We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (987)
Filter reviews
987 results
Traveler rating
826
115
27
10
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
826
115
27
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour wrap up warm free tea and coffee execution room porridge interesting afternoon jailhouse tour ghost hunt self guided great tour wander around two hours exercise yard his knowledge fascinating place local history fascinating insight
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 987 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to visit the prison as it looked interesting. We had hoped to join a guided tour but they weren't running on the day that we were able to visit so we paid and self guided. There is parking outside the prison which is free but they also offer a car park for £3 which we used. The entrance fee we felt was very reasonable. We were given a map and told about the complimentary teas and coffees on offer in the visitors room. There is also squash on offer too. It was a cold day in January but we both enjoyed exploring all over the prison taking in all the sections that you could see. There was plenty of information written up on the walls and and signs telling you what each are was so that towards the end of our visit we were even finding we could get to bits already visited before without looking at the map. Was amazing to hear about the executed bodies that are still buried there and also to see the original cells that date back to when it was first built. It's one thing seeing prisons on tv programmes but it really gave you an in depth look being able to go round one especially standing up on the small landings outside the cells.
The prison also claims to be haunted and there are pictures on the walls that people have taken that have unexplained shadows in. It's also a prison where the Kray twins were for a short time.
Highly recommend this tour. Will be a shame if it has to close in November due to being redeveloped.

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank Skybunker27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheptonMalletPrison, Customer Service Assistant at Shepton Mallet Prison, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Skybunker27,
Thank you for your review from your visit to the Prions for a Self-Guided Tour recently. It is great to know that you were able to take time to read the information spread around the wings and the other places.
I hope you may be able to revisit again in the future, perhaps for one of the Guided tours next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

We had Monica for our tour - she was fun, informative and approachable! she was right when she said it was colder inside than outside! the prison is full of amazing history and is a must for anyone interested in crime, legal systems or jails in general! We have done 4 prison tours, all different, but this was my favourite by far! A mix or 1610 and 2013! Another ticked off the list! Thank you so much Monica xx

Date of experience: January 2020
2  Thank sara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMP Shepton M, Customer Service Assistant at Shepton Mallet Prison, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello sara c,
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Prison for a Guided Tour with Monica. She will certainly be pleased to hear your kind feedback. We are thrilled to hear that of the 4 prisons which you have now explored that Shepton Mallet Prison has been your favourite!
We hope that you may be able to return to the prison sometime in the future for one of our other tours or events, as we run different ones throughout the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

Went with friends on a very wet and windy day off. Very informative tour lots of information and answers to questions from Felicity. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. After a 2 hour guided tour we had 30 minutes to look around by ourselves. Lots of interesting facts posted around the building. Sorry to hear it may be closing in Nov. Amazing afternoon, thank you.

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank Flyer232029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMP Shepton M, Customer Service Assistant at Shepton Mallet Prison, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Flyer232029,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Prison for a Guided Tour; we will pass your kind feedback on to Felicity, your guide. I am glad to hear that after your tour you were able to take advantage of doing some further exploring of the places we don't get the chance to cover in the 2 hours.
We hope that we may see you again in the Prison, for one of our other tours or events.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

Was here on 17/1 with a paranormal group what am amazing experience would defo go again it was so surreal

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank lynsh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMP Shepton M, Customer Service Assistant at Shepton Mallet Prison, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello lynsh2013,
Thank you for your review from the paranormal event with Bump In The Night Paranormal UK you attended recently. It is brilliant to know that you enjoyed the event with them, and I hope that you will also pass this on to BITNP.
We hope that you may visit the prison again in the future, but perhaps to see it in the daylight; it certainly doesn't feel any less eerie in the daytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

We went on the self guided tour and was really fun because we made the fun for ourselves. We wernt limited to how long we could stay in a part of the prison and went round at our own pace (about 3 times) would definitely reccomend a visit

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank kirstykate35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMP Shepton M, Customer Service Assistant at Shepton Mallet Prison, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello kirstykate35,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Prison for a Self-Guided Tour. It is great to know that you enjoyed exploring all the different areas; we are fortunate that we can open up the majority of the site for you to explore.
We hope that you may return to the Prison sometime in the near future, perhaps for one of our Guided tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews