We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, creative, perfect service and a perfect wedding day!”
Review of The Garden Cafe

The Garden Cafe
Ranked #3 of 13 Coffee & Tea in Hove
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, creative, perfect service and a perfect wedding day!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

When my husband and I chose the Garden Cafe as our wedding venue, we were instantly excited, inspired and relaxed by Natalie's confidence and ideas for our big day. We wanted an intimate and relaxed atmosphere, but decoration and most importantly great food was top of our 'must have' list! Well we certainly had that. We designed a completely bespoke menu for our buffet which Juliet and her chefs prepared to an exceptional level. We are big foodies and wedding food can sometimes be disappointing, but I can honestly say that was not an issue at our wedding! Our guests were commenting all night on how beautiful the food looked and tasted.

The day before the wedding we converted the cafe into a pretty and elegant venue which hosted our non religious wedding ceremony, dinner, a band and a DJ! Many thanks to Natalie and Juliet and all the staff for making it such a special and memorable day :-)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simone N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    19
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Celebrate good times, come on!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

OK, so we were blessed with a July heat wave, nonetheless it's a big responsibility for a venue, hosting not just one birthday but three (two of which were 50ths) AND a wedding reception, all rolled into one event. Our youngest attendee was four years old and our oldest eighty, so we covered the spectrum of ages, plus some guests had travelled from New Zealand – the stakes were high. Add to this that we requested both a formal sit down meal for 27 AND a buffet for 75 - it was a BIG, BIG ask, getting our celebration right.

And as the bride on this occasion (a 50-year-old one, I confess), I'm delighted to report Natalie and the team delivered 110% on every single criteria - food and drink, décor, service, atmosphere and value for money. The food – both the meal and the buffet – was delicious – and my husband is a chef so well placed to judge. We started at 6pm and were all still dancing at 1am - yet the bar staff were still smiling - and even, I noticed, bopping surreptitiously too.

As long as informal is your aim - which it was ours - I can't recommend The Garden Café strongly enough. It's good for coffee and lunch and tea too (which is why we knew of it) but as a venue for celebrations, the great value, service and secluded-yet-central city location put it in a league of its own.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CreativePumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place for the family!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Food is very good and great atmosphere. Ideal for both young families and the elderly. It has taken me 10 years to discover St Anne's Well park is a great park.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlahire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding reception”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We recently attended a wedding reception there and it was wonderful.

When we first heard it was to be at a park cafe we were a little dubious, but from arrival to leaving it was lovely - beautiful setting and decorations, lovely relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff and the food! Soooo amazing! On reflection it was simple food but done fantastically well. It was a barbeque/ buffet with different flavours and textures and plenty of it. Later they served up bacon sandwiches and bowls of chips, and although most of us had been full from the main meal, this was later very welcome after having been dancing for a few hours!

We were vey impresssed and would definitely recommend this venue to anyone considering holding a special function as it was perfect! (cant comment on the meals, coffee etc during the day but if this was anything to go by it must be great too!)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Breadbin685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“my 50th”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

i was dreading being 50 and couldnt think how i wanted to celebrate and someone suggested the Garden cafe... it was perfect! it was arranged with ease and didnt have to worry about clearing up but mainly the venue looked beautiful, the food was amazing and Natalie and the rest of the crew extremely helpful and friendly! all in all it was absolutely perfect and i ve had so many thanks from guests who had a great time, i could almost say it was worth being 50 just to have had the party there!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lyn a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garden Cafe also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing