We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit not great”
Review of Latino - CLOSED

Latino
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Brighton
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Return visit not great”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

On Friday, we paid a return visit to Latino in Hove.
We last ate at the restaurant about this time last year and, on that occasion, we thought it was great (no review posted on Trip Advisor). Having recently moved into Brighton, we thought we'd make a return visit and (while it wasn't a total write-off) we would have to say the meal was average.
The atmosphere of the place is great, and the staff are attentive and pleasant. There were plenty of people dining, and some looked like they regularly eat there as they had a rapport with the staff. So, perhaps we had a some poorly prepared tapas which was not reflective of the usual standard.
We were not adventurous with our choices of tapas, and ordered meatballs, patatas brava, tortilla, prawns in batter, whitebait, and mixed vegetables with a bottle of wine. It all arrived at the same time. The meatballs were good, and I thought the same about the prawns - but my partner didn't. She didn't like the whitebait at all and we both thought that was well overcooked. The vegetables were good, but the tortilla was nothing to write home about, and there appeared nothing brave about the patatas bravas.
While the bill was very reasonable, we both thought that the place had perhaps rested on its laurels a bit. We ate fairly late (arrived about 9pm) so perhaps the chef had had a long and busy evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moorhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    30
    10
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious Tapas”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely birthday meal here on Tues 21st May. We took advantage of the 40% discounted special offer and were impressed by the value offered. Service was first class and ambience very Spanish like. Quality of food was excellence and we enjoyed a whole range of tapas from the menu and all the plates were cleared! Wine was great as well and we will be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinee, France
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We enjoyed a very good lunch here on Sunday 14th April, the day of the Brighton Marathon. What a find this restaurant was. Great choice of food, good prices and beautifully served. Staff very friendly. We are visiting Brighton and Hove and are on holiday. Will definitely come again and can't recommend this highly enough.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole and Anth... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great tapas by the sea”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

celebrated a 50th birthday with friends at this tapas restaurant in Hove. Specially arranged as a tapas buffet in a room set aside upstairs for our party, this restaurant had excellent food and very courteous and attentive service. Plenty of food - the only problem was that the potato tapas dishes came out quite some time before the other tapas staples and people had actually consumed quite a lot before most of it arrived. nevertheless great fish tapas, some delicious chorizo and chicken dishes and overall an experience worth repeating.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sweetfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wincanton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A real taste of Spain..”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Being Spanish its always quite difficult finding good Spanish restaurants here in England, so its so nice to have stumbled across Latinos in Hove,
Great staff that were very helpful and made us feel very at home. We even saw a couple of the Spanish players from Brighton FC eating in there so we knew this was a good place to be! The food was very authentic and fairly priced. Since our visit we have even begun following the restaurant on twitter. They do all sorts of offers and promotions daily of up to 40% off. You dont see that very often!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinG1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Latino also viewed

Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing