We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and a friendly welcome”
Review of Alcove - CLOSED

Alcove
Price range: $0 - $78
Cuisines: French, International, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Sam's of Sevendials is a family-owned bistro in the heart of Brighton's Seven Dials - just minutes from both the station and the seafront. Formally Sevendials Restaurant it now has a fresh new look and more relaxed vibe. Set in a former Lloyd's bank building, the restaurant's interior is impressive and features a newly fitted bar area and many black board specials. With a variety of seating areas Sam's is perfect for business lunches, family celebrations, dates and birthday parties. Sam's award-winning British menu includes favourites such as the salad of pork belly in an Oriental marinade of white radishes and spring onions; the risotto of smoked salmon and chives with seared scallops and coral butter; and the decadent Vairhona chocolate fondant with rum and raisin ice cream. The restaurant also boasts a private dining room, impressive global wine list available by the glass, carafe and bottle and a large South facing terrace open in the Summer months.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good food and a friendly welcome”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We would recommend this restaurant to any visitor. Although we booked a table "on spec" via Top Table, and did not know what to expect, we were not disappointed. There was a large Birthday celebration booked in downstairs, but this did not affect our enjoyment in the slightest. The staff were warm and friendly, and the food was of a very high standard. The whole experience was very good, and we would certainly go back. Don't miss the cheeseboard!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    43
    19
    9
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful Experience”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We used to like Sam's on the Seven Dials site so when Alcove opened on the site we were pleased and wanted to give it a try. Wish we hadn't. Went in around 8 on a wild, windy night to see if there were available tables later on - restaurant was virtually empty and agreed with waiter that we would be back around 30 minutes; nothing more said. Came back and shown to a nice table. Waiter came over and discussed drinks - so far so good. Restaurant décor unchanged from Sam's but some of the light bulbs need changing and less tables so overly dark and empty feeling. 3 other tables eating and a group of 8-10 having drinks in the corner. Almost an hour into the meal as we were finishing our main courses (monkfish risotto heavily flavoured with cheese drowning out the fish) the waiter informed us that they were unable to take credit cards due to problems with telephone line and suggested that we go to the cashpoint - a 10 minute round trip. Not wanting to step out into the howling wind at this point in the evening we asked if we could leave details (from driving licence, credit card) and pay the following day. Waiter goes to check with chef and returns to say no and that chef is very busy. We asked if chef could come out and discuss - he emerges bowling across aggressively like Gordon Ramsay and tells us that we were told before we booked that restaurant was cash only. Since we actually had only been told 2 minutes earlier we pointed out that this was not true. Chef checks with waiter who is now not at the table and having done so comes back to the table calls us liars. He then strides across the restaurant opens the front door and opens ordering us out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I don't like to leave bad reviews, but let's say to be generous I won't be coming back soon. Let's talk about ambience, the room is very poorly decorated, furniture looks like bought in a charity shop, and with no heating. We went in mid October when the autumn seems to be settling, but not yet cold. How can you have a meal in that room in the winter?
Service: Our waiter was very kind, attentive, and really passionate about cocktails. But then, we arrived and there was no one in the entrance. We didn't know the dining room was upstairs, so we almost ended on the ground floor kitchen. It was my birthday and they promised my wife to bring some candles with the cake when she booked on the phone,... of course, they forgot.
Food: Some things were very nice, for instance the granite between starter and main. I ordered the Rossini medallions (£30). The juice and vegetables coming with the meat were nicely cooked and seasoned. However, the piece of meat (the most important piece) was disappointing, very chewy, and generally not great quality for the price.
As I said, I wish the owner and his team all the best, but certainly won't be coming back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great wedding!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Attended a wedding reception here on Saturday-welcomed with delicious cocktails, attentive staff and great canapés which just kept on coming-well done chef for keeping us fed! Bar area downstairs was just right for the dancing and merriment-shame I live so far away as would love to return for a meal!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank happygolucky2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Alcove for Private hire”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I hired Alcove's room downstairs for my 40th and Mireille was excellent to deal with; so friendly and helpful. The venue was perfect for my needs, having a great sound system, being open until 2am and entirely private in a great central Hove location.

The cocktails were great, with fantastic bar staff and Eloise in particular was amazing with the patience of a saint!

I can absolutely recommend the room for use a private venue and would definitely use it again.

Thank you all once again for making my night very special.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulrobertrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alcove also viewed

Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing