We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great double cooked beef”
Review of Thatched Cottage

Thatched Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $39
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bishops Caundle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great double cooked beef”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

One of the best meals I have had. The pub/restaurant isn't fancy, but the staff are very friendly and helpful, and there is a pleasant atmosphere. All of the standard pub meals are available plus about 8 specials if you want to spend a bit more. The double cooked beef with bourguignon sauce was very very good. We all enjoyed each course and will certainly visit the place again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CCWestFinchampstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    60
    22
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tasty Food, Good Menu, a bit too fried!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Menu was great, delicious cod loin and lovely pesto and tomato salad.
However, my lasting memory is the 'panko mozarella' on top of my risotto actually being cheese wrapped in heavy beer batter and deep fried, rather than the delicate japanese Panko breadcrumbs i was promised! i left unable to move!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank legz_eleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We popped in early evening on a Sunday and, although we were a little early, were greeted warmly and given a menu to browse with a drink. We were made to feel very welcome, and the food was really good. it looks like they have a very good wine selection, so if this appeals to you it may be worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahrt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wife's 60th birthday afternoon”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

After leaving Shepton Mallet a year ago, we still had many friends and family still in the area. Pew decided to have afternoon tea at the Thatched Cottage. The staff could not have been more helpful. Afternoon tea was well presented and just good food. The sandwiches were like they used to be, good and basic. Lovely. Will go again

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“To Absent Friends”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Reasonably good ambience, slightly better than average food and good service, but the gaps between courses were so vast that we raised a glass to absent friends (the waiting staff). We even contemplated doing a weekly shop in the nearby Tesco store between courses. Three hours for a three course lunch, is way too long in a busy reatuarnat, but it wasn't Maybe that's why.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ditchgould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thatched Cottage also viewed

Shepton Mallet, Somerset
Shepton Mallet, Somerset
 
Shepton Mallet, Somerset
Oakhill, Shepton Mallet
 

Been to Thatched Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing