We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxed meal”
Review of Orsino

Orsino
Ranked #56 of 295 Restaurants in Hove
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Friendly greeting, busy but informal. Nice atmosphere. I had lamb shank and husband had steak rossini - both cooked correctly. Very reasonably priced wine list
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxed meal”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed a tasty and relaxed meal. Both dishes were very tasty - mine being Mushroom Risotto and my husband's a chicken pasta dish. The staff were very friendly and we enjoyed the unhurried happy atmosphere. It was our first visit to this restaurant and we would like to return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MyExperience324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    55
    30
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Restaurant masquerading as Italian”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I am new to the Hove area having moved here from Wimbledon...I should mention that I am Italian so I am difficult to please as far as Italian food is concerned..nevertheless Orsini's really should change their overall approach...not an Italian speaker in sight..(other than me) I had 3 children with me and they had the children's menu at £4 each...spaghetti al burro (which is pasta tossed in butter and parmesan) I suppose that was ok..my wife had 1 glass of house wine and a Milanese cutlet which should be beaten and thin..in fact it was about 3 inches thick and served with a portion of spaghetti..not unheard of...but never Italian. ..I played safe and ordered a salad nicoise..the bill was over £100...absolutely scandalous..the only thing I can say was that the staff were polite..I have since found out the most of the so called Italian restaurants in Hove are owned by an Iranian family...ok so they want to own Italian restaurants. .no problem..just get Italians to run it and provide some authenticity...don't pretend
to be something you are not..I could never recommend this place nor will I ever return..the place was busy to good luck to them...but oh dear Italian restaurant...I don't think so...maybe I should open an Iranian eatery. ..and make a mockery of their national dishes

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank italianoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“For a Special Evening”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I have been going to Orsino's for more than 10 years and thought it would be nice to share my experiences with tripadvisor members.The décor, atmosphere and very friendly people, make it a wonderful relaxing experience. The vast menu and selection of wines, would appeal to all tastes and ages, from single diners to groups who wish perfection. I recommend you to view the menu on line and I know it will make your mouth water. The restaurant inside has large expanses of glass windows and when the weather is fine you can eat alfresco, with large heaters to take the nip out of the evening air. When you arrive you will be met like an old friend and made to feel special, by all of the fantastic staff, who have total knowledge of the menu and detailed knowledge of the ingredients and preparation. I know you will have an experience to remember. Enjoy !!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rod1444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The fly....”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

although the food was as expected... medioca standard.... the staff were very friendly and accommodating... but so were the midgy flies that decided to join me for dinner... I was slightly worried there wasn't enough to go round as it was a meal for 1... either something has died and they forgotten about it or they need a new meet and greet for the flying kind at the door... all in all...better than cooking after a long day at work...well asked for bill about 15mins ago.... still waiting... glass is empty and now I'm bored... no staff to be seen to ask for bill for the second time... must say I've never been anywhere where you've had to ask for the bill twice .. you bill paying dodgers should come pay these guys a visit... happy days for bill hoppers...!!!!!....be care full... make sure you ask what is on the deal... I just had a 2 course meal garlic bread and bottle of house wine and was over charged because I did not specify I wanted the meal deal... last thing... if you don't mind trailer trash being over loud on there phone and the staff doing nothing about it just because you who complains is leaving...then this is the perfect place to go... for me this is my first time and it will be my last... not a great evening after all.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank diziblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great dining experience!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

This is a great restaurant. The food is if a high standard and at a good price ... Delicious! To top it off it is child friendly and the staff made our family lunch a real pleasure. Thank you!!

Helpful?
Thank ColinHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orsino also viewed

Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Orsino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing