We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Claremont

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Claremont
Ranked #2 of 16 Hove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

I have just stayed at this B&B and I have to say I was very impressed. Near the sea, fantastic rooms and garden and excellent breakfast. All staff were friendly and helpful and it recommend it to anyone staying in Brighton.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SonsolesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    79
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
61
170
35
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We had a fantastic stay at the Claremont. Brilliant location, in a part of Brighton (actually it's Hove) we didn't know but which we will always return to from now on. We had a very large room with a huge, incredibly comfortable bed. The staff, particularly Andrew, were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. There is a very beautiful garden at the back where you can sit and read, have coffee, etc. The local area is very beautiful, quiet but with a few essential shops/cafes/bars/restaurants and the best barber shop-cum-coffee-sop I've ever been to. We loved it and will definitely be going back. Thank you Andrew and staff (Natalie?).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham on Crouch
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

My wife and I used the Claremont as a base while spending a couple of days at the races (work and pleasure). Wonderful place with great attention to detail. Spotlessly clean, great selection at breakfast, within a couple of minutes good restaurants. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Just stayed two nights at the Claremont with my partner and our 3 year old daughter. Dan welcomed us and was really friendly and helpful. We had parking permits for the two full days we were staying which cost £5 each, (so reasonable compared to the central brighton hotels that direct guests to the local NCP car parks.) The room was spacious, nicely decorated, clean and had a cafetiere in the room as opposed to the usual instant coffee you get! The bathroom was gorgeous and newly decorated. But the best bit in my opinion were the breakfasts! So much choice available and I was so pleased at being able to order a rice milk decaffe latte and gluten free sausage in my full english breakfast!! Then it was a few mins walk down to the seafront and shops and cafes of Hove. Lovely staff, clean and nice hotel and very comfortable. Would definitely stay here again. Thanks Claremont! x

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

A very comfortable and conveniently located hotel with very helpful and friendly staff - nothing is too much trouble. Delicious breakfasts, the lovely garden is a real sanctuary! A real gem that I would highly recommend. So glad I stayed there and would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed one night here with my parents - they got a free upgrade to a much larger room and I stayed in a lovely little single room with ensuite. Everything was perfectly clean and beautifully laid out, the breakfast was amazing quality and the room was very comfortable. Much more than I expected for the price. All of the staff were efficient and helpful. In an ideal location for the beach/getting to Brighton centre. All in all it is difficult to find any bad points!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vgg2277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Have previously stayed in a number of hotels in Brighton and it was refreshing change on this occasion to be in Hove - quieter yet still close to the sea (and mercifully further from the seaside attractions of Brighton). The Claremont is a lovely property, well appointed and well managed. All staff are friendly and helpful and the service is personal without being over attentive.
Breakfast choice of hot food was good and wholewheat toast sensational and addictive. Would have liked to have seen cut fruit offered as well as whole on the buffet. Neighbouring shops and restaurants are plentiful and include the quirky and individual.

Really pleased to have found the Claremont and will be returning.

Room Tip: Large room no 4 at front really spacious with gorgeous bathroom - light but cool and plenty of sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hove
0.6 mi away
Best Western Princes Marine Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#26 of 44 in Brighton
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,119 reviews
1.7 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,165 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont

Property: The Claremont
Address: Second Avenue, Hove BN3 2LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Hove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Claremont 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms and Hotwire so you can book your The Claremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Claremont Hotel Hove
The Claremont Hove, Brighton And Hove, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing