We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With out a doubt the BEST...”

Whitstone's Traditional Fish and Chips
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Fish and chip restaurant
1 review
“With out a doubt the BEST...”
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

The fish and chips I had the pleasure of eating in Whitstones restaurant were with out a doubt the best I have eaten! The portion size was very substantial for £6.95 to eat it! I would recommend this chippy to anyone...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JollyG88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    55
    17
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“quality going down hill ?”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

we have visited this fish & chip restaurant and take away on numerous occasions over the last few months. On this occasion it was an early lunch time visit we were greeted by the normal friendly staff. We ordered our normal senior citizens lunch (usually good value). We think that we had possibly come in too early to eat, for on this occasion the chips were very bitty and tasted as the had been re-heated from the day before and the fish batter was soft and well below par for this restaurant, and now you only get 3 half slices of bread for two people? We hope that the quality is not going down hill for what is a great and well thought of fish and chip restaurant..

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doitdreckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Visited on Friday evening when quite busy and the service was excellent.Large Cod and Chips was quality and excellent value sitting in the restaurant.My in laws have used this place several times and recommended a visit to my wife and I.The take away part of the restaurant was very busy for the whole duration of our visit.

Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“as good as it gets”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Best fish and chips I've ever had..varied menu and pleasant ambience (for a chip shop restaurant) The service is charming and the wine list unbelievably cheap. If only they sold a decent beer it would be perfect. Can't wait to go again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BathDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Whitstones is good as a fish and chip shop.......I had the cod with fries.....you get quite a lot!
Staff are efficient but I would like to be asked how my meal is a few minutes after it has been put in front of me..........not just at the end 'was everything okay for you?'
I will eat here again when I am next in the area and want fish and chips:)

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HoneyinHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitstone's Traditional Fish and Chips also viewed

Shepton Mallet, Somerset
Shepton Mallet, Somerset
 

Been to Whitstone's Traditional Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing