We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B run by a lovely helpful couple.”
Review of Maplestone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maplestone
Ranked #11 of 36 Shepton Mallet B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 18, 2010

I have already recomended this place to my friends and thought 'why stop there!?' It is very good value for money accomadation with lovely rooms, very clean and well presented and incredibly spacious (we stayed in the mid priced 1). They certainly know how to make a great full English breakfast too! We turned up with no real plans and the couple who run this place were full of good advice about where to visit and what to do. The only draw back, which possibly explains why it is so cheap, is that it is located in the small town of Shepton Mallet which, lovely though it is, will not keep you entertained for more than an afternoon. I would not recoment this to someone without a car or who wants to give the car a rest. If that's not you, then there are loads of places within an easy drive which are beautiful and interesting. You should also check out the chippy round the corner, possibly the best in the country! The couple that run the B&B will no doubt be happy to point you in its direction!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGLGLGLGLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 88 of 88 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2009

We booked into Maplestone for one night as part of a 5-week holiday in the UK as it was very near Glastonbury (which we wanted to visit), without being in the middle of the tourist area. The owner Donald was very friendly but did ask us to arrive after 5pm (it was a Saturday so assumed this was standard practice).

The house is very old and really pretty. Our double room was huge and had its own ensuite bathroom (which wasn't huge but entirely serviceable). The room and furnishings were very elegant, bed was large and comfortable, and the cooked breakfast next morning was very tasty and just the right size.

Donald offered a wealth of advice on local pubs and places to eat and we had an excellent evening drink and meal at the "George" in a nearby village as a result. The room was 70 pounds including breakfast and of the B&Bs we stayed at while travelling, I would say this was amongst the best. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david102a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

Maplestone is a very pleasant stone built property - a series of old cottages made into one property, in easy reach of the centre of Shepton Mallet in an attractive setting.

After making initial e-mail enquiries, I rang to actually book explaining that I was on a solo cycling trip and would be cycling from Bath the day before. The owner (man) on the phone seemed very ameniable when I said I wasn't sure what time I would be arriving in the afternoon, due to weather etc. On their website it says rooms available from 5pm, but I was told that it was almost certain that someone would be around earlier than that to receive me and we settled on about 3pm as a likely time. I actually arriving about 2.30pm on a rather cold day, very tired and weary after a very hilly cycle ride and in need of a shower or at least a freshen up! The lady of the house answered the dood but told me that I was "far too early" and that they wern't ready to receive people until 5pm. She also seemed to be a bit "put out" by me arriving on a bike! It seems that my conversation with her husband had not got through to her. She did eventually let me leave my bike round the back of the house and leave a bag in the house, but I felt I was being awkward. I then had to go away and walk around Shepton Mallet for another 2 hours! before I could return and get access to my room.

I was surprised that I couldn't have had access to my room when I arrived, as I wouldn't have thought March was a busy time of year for them (i.e. having a huge turnover of guests/rooms needed cleaning etc). Check out time was, I think, 10 am or 10.30am, so any previous guests would have long since gone. It was cold and a bit miserable having to walk around a small town (with not a great deal to see) for two hours when I would have liked to have had a shower and changed out of my cycling gear. I ended up sitting in a cafe for about 1.5 of the hours, waiting to go back to the B&B.

The single-bedded room was nicely furnished, although it was very cold to start with, as it had a loft access stairs and hatch which was very drafty. After the central heating came on, plus using an additional electric heater which was in the room, it did warm up a bit. The room I had wasn't en-suite, but had a private bathroom down the corridor (very pleasant). I thought it was a bit pricy at £45, considering not en-suite and that Shepton Mallet is not itself a touristy town.

If I had turned up on or after 5pm and the weather was warmer, then it would have been a more pleasant experience. I do think that 5pm is late (compared with my many other experiences of B&Bs) to expect you to wait to get your room! especially when I had discussed this beforehand.

A warning - if planning to pay by credit/debit card, then their card reader machine does not always work (as it didn't when I was there), so I ended up using a cheque (luckily I had a cheque book with me).

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank catme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard c, Owner at Maplestone, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We have taken over this B&B. I think you might like what we have done to it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ipazia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shepton Mallet hotels
0.8 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
989 reviews
0.3 mi away
Longbridge House
Longbridge House
#5 of 36 in Shepton Mallet
50 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bowlish House
Bowlish House
#6 of 36 in Shepton Mallet
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Shrubbery Hotel
The Shrubbery Hotel
#8 of 36 in Shepton Mallet
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms - Dusthole
The Kings Arms - Dusthole
#23 of 36 in Shepton Mallet
178 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Thatched Cottage Inn
The Thatched Cottage Inn
#16 of 36 in Shepton Mallet
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maplestone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maplestone

Address: Maplestone Hall Quarr, Shepton Mallet BA4 5NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Shepton Mallet
Price Range: $123 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maplestone 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Maplestone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maplestone Shepton Mallet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing