We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and peaceful retreat”
Review of Pennard Hill Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shepton Mallet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pennard Hill Farm
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent and peaceful retreat”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Just spent a very relaxing and enjoyable week at pennard with our two small children (aged 3 and 6). Stayed in the golden fleece - which is very large/comfortable for just 4 people and could easily accommodate more. The back garden is lovely and well maintained. The indoor pool is excellent and we had it all to ourselves (it was a holiday saver what with awful weather). Location-wise it's very good - within easy reach of nice small towns, Bath and Longleat. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrdwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    0
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
2
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We recently held our wedding reception at Pennard Hill Farm. I started dealing with Kate just as she took over the farm last year and she really took all the stress out of organising the wedding by being incredibly accommodating to our needs for the party. We housed the whole family up at the farm and the cottages were absolutely gorgeous. Myself and my (now) husband stayed in the Hay Barn, which had a private indoor heated swimming pool attached to the Hay Barn which was totally amazing to have to calm any pre wedding nerves and post wedding hang overs! The honeymoon suite was just gorgeous - we spent 3 nights there but wish we could have stayed for a week. John (who works full time on the farm) was so so helpful and really lovely. All my girlfriends also fancied him rather alot. A really nice touch was John bringing myself and all the bridesmaids an iced Pimms and lemonade the morning of the wedding. The views from the farm houses are just incredible and give you a real sense of peace and harmony. The whole experience from start to finish was absolutely exceptional and I would totally recommend anyone who is looking for a gorgeous chilled weekend away in the country side OR anyone looking for a country wedding venue to come to Pennard Hill Farm. We loved it so much we're going to go back and stay for our first wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ojojhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

Having visited the farm whilst it was under the management of Phil we loved it and decided to have our wedding there, but to return again when the new owners had taken over has taken the shine off the place. The place has so much promise and was/could be excellent, but with the cold reception you receive from the new owners Kate and her Husband the farm takes on a different light. Their daughter's boyfriend John is extremely friendly and helpful but he left the day before our wedding and so we were left to deal with Kate. We found her extremely 'off' and snotty although she was getting thousands of pounds off us for doing pretty much nothing. We hired our own marquee/catering company, had to hire extra equipment at a cost to get power to the marquee and hire some toilets. So really they had nothing to do but make up rooms. In a business where you are needed to provide good customer service, they provided a cold demur. After dealing with John we thought there would be no problem at all but when he left all the customer service/politeness left. You need to make an effort with people who are paying thousands of pounds to you however much money you may have.
The cottages looked a little drab, the AGA stopped working on the night before the wedding when we had about 40 family members over, this left us with a small electric oven in the cottage next door. There was no offer of her cooking the food on the hob in the main house and we could bring it down or calling an emergency engineer out, we just got a patronising sentence about that was how AGA's work (although we have one at home) and we didn't understand. At the end of the stay after a very shaky start we had £100 knocked off our bill for no AGA in a house for 7 people.
After the incident with the AGA on the Friday before the wedding Kate and her Husband ran off and left us with no-one to contact and no way of plugging the electric in for the marquee as the connection is in the house and so we were left trying to set up in the failing light. I think that you should be present if you are providing a service for a wedding where you have to do nothing you could at least be there to help out with any problems like electricity to the Marquee.
The swimming pool smelt of drains (which it did not when Phil was in charge) and generally the place looked a little untidy. I hope they will improve on all aspects of running this business and take some lessons in politeness and courtesy off their daughter's boyfriend John.
Inevitably we had an amazing day but this was due to family and friends rallying around and having such great caterers, marquees, music and staff on the day.
Please make this place work as it is in such an amazing location and the buildings are beautiful but the owners need to learn some Somerset hospitality if they are to have a successful business. I have paid less and stayed in a lot better places with a lot better service.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kec21, Owner at Pennard Hill Farm, responded to this review, February 20, 2010
Well intended, constructive criticism is always welcome and is particularly helpful if made immediately after the event. I would sincerely apologise for the disappointment experienced over the weekend last September.

We took over the booking, price structure and arrangements as had been agreed with the previous owners and had only been living at the farm for a few of weeks at the time of the wedding.

Since moving in we have undated all the cottages and facilities, had all appliances comprehensively serviced and put back to full working order and now feel the property is up to the standards expected.

We look forward to having the opportunity to show you the improvements we have made and to welcome you to Pennard Hill Farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2008

What a fantastic place! Arriving tired and a bit weary from a long journey from up north the cottage emanated a calm, warm glow that immediately started a chill-out process that lasted all weekend. The cottage had loads of room (five of us stayed) so we could relax without getting under each others feet. An idyllic, quiet location (to die for) that looks out over the Somerset countryside to the front with fields and trees to the rear.
The rooms were well furnished and so comfortable, further enhancing the overall relaxation factor. The kitchen was huge with a large Aga as a central feature. This brought back the art into cooking because you don’t just set dials on this beast!
Our hosts Phil and Islay were great. They went out of their way to make us feel completely at home and its funny but, it felt almost like visiting old friends for the first time in years.
The thing about the farm is you can do as much or as little as you want and it’s a great base for exploring central Somerset.
I can wholeheartedly recommend Pennard Hill Farm Estate for any kind of stay (long or short), families, friends, couples, romantics or whatever and, I bet you’ll not want to go home afterwards.

  • Liked — The whole experience. It cant be broken down.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lefthanddrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cognac
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2008

Storms and fallen trees only served to enhance the warmth of the welcome at Pennard Hill Farm. Spacious, spotless and beautifully furnished rooms, really comfortable beds and glorious views over the Glastonbury countryside; eggs collected that morning from the farm's chickens as well as local butter, apple juice milk and bread made a fabulous breakfast - cooked on the huge, duck-egg blue Aga.. This review comes from a very happy rock band who give a great vote of thanks for such a haven of comfort in such a beautiful, rural setting. Lovely hosts, who made us feel truly welcome.

  • Liked — spaciousness; cleanliness, warmth
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CognacFairDinkum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2008

Having first stayed in the Hay Barn with our small daughter, Lily (whose first spoken word was sheep or 'eep as she said!) over 12 months ago, on our most recent trip we brought friends with their 4 kids for a long weekend. The Golden Fleece was just perfect. Good size rooms so that we never felt on top of each other, really comfortable, lots of fun in the pool every day and even the weather was kind to us!

Pennard Hill farm really is a unique place, everything about it makes it special, from the welcome we always get from the owners, the sheep, beautiful setting, pool, well equipt accomodation. It feels like a home.

We are not easy to please and we rave to all our friends about it. We will be back again!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank SDMRGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
2 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2008

It was great just to get away from all the hustle and bustle of working in cities and enjoy the views and animals. The place had and very homely feel and welcoming hosts.

They took time to chat with us make us feel relaxed and at home. I spend much of my life in hotels and this was a completely refreshing experience which was far more natural and restful. Our room was very clean and well decorated.

I can see why they had so many letters thanking them for a great experience and I would, and have, recommeded this as a great place to refresh and renew your energy. Make sure you get to use the pool, quite unique!

  • Liked — The refreshing experience away from busy world
  • Disliked — Needed a little longer there
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDJCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shepton Mallet hotels
3.7 mi away
Cannards Well
Cannards Well
#2 of 2 in Cannards Grave
172 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
953 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Old Stables Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Natterjack Inn
The Natterjack Inn
#1 of 2 in Evercreech
48 reviews
3.4 mi away
Manor House Inn
Manor House Inn
#1 of 3 in Ditcheat
202 reviews
2.2 mi away
Whitecroft Farm B&B
Whitecroft Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Pylle
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pennard Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pennard Hill Farm

Property: Pennard Hill Farm
Address: Pennard Hill Farm Stickleball Hill | East Pennard, Shepton Mallet BA4 6UG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Shepton Mallet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under New Ownership since August 2009. The multi award winning Pennard Hill Farm occupies a stunning position on the summit of the southernmost ridge of the Mendip hills and offers three luxury self catering cottages sleeping between 2 and 8 guests. The views are magnificent, taking in Glastonbury Tor, the Somerset Levels and the Mendip Hills. The farm offers a superb heated indoor pool with a gothic window with spectacular views of the hills and beyond. Pennard Hill Farm is a great location to stay with many interesting places to visit. We are near Bath, Castle Cary, Cheddar, Glastonbury and Wells to name but a few. Historic houses such as Longleat, Lytes Cary Manor and Montacute House. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pennard Hill Farm Shepton Mallet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing