. This review comes from a very happy rock band who give a great vote of thanks for such a haven of comfort in such a beautiful, rural setting. Lovely hosts, who made us feel truly welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CognacFairDinkum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 14 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2008

Having first stayed in the Hay Barn with our small daughter, Lily (whose first spoken word was sheep or 'eep as she said!) over 12 months ago, on our most recent trip we brought friends with their 4 kids for a long weekend. The Golden Fleece was just perfect. Good size rooms so that we never felt on top of each other, really comfortable, lots of fun in the pool every day and even the weather was kind to us!

Pennard Hill farm really is a unique place, everything about it makes it special, from the welcome we always get from the owners, the sheep, beautiful setting, pool, well equipt accomodation. It feels like a home.

We are not easy to please and we rave to all our friends about it. We will be back again!

Stayed: April 2008
Thank SDMRGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2008

It was great just to get away from all the hustle and bustle of working in cities and enjoy the views and animals. The place had and very homely feel and welcoming hosts.

They took time to chat with us make us feel relaxed and at home. I spend much of my life in hotels and this was a completely refreshing experience which was far more natural and restful. Our room was very clean and well decorated.

I can see why they had so many letters thanking them for a great experience and I would, and have, recommeded this as a great place to refresh and renew your energy. Make sure you get to use the pool, quite unique!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDJCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

We were disappointed with our stay at the Golden Fleece - we booked the holiday having seen the website which emphasised the farm aspect of the holiday for children i.e donkey rides, horses, feeding sheep etc which is what appealed to us since between us we had a few children. Upon arrival the owners unapologetically told us there were no animals left (they had sold the remaining sheep a week earlier) and were surprised that this may be an issue even though their website photos were mainly of animals! In addition to this the website sold the child friendly aspect of the place by saying they could provide toys and dvd's - again we were told the toys in the garage were a bit grubby and would need a wash (by us..). The cottage was certainly not 5 star, the main lounge is in a room which used to be a swimming pool so is very dark and the rest of the cottage has a tiled floor and glass tables etc so not very cosy at all. Owners not very helpful overall and we would not recommend as a family holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank vanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

We arrived to stay on the "farm" only be told that there were no animals at all.

The owner of the property appears to be recently separated from his animal-loving wife, and has little interest in animals himself - he has other business interests (some form of management consultant), and to refer to this place as a "working farm" is complete hogwash!

We were told that the sheep "had gone". After some questioning we were told that they had a "tendency to die" (!) and therefore he had sold them to a proper farmer.

Also, the horses had been taken away by the wife.

And the donkeys were nipping the children, so also needed to be taken care of (also gone...)

Since we have left, it seems as though (in response to our complaints) they have bought some chickens. So, go stay on this so-called farm if you want to see a few chickens... if you want some form of real farm, go somewhere else...

BTW, they market themselves as "5 star luxury" - our experience was far from that. If you want luxury, go somewhere else...

In fact, I cannot recommend this place for any reason.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DontStayatthisPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

We arrived in darkeness to find our cottage with its lamps on and log fire ready to be lit. Food in the fridge for breakfast and the lovely host, Phil, taking his dogs for a late-night stroll down the drive. His warm welcome and helping us to unpack the car so we could pop our two children straight into bed made for a very easy start to our 3 day break. A glass of wine in the enormous kitchen by the cosy Aga and we were ready to fall into a huge, comfy bed.

The view from our bedroom that we woke up to was utterly spectacular. Miles of breathtaking valley below with sheep looking at us with interest.

The pool was a great start to the day - stunning views from the enormous gothic window at the end of the pool.

Nothing was too much trouble. We needed internet access which wasn't available in our cottage but we were welcomed into the main farmhouse to use it and given tea and homemade buscuits.

A totally relaxing experience. We wished we had done our big food buying session before arriving as the 10minute drive to the nearest Tescos meant leaving our heavenly rural retreat for the real world.

We felt like we'd had a week's holiday by the time we left.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank l0nd0nchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2007

We first discovered Pennard Hill Farm in 2004 when we were guests at a wedding held here. We fell in love with the position and the place itself; it has a lot of character and really spectacular views and a ‘wow feel good’ factor. It is a very peaceful setting, very private and tranquil which is just what we need working in London. We came back for a week in August 2004 and had fun exploring the area and really just enjoying relaxing and unwinding. We stayed in the Hay Barn; a Victorian Barn converted into a luxury apartment and indoor swimming pool. We have both stayed in many places around the UK and abroad and have very high standards. This did not disappoint; in fact it is our favourite. So much so, we decided to come back and have just spent a glorious weekend in the Lamb Cottage. The log fire was the attraction this time - November and very cold outside! We were both surprised at how beautiful it was for this time of year. The owner bent over backwards to ensure we enjoyed our stay and was very friendly and helpful. We have booked again for two nights in January to help us recover from the Christmas festivities. Pennard Hill Farm is unique; go there and enjoy, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Challenger7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shepton Mallet hotels
4.4 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
5.5 mi away
The Old Stables Bed & Breakfast
2.2 mi away
Whitecroft Farm B&B
Whitecroft Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Pylle
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Cannards Well
Cannards Well
#2 of 2 in Cannards Grave
184 reviews
3.4 mi away
Manor House Inn
Manor House Inn
#1 of 3 in Ditcheat
228 reviews
0 mi away
The Natterjack Inn
The Natterjack Inn
#1 of 2 in Evercreech
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pennard Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pennard Hill Farm

Address: Pennard Hill Farm Stickleball Hill | East Pennard, Shepton Mallet BA4 6UG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Shepton Mallet
Price Range: $170 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pennard Hill Farm occupies a stunning position on the summit of the southernmost ridge of the Mendip hills and offers three luxury self catering cottages sleeping between 2 and 8 guests. The views are magnificent, taking in Glastonbury Tor, the Somerset Levels and the Mendip Hills. The farm offers a superb heated indoor pool with a gothic window with spectacular views of the hills and beyond. Pennard Hill Farm is a great location to stay with many interesting places to visit. We are near Bath, Castle Cary, Cheddar, Glastonbury and Wells to name but a few. Historic houses such as Longleat, Lytes Cary Manor and Montacute House are nearby as well as some fantastic local pubs and restaurants. We have just started offering couples the opportunity to get married at Pennard Hill Farm so do get in touch for more details. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pennard Hill Farm Shepton Mallet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing