We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright if you've got all night!!”
Review of Otello Restaurant

Otello Restaurant
Ranked #73 of 300 Restaurants in Hove
Price range: $13 - $19
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Alright if you've got all night!!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Visited Otello on a busy Friday night. We had booked for a table of 4 and so didn't need to wait to be seated. The food was excellent value for money with exceptionally generous servings of pasta many of which are under a tenner. The service however was poor. It was a very warm night and we had to wait 15 - 20 minutes before we managed to get a waiter just to order drinks. We also had to call the waiter for ordering which was a shame as it let down an otherwise lovely evening. Would recommend for a leisurely meal, be prepared to have to track down the waiters if you want to be served in a hurry.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CLAIRELH_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    113
    65
    60
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Service was slow...”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We went on a warm Saturday night as a party of 6 and we had booked. On arrival we were told our table was not ready and were sat at a table outside with a drinks menu and told the waiter would be over to take a drinks order. After 20 minutes and no waiter we were then shown our table and told a waiter would be over to take our drinks order. A further 20 minutes and we called one over to take our order of drinks and food. I had the calamari to start which was good and a good sized portion and a pasta dish for main which was average but enjoyable. We didn't order desserts and wasn't sure how long we would have to wait for them. We all felt the food was average. We had a nice evening and the atmosphere is good but don't expect the waiter to come to you. We continued to call him over all night and ordered one round of drinks twice as they were originally forgotten.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunlover1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A warm welcome”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a great Italian restaurant with a friendly welcome every time. the food is consistently good, great flavours and at a price that wants you to go back time and time again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

A lovely lunch time meal with a friend good service and great food . I shall look forward in going back again .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1432186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I didn't think it was possible to get barred from a restaurant whilst having a great evening with family. Otello add a service charge to their bill but their staff don't get it, hence I ask them to remove it & will always pay the waiter that served us, cash. I was told ' it's not how they work & their staff get paid very well' but still I explained that it's my choice as to how I pay the service, if at all & choose to have it taken off. I was then told that unless I was prepared to pay it as part of the bill then not to bother coming back. Disappointing as the food & service are very good. I'm fed up with these restaurants that feel they can charge 'service' as part of the bill but not give it to their staff. V greedy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otello Restaurant also viewed

Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Otello Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing