We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still excellent (over 20 years)”
Review of Bali Brasserie

Bali Brasserie
Reserve with OpenTable
Bali Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 295 Restaurants in Hove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $25
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Best and oldest Malay/Indonesian restaurant in Brighton
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Still excellent (over 20 years)”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Birthday dinner for Mum, Sunday evening, a special restaurant we visit once a year if we can, having visited over the last 20+ years and still the owner remembers us!

Excellent food, value and service.
The bar is a lovely atmosphere too if you don't want to be in the restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaHFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    74
    22
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hove
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic please go”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have been coming here for years. Every time we love it so much. Lovely friendly staff and owners. Service amazing as is the food. We recently had our silver wedding Anniversary party here and had the best evening ever. We took over the restaurant and all 60 of our guests said it was the best food and party ever. They cannot do enough for you. Really recommend it. You can also just visit the bar for a drink and snack. The lunch bar snacks are amazing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahWHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Nice place”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Visited this place on Friday and the whole concept was nice I had the buffet which was great value for money. Food was ok and service was great very friendly. Very outdated but goes with the whole theme!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jammajamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A little gem - under flats! ”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Don't get out off by the fact the restaurant is on the ground floor of a block of flats. I have eaten here numerous times and the rice table set meal is perfect to try the super food. You help yourself to mains after soup and satay but don't pile up your plate. Mixing the beef with chicken etc, does a huge disservice to the wonderful fresh flavours of each dish. You can go back as many times as you wish so keep those taste buds screaming for more! It still has that family run feel and a super favourite of mine. Great for relaxing dining and always top quality. There is parking on street with coins but a bus will take you to the top of the road. Enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank MrBounce68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“retro fun”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

First visit. We felt like we were on holiday in the 70's. Bamboo decor, expanses of patterned carpet, (at least I think it was a patterned carpet, if not it was defo that sort of style!). Chandeliers. Long bar to lounge around while perusing the menu. It was great fun. Owner and his son were welcoming, waitresses were friendly. Lovely spicy food. I really liked the blob of chilli stuff on the side so we could go as hot as we liked (be careful with this!). Really enjoyed it. We went as a couple, but would be great for larger groups too as there's lots of space. Good for anyone in a wheelchair too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RMPKearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bali Brasserie also viewed

Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Bali Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing