We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent short break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shepton Mallet
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent short break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were treated by our son and new daughter in law to a Heavenly Bliss spa break. We upgraded to a deluxe room and can really recommend Doulting (room 25) as it is on the end, very quiet, with its own patio in a sunken garden. A few steps up takes you to the main grounds. The bathroom and shower are very spacious and the room had every comfort we needed. The 3 course evening meal was beautifully presented, and the choice of food at breakfast was superb.
Staff were all very pleasant and courteous. I would recommend this to anyone: it is very fgood value for money and the upgrade is worth it.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, choose a room that does not back on to the jacuzzi. On the other hand, if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenmaryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    228
    99
    29
    14
See reviews for
99
546
22
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for a friends wedding. We had initially booked only one night but at the last minute decided to stay the night before the wedding too. We travelled with our 6mth old son, and the main reason for arriving the day before the wedding was so that he was well settled etc.
Unfortunately when we made the booking we were told we would have one bedroom for Friday night and then shift into another for the Saturday night. I was not keen on shifting the mountains of luggage that now comes with the baby! I asked the lovely lady at reception if we could have the same room for the two nights, and I have to say the hotel staff were fantastic. I think the young lady's name was Alex, and she was brilliant and very helpful.

We had a beautiful room, plenty of room for the cot, and luggage.

The wedding was amazing, and the hotel staff were very attentive and could not do enough to help.

Well worth the stay, and if we were ever able to have a weekend away again it would be the perfect place!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dppUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Having cycled from Yorkshire to Devon this seemed like a good stop over for last night before finish. Booked it at 5pm and had fabulous meal great accommodation. Definately be back when I can fully appreciate the facilities which are amazing. Loved the fact that on bill was £1 donation to charity xxxx

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 246Suzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

An oasis of calm and comfort. highly recommend to all.We came home so relaxed it was hard to move, can't wait to go again. Our room was enormous with a huge bathroom, decor was delightfully 'shabby chic' , everything so comfortable. Staff deightfull

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandraetcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

I have just returned home after spending the last 24 hours celebrating my birthday with 5 of my girlfriends at this lovely Hotel and Spa. From the friendly welcome on arrival through to check out this afternoon the whole experience was wonderful.

The hotel is beautifully furnished in a comfortable, country house eclectic mix - which I love. The bedrooms (even though we only had the standard rooms) were very comfortable with lovely feather pillows and duvets; complimentary bottled water in the mini fridge; proper coffee (cafetiere) ; a selection of teas and home made biscuits.

The treatments we had which were included in the package were very relaxing (I had the neck,shoulder and back massage which was 1/2 hour of bliss!).

The 3 course evening meal was one of the best meals I have tasted and each course was so beautifully presented. The breakfast was very good too.

The customer service from all staff was exceptional, friendly and unobtrusive.

You helped make my birthday a really special event - thank you very much - I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherrymc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Cherrymc25

Thank you very much for your excellent review and we are delighted we were able to make your birthday memorable.

We very much look forward to your next visit.

With best wishes.

Sakis Dinas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Charlton House for a friend's wedding as it was being held here. Unfortunately we only stayed for one night and as such didn't get a chance to use any of the facilities that this place is truly known for, so my review is purely based on the hotel room and the service.

We stayed in the 'South Wing' room and it was truly exceptional, the bed was possibly the biggest bed I have ever seen, a roll top bath in front of the window, private balcony, lovely shower, everything was just great, and spotless!

I think what truly made this place great was the staff, being involved in the wedding (best man), I spoke to a number of staff members throughout the day and the following morning and every single one of them was happy and helpful. The manager in charge of the wedding 'James' was great, he was always there and he had everything running like a well oiled machine, I think he received a lot of praise on the day but it doesn't come close to what he deserves, he was that good!

All in all, a lovely place to stay, the bride and groom stayed in 'Duncan's Den' and I got a sneak peak of this early in the night, if you like your gadgets and modern decor (with a swimming pool sized bath) then stay there, you won't regret it! Charlton House is a lovely and relaxing place (probably more so with no wedding on) and although the prices may be high, it is worth it!

Good Job Charlton House!

Room Tip: South Wing room has a giant bed and roll top bath, with a private balcony. Duncan's Den is mode...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimeForAnAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear TimeForAnAdventure

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay during the wedding. Your compliments have been shared with the whole team, especially James.

We look forward to your next visit.

With kind regards.

Sakis Dinas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a Heavenly Bliss Spa Break on a Friday to Saturday. Everything was perfect from the minute we walked in to the minute we left. The duty manager whose name I can't remember unfortunately (Australian/Kiwi chap I think) could not do enough to help and made us feel very welcome. Room was lovely, spa was great and the massage was fantastic. We had a 3 course dinner in the evening which was delicious and the service was exceptional. This was then just slightly topped by breakfast which was I believe all locally sourced and honestly the best fried breakfast I can remember tasting. I've never felt so at home in a hotel and could not speak highly enough of it. I've stayed in more expensive but never a more pleasant and enjoyable hotel. Faultless!

Room Tip: Stayed in just a standard room with a garden view which was lovely so I can only imagine Deluxe room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear John T

We are absolutely delighted that you had such a superb stay with us and pleased to learn that you enjoyed the best fried breakfast you can remember!

Your kind comments about our staff will motivate us to continue to strive to provide our guests with the best possible experience.

Many thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With kind regards.

Sakis Dinas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepton Mallet
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
6.8 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
6.7 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
15.1 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
6.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House

Property: Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Address: Charlton Road, Shepton Mallet BA4 4PR, England (Formerly Bannatyne's)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shepton Mallet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bannatyne`s Charlton House Hotel Shepton Mallet
Charlton Hotel Shepton Mallet
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House Shepton Mallet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing