We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of great fish”

The Little Fish Market
Ranked #6 of 295 Restaurants in Hove
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: 'The little Fish Market Restaurant'A local welcoming Restaurant Serving Exciting Food,Reasonably Priced, with Produce Sourced Directly from local Fishermen,Butchers and Farmers.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“An oasis of great fish”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

You'd think that the SE of England would be home to any number of good seafood restaurants, however, it is not. This is why it was a very pleasant surprise to find the Little Fish Market.

We came down from London for the day to eat here based upon reviews on TripAdvisor (it took an hour door-to-door). The place was very quiet for lunch, but that's fine for us as it means you get to chat with the guys who run the place, and are very keen to get feedback on their relatively new venture.

I won't go into great detail on the food, suffice to say, the chef knows how to select quality seafood and certainly knows how to cook it. Beautiful fish cooked with genuine skill and care. Menu only has 4 starters, 4 mains and 4 desserts but we struggled over what to order - there were so many beautiful looking courses. Cooking fish well is a real skill and the fish we ate here was superior to that which we have eaten in many Michelin starred restaurants.

Again, the wine list is fairly small, but we found a very nice bottle which was very reasonably priced.

Don't come here if you want a very fancy, white-table cloth, french maitre-d experience. Nor if you don't really like seafood.

Eat here if, like us, you like eating beautiful ingredients, cooked extremely well by a talented young chef, and you like warm, friendly, less formal service.

Oh, and the 3 course meal for 2, with a bottle of wine and 2 glasses of dessert wine came in at £100. A total bargain for this standard of cooking.

We're looking forward to our next visit to the seaside so that we can eat here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JZKTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    22
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Level Contributor
121 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“This has just become our favourite fish restaurant in town”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We fell upon this (relatively) new restaurant hidden away in Hove as we walked down to the seafront for a stroll along the prom on a lovely sunny evening. The chef was "chilling" prior to the first customers arriving - it was a very warm evening. He was really engaging and upbeat about the food so we decided to come back another night to try..

Thank goodness we did. The food was superb; we tried monkfish with pork belly and squid (£19); Seabass with samphire, roasted cherry tomatoes and olive dumpling/gnocchi (£18) and cod with lentils, pea puree and baby mushrooms (£17) - all beautifully presented, perfectly cooked and delicious.

For pud we had a raspberry sponge with lemon curd, raspberry sorbet, coulis and whole fruit (£6) and a chocolate dish with brownie, sorbet/ice cream with hazelnut and caramel (£8). Both yummy - as another has said just possibly the presentation of the chocolate dish could be better with a bit of colour perhaps but the flavour... mmm

A bottle of Soave Classico for £24 and the whole bill came to just £92 for a really excellent meal for 3 in pleasant surroundings and outstanding friendly service. Good background music, not many people yet, suspect this will change. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charlespBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a booking for 9:30 so didn't want to go 3 whole courses. Just main. Starters looked good though. Main courses were excellent. We shared a pud.

It is so refreshing to find a restaurant that serves good food. We tend to eat at mid-range restaurants in Hove as there are some fine and cheap places to eat. This place is more for treats. Not that it was expensive. It just felt like more of a sense of occasion. Maybe because it is a small restaurant with a small menu ( so you know it is fresh!) . Service was excellent too.

Will be back....

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank hove123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
122 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away, subtle decor, impeccable service and delicious food. The menu is small but inventive and there's a good and well priced wine list. I think it's incredibly good value and we really enjoyed our evening here. Lovely atmosphere. The only feedback I'd like to give would be about the presentation of the delicious chocolate pudding- just didn't work for me, maybe needs rethinking?
You'll need to book in advance and it's cash only but fully worth seeking out. We'll be returning.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Drizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“LITTLE GEM IN HOVE”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I didn't want to write this review, because some things should remain secret. The Little Fish Market is one. I want to keep it all to myself, but then I'd be shooting myself in the foot. It's a great restaurant - if your concept of greatness is a small, carefully designed menu that respects the produce as much as it respects the client. The space is just as small, though perfectly formed. It's informal, welcoming and, best of all, it knows what it's about.
Great front of house, great chef, great food, the kind that looks simple to those who don't know that simplicity is the hardest thing to achieve. I can't put it stronger. Go, or miss out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank angela f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Fish Market also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Little Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing