We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvellous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Peppers

Peppers
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ledbury, England
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marvellous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stopped in town to break up a journey and asked someone if they could recommend somewhere nice for lunch. We came here to find a great range of healthy yet interesting dishes on the menu to suit all appetites. As a veggie I'm not used to having so many things to choose from so I was delighted to see probably a dozen main meals on offer. There were plenty of meat options too. I had a lovely homemade beanburger and my partner had salmon fishcakes, both came with generous portions of a wide choice of different salads. It was so refreshing to be able to eat something so healthy and so tasty whilst on holiday. My partner said it was the best lunch he had ever eaten out, and as a chef himself it takes a lot to impress him. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Shepton Mallet.




  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blacksheep79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    17
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good, Healthy Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

A combined restaurant and deli with a good range on offer and delicious meals cooked by the proprietors. It's a family business and it shows; there's always a human touch.

Veggies often find it difficult to get a good choice; not here! Spacious, with seating for forty people, they offer a comprehensive selection of breakfast and lunchtime dishes for both vegetarians and meat-eaters, with homemade cakes and sandwiches served throughout the day..

They have good wheelchair access and facilities that helped them to win the prestigious 'Accessible Somerset Award'.

Their cream teas are available all year, and consist of a large homemade scone with local clotted cream and a selection of quality jams.

They have local ales, water and apple juices (amongst other beverages) and award-winning jams, chutneys and dressings which are all available to buy in the shop.

Unusually, they also offer an extensive menu for both gluten-free and dairy-free diners.

It's a great place to shop, pop in for a coffee or have lunch. I recommend it highly. And if you can't go them they will come to you! Their outside catering for all sizes and styles of events is renowned.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheGoldenhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marvelous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great fresh food and great variety of homemade cakes and savouries, at a good price, great service by friendly staff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty Deli with Cafe!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This place is a brilliant find, with a gorgeous range of deli items.

They made me up a salad from items that I selected, such as garlic olives, sundried tomatoes, roll mob herrings and other delights. My mouth is watering as I write this, just thinking of that deliciously fresh salad again.

We went just a few feet away to enjoy our lunch and sat under the market cross in the sunshine and we are looking forward to doing this again soon.

Again and again!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 694karenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Stuffy staff, good grub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have had lunch here a couple of times in recent months whilst on our way from Honiton to visit family in Bath.

The food is well prepared, reasonably priced and efficiently served.  The manager/ waiter could usefully buff up on his 'people skills' a bit  we felt and whilst being quite efficient is a little brusque.

The place is well supported by the locals.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peppers also viewed

Shepton Mallet, Somerset
Shepton Mallet, Somerset
 
Shepton Mallet, Somerset
Shepton Mallet, Somerset
 

Been to Peppers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing