We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Excellent”
Review of Maplestone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maplestone
Ranked #16 of 36 Shepton Mallet B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just Excellent”
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Just come back from a long weekend stay at Maplestones, we would highly recommend a stay hear, Don & Jill are excellent hosts and very attentive looking after every need including a wealth of tips & hints on where to go and when.
The cottage is beautiful and our bedroom was of a very high standard, spacious with a comfy bed and large shower and traditionally decorated.
We also can highly recommend Blostins Restaurant and the George Inn at Croscombe.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppywood333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
53
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Calling in at Bath we were booked into Maplestone by the info office. It was quite hard to find but it was worth it eventually.
The hosts were very accommodating and our room spacious and clean. It was just so nice to be able to stretch out it was so big! The surrounds in the village were great and for two days we found lots to do in the area, the pub in the evening, reccommended by Donald served decent, reasonably priced food. The breakfasts at Maplestone were also a delight.
We would happily reccommend this lovely home.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHSA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We stayed in Maplestone in October. We chose the cottage which was lovely. Very clean rooms that were thoughtfully furnished. The garden was lovely and must be a pleasure to relax in had the weather been better! Donald and Gill were very hospitable and genuinely pleased to have guests share their home. They were very knowledgable about the local area and gave us many great ideas for exploring Bath. The breakfast was fantastic and a good start to the day. I would highly recommend a stay here to any couple looking for a relaxing break in this area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed here for four nights in the 'cottage' which was very comfortable. Although not set up for self catering the small kitchen allowed us to eat-in on takeaways and local bread and cheese when we were too weary to go out. The hosts were very friendly and gave us lots of useful hints. Shepton Mallet has an interesting history and is a great place from which to explore Bath, Glastonbury and the beautiful villages of Somerset.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZephyrCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Stayed the weekend before Glastonbury festival, built in lovely traditional style of the area, lovely hosts. We had the large room over car port. Room needed a larger tv, portable size you cant see from the bed! Amazing country garden and to quality brekkie! Great location.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reasonwiththought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We had no plans or places we specifically wanted to go too, but while in Shepton Mallett someone at a local pub told us to stay at Maplestone. We were delighted with the reccommendation! The host and hostess were very friendly and helpful, Donald telling us about the history of the old house and indeed the town too. You can smell the cider factory just up the road - wonderful!
The house was beautiful, clean and we stayed in a gorgeous big double room with big bathroom.
Breakfast lived up to expectations and after feeling we had value for money, left thinking - we must come back sometime.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBH1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke Bruerne
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Stayed at this wonderfull B&B for one night on our way to Cornwall.
Donald & Gilllian were very helpfull hosts, the room was spacious, clean and decorated to a high standard. Good pubs in the area and the breakfact was just what we needed to start the day.
Thanks for your hospitality we will be back.

Trevor & Kath

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTStokeBruerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shepton Mallet hotels
0.8 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
953 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cannards Well
Cannards Well
#2 of 2 in Cannards Grave
172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bowlish House
Bowlish House
#4 of 36 in Shepton Mallet
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms - Dusthole
The Kings Arms - Dusthole
#31 of 36 in Shepton Mallet
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Longbridge House
Longbridge House
#5 of 36 in Shepton Mallet
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shrubbery Hotel
The Shrubbery Hotel
#7 of 36 in Shepton Mallet
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maplestone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maplestone

Property: Maplestone
Address: Maplestone Hall Quarr, Shepton Mallet BA4 5NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Shepton Mallet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maplestone 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Maplestone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maplestone Shepton Mallet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing