We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”
Review of Danny's

Danny's
Ranked #10 of 295 Restaurants in Hove
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Brighton
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I was greeted by Danny, the place was very quiet as the three of us arrived. We asked as we were being served if we could have the bill split 3 separate ways. The food when it arrived was average at best, my spring rolls came within minutes of leaving the freezer as they were still frozen inside! I asked Danny to change them, to which he huffed and left for the kitchen. Our meals were finished and the plates were being cleared, only to realise the waitress was putting down another portion of spring rolls. I ate them as I assumed they would be on the house, well they weren’t. We asked about the three way split again to which Danny, obviously outraged made a huge scene about.

I would never go again

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    62
    27
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“FABULOUS”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I took my daughter & her boyfriend here on Friday. It was our first visit. We used the Oriental Village Chinese by Portslade station many times, but the food has been terrible on last few visits so thought we would give Danny's a try. The food was exceptional. You can order as much as you like from the menu. We went for the mixed starter with additional salt & chilli prawns, chicken & squid. The mixed starter had, ribs (delicious), spring rolls, sesame prawns, pork in crispy batter. All the food was delicious. You could then have as a next course, duck, etc, but we chose to go straight for the mains. Chicken chow mien sweet sour chicken, lemon chicken, crispy belly pork & egg fried rice. Couldn't fault anything. The price is very reasonable, £14.50 a head. Desserts are extra and we had a lemon sorbet & half coconut shell filled with coconut ice cream. Yummy.
In fact I thought the food was so very good, I took my partner the following evening. He did have the crispy duck and thought it was amazing.
Not only is the food exceptional (we could see it being cooked from where we were seated on Saturday evening), but the staff and owner are very friendly. We will without a doubt be eating here again. Probably one of the best Chinese meals I have ever eaten.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank louria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, disappointing”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We decided to go on the strength of the reviews on tripadvisor. Booked for a Saturday night 3 hours before no problems. The food was good, hot and fair choice for a buffet. The only thing that was disappointing was the feeling we were left with by the actions of the waitresses. Yes, they were courteous and efficient but, as soon as we finished ordering our food we were asked what we want to drink, we ordered coca colas as we dislike alcohol with food. We were asked if we want wine and when we refused the frowning waitress just rolled her eyes and said OK! We didn't enjoy being made to feel uncomfortable because we weren't spending money on alcohol. We could see other tables ordering multiple bottles of wine and beer and the waiting staff were very attentive to them and smiles and jokes all around. However there was this overhanging feeling that as we weren't buying lots of alcohol, which the restaurant makes most of it's profit on, we were looked upon almost as taking up space! At the end of the meal we were asked of we want coffee or deserts and being very full after the buffet just asked for the bill. Again we got a funny look and the waitress just turned her back and went off to get the bill. We all noticed it at the table and it wasn't nice. Considering we spent over £60 for 3 people and spent less than an hour there, and there was a 10% service charge on the bill we didn't enjoy being made to feel slightly unwelcome for not ordering alcohol and desserts. It's a shame because I really liked the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alishafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Chinese restaurant and take away”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We first found this out of the way Chinese restaurant last year and always said we would go back as it was excellent value for money and the food was freshly cooked with the kitchen in full view. On our returne visit almost nothing has changed, except they have refurbished and open up the restaurant to a larger area. Nice to go a chinese restuarant not over priced like the in town restaurants. Try the buffet menue, very good value and the house wine is also excellent quality. Friendly service as well!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SOGofBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“For someone that is not keen on Chinese I love it!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Really good quality, and fresh everytime. The duck is fantastic and you always have plenty of meat.

The owner is very nice and helpful, he really cares about the quality of food.

The only thing that wasn't brilliant was a missed main on our delivery, however the owner apologises profusely as it was an incredibly busy night, and gave us £20 off our next order!!!! It was almost worth not receiving our main as we ended up quids in ;)

Highly recommend this place!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danny's also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Danny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing