We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super fresh fabulous fish and great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Little Fish Market

The Little Fish Market
Ranked #6 of 288 Restaurants in Hove
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 'The little Fish Market Restaurant'A local welcoming Restaurant Serving Exciting Food,Reasonably Priced, with Produce Sourced Directly from local Fishermen,Butchers and Farmers.
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Super fresh fabulous fish and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

This is my favourite lunch time spot.
The seafood platter is always great - filled with yummy fish of the day.
Roll mop herrings rocked.

Service is always personal as its usually the owners.

Simply the best food at the best price in Brighton and Hove

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    20
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Tip top”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Take A few steps down a quiet side street from the busy Western road and you will find The Little Fishmarket. Just had lunch here for the second or third time since moving to Hove. Huge smoked mackerel and a glass of rose - delicious.. Sheer greed made us follow this with a (shared) slice of Veronica's chocolate cake which was simply irresible. The owners - Harry and Tina manage to be both friendly and efficient. Simple fresh seafood served with a smile - 10 out of10!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Fresh fish from the in house deli , cooked to order ... Great idea , now open Fri Sat nights... Well worth a visit

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“So fantastic, that I want to keep it a secret!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Had lunch here a couple of weeks ago; it was absolutely delightful and excellent value. I enjoyed everything on my seafood platter and was especially impressed that my glass of 'house' white was actually Sancerre! They use good olive oil too, which I think is a great attention to detail. It's a perfect place for a light lunch (menu is small and select, plus they don't currently open in the evenings as they're open early for the fish stall side of the business). Would love them to open a tiny bit later so that I could pop in after work for oysters and a glass of fizz! If you make arrangements ahead, they can do things like prepare a lobster for you. The folk who run it are lovely and friendly too; always a bonus.
I'd like to keep this place a secret so that I will always be able to get a table, but want them to be able to thrive in their business and earn a good buck, too!
I rarely give anything 5 stars, but this place has earned it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seaside_Maisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a superb find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Following some good reviews on here, I popped down for lunch yesterday - and what a treat.

I was greeted warmly and shown to a table.

I opted for the seafood platter, but asked for an amendment as I don;t much care for octopus. This request was readily agreed to with a smile.

The platter was excellent and so fresh, tasted as though it had just come straight from the sea in the last few minutes - the rollmop in particular was fantastic.

I was offered bread and butter (no charge) and I also opted for a glass of wine.
I will definitely be back - friendly, efficient unfussy service, no pretensions and great food - what more could you want?

I chatted to the owner for while afterwards, she is thinking of expanding and doing evening meals - I hope she does, I will most certainly be back.

Highly recommended from a very happy diner.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HoveLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Fish Market also viewed

Hove, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Little Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing