We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money B&B.”
Review of Belfield House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belfield House
Ranked #20 of 36 Shepton Mallet B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Nice clean B&B with a well cooked and served Veggie option breakfast. Run by a friendly couple. It is in a good location and what really made our short stay so positive was the owners' local knowledge which helped us to maximise our short stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 46 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It's difficult to find something original to say about this superb B&B as everything has already been written!! Rosie and Charles are the perfect hosts and certainly made us feel very welcome. The house is comfortable and very warm (on a cold May day!) spotlessly clean and the breakfast was just perfect - we were offered everything we desired!
Certainly we hope to return and would recommend it to all our friends.

Room Tip: Room No.1 is a twin bedded room at the rear of the house overlooking the beautiful garden Very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

A very warm welcome from Rosie who told me of the great local fish restaurant, the co-op and the foodie pub where a lone woman would feel at ease, all within walking distance. The house was spotlessly clean and comfortably heated on a chilly May day.

The single room had ample space and furniture, with a range of light sources, allowing soft or strong light. The breakfast was delicious - good quality sausages, flavoursome mushrooms, a perfectly runny-yolked poached egg, fresh fruit salad and a toaster to cook your own toast to your own liking. The area was pleasant and quiet, with off-street parking.

The only problem was that room 6 was separated from room 5 by such a thin wall that I could hear the occupants of room 5 talking, coughing, snoring, even nose-blowing. Luckily I had ear plugs, but it down-rates the comfort of my room to hear so much and to wonder what they could hear of me! Other rooms in the B&B did not look to be divided so may not suffer from this problem.

Room Tip: Room 6 and Room 5 are separated by a very thin wall, allowing a lot of sound through.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for a brief 2 night trip, and I could have stayed longer. The room, the breakfast, the whole place was fantastic. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone wanting a truly lovely yet cost effective place to stay. Charles and Rosie are a lovely couple, who own this B&B, they made us very welcome and gave us lots of ideas of places to go and visit. 10/10. Richard & Debbie.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardandDebbieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I just would like to highly recommend this place as we had an excellent experience. We book it at last minute and the owner was very kind waiting for us, as we arrived quiet late.
The room was very comfortable, it was a family room ensuite, nice beds and good size toilet.
The best, the breakfast!! Full English breakfast perfectly cooked by the owner and excellent service given for both of them, owner and his wife.
If we come back to the area, we will not hesitate to book again. Many thanks!

Room Tip: Family room, perfect for 3 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoniaPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

After searching around for the best value in the area I stayed at Belfield House B&B four days, with my wife. Both the owners have been very welcoming and provided an excellent service. The best part of the stay was definitely the cooked breakfast every time, full English, build yourself, which the owner informed me used mostly fresh, local produce.
The interior guest rooms are tastefully done, to a very high standard of decor. Flowers in every room, with clean and tidy comfortable beds and the calm decor was relaxing. All bedrooms with the well equipped en suite being a lovely added luxury. Plenty of hot water all day.
Being situated on the edge of Shepton Mallet, it was very quiet and peaceful at night, and the separate B&B door is extremely convenient, guest keys meaning we could come and go as needed. Wifi was also provided free.
Ample parking in own grounds. With an overflow space available across the road.
The owners made us feel very welcome and were on hand to offer advice and directions to good eateries, local attractions and shops. Lovely, lovely couple. Many, many thanks Rosie and Charles, attentive, considerate and humorous. Our short break made us relaxed and recuperated: ready for our return 200 miles North. (Land of the black pudding for breakfast LOL). Can't wait for a chance to return soon. Found a jewel, close to the county showground.
Would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone wanting to get away from busy cities and towns,providing great value for money - with a homely atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraverseLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shepton Mallet hotels
3.2 mi away
Whitecroft Farm B&B
Whitecroft Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Pylle
55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
1.4 mi away
The Old Stables Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Cannards Well
Cannards Well
#2 of 2 in Cannards Grave
184 reviews
4.4 mi away
Manor House Inn
Manor House Inn
#1 of 3 in Ditcheat
230 reviews
0 mi away
The Natterjack Inn
The Natterjack Inn
#1 of 2 in Evercreech
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfield House

Address: 34 Charlton Road, Shepton Mallet BA4 5PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Shepton Mallet
Price Range: $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Belfield House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Belfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfield House Shepton Mallet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing