We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shepton Mallet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Middleton House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 36 Shepton Mallet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Very clean, quiet (right on the edge of the town) and very good food. Very friendly hosts (Gill and Kevin) who were very knowledgeable about local area. Second time that I have stayed there and I will again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ge0ff957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 227 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

I stayed here last year while walking the Somerset & Dorset Railway Disused Railway line for a few nights and thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Middleton House. Gill and Kevin did everything to make me feel welcome. When I decided to do some more old disused railway line walks in Somerset there was nowhere else but the Middleton House to stay. Again I had a great time and loved the breakfast and had a great room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEADVALE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed 4 nights in a spacious, comfortable double room at the back of the house. Gill and Kevin were very friendly and helpful; with suggestions where to eat, directions to attractions, where to park, etc. The breakfast was excellent… it was well presented, there was a great choice and was always cooked to perfection. The dining room was spacious and relaxing. Great value for money and highly recommended. G&J (West Sussex).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is the one of the best accomodation where i have ever been.
The owners are very friendly and helpful. The breakfeast is ample and the guest can choice from menu include vegetarian variation.
It is a friendly house where you can find lot of small cute things.
I highly recommend this house to everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jozsef820823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We visited as a couple, accompanied by my wife's niece, her husband and two young children. We had a double room at the back of the house, while the others had a large family room at the front. Both rooms were well appointed with ample space. Our hosts Gill and Kevin were friendly and helpful - knowing that we were visiting both, they had sourced lots of brochures etc for us - and they made our 3-night stay a delight. Our visit was in the week before Christmas, and the dining and sitting rooms were decorated accordingly. Oh, and we cannot speak too highly of the breakfasts!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have just returned home from a short break at Middleton house and we had a very relaxing enjoyable stay. The room was very comfortable and we slept well. Kevin and Gill made us very welcome we will definitely be returning when next in Somerset. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was lovely and the other room we were shown looked equally as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amanda j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have just spent 3 nights post Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed another stay at Middleton House. Kevin and Gill are always very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with great attention to detail. The Dining Room looked very pretty with Christmas Decorations and table decoration. We always enjoy the breakfast too - the Somerset Breakfast suited very well as well as a good variety of other options which are locally sourced including fresh eggs from their chickens! We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The rooms that we have stayed in are all very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corinne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepton Mallet
1.0 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
4.0 mi away
Manor House Inn
Manor House Inn
#1 of 3 in Ditcheat
228 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Cross at Croscombe
The Cross at Croscombe
#1 of 5 in Croscombe
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Longbridge House
Longbridge House
#5 of 36 in Shepton Mallet
50 reviews
13.5 mi away
Summerhouse Bed & Breakfast
2.0 mi away
The Old Stables Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middleton House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middleton House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 68 Compton Road, Shepton Mallet BA4 5QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Shepton Mallet
Price Range: $47 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Middleton House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm, friendly welcome awaits you at Middleton House B&B, Shepton Mallet, Somerset. We are rated 4 stars with a Silver award from Visit England. All rooms are en-suite with countryside views yet Shepton Mallet town centre is only a ten minute walk away. We provide most comfortable accommodation for both holiday and business guests. All rooms have flat screen televisions, alarm clocks, hair dryers and free Wi-Fi access. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided along with a full hospitality tray, including freshly baked goodies. Bottled spring water is also provided. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Middleton House Bed And Breakfast Shepton Mallet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing