We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service”

The Hangleton Manor
Reserve with OpenTable
The Hangleton Manor is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #107 of 292 Restaurants in Hove
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good service”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

There was 14 of us eating in total so i give them their credit already.The waitress was very nice, and the pub was quite on a thirsday evening.

Starters took 40 minuits to come out and wasnt that great pretty basic.
However the mains didnt take that long and were lovely everyone enjoyed their meal, from roast pork to gamon. I had the fish shop plater (scampi , cod and a fishcake) the fish cake was a little dry and over cooked but a lovely meal.
Dessert portions were very small for the price, but still very delicious. The bill worked out around 18 pound per person (without drinks) so not to bad!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lana v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    87
    50
    67
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very satisfied customers!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful manor and surrounds. A party of 3 of us, 2 of us had the chicken and leak pie which was on the specials board and the other had Parmesan chicken. All was well presented and very hot! Was really nice indeed! Been to other hall and woodhouse pubs before and this was the best so far! Definitely recommend and also would be good for functions, would of loved to of had my wedding there. Would visit more if lived nearby! The manager Sandra, was lovely and friendly and made us feel very welcomed. Well done, keep up the good work and thank you :)

Helpful?
1 Thank c4c12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

This place is beautiful a bit out of town but very convenient with good parking and a massive out door space but.... The staff are poorly trained so customer service is rubbish. The menu is boring and never seems to change, when the I teams on the menus are available it's poor quality and very over priced. And the final moan there's loads of dog poo in the garden! Very visited several and don't really plan of going back in a hurry.

Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
358 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good food, poor staff/service”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Been here a few times with friends. The idea was to have a quick dinner... but whilst the food is good (prawn cocktail with a gazpacho sauce, red onion and chilli was excellent, although the whole lettuce leaves made it a challenge!) the service on this occasion was bizarre. One girl was clearly training and needed support as the restaurant got busier but she was supervised by a guy who just wanted to show off and tell the customers how to wait at table - but he couldn't do it properly anyway! Twice we asked for the bill and when we paid with two cards, he did one, and walked away - my honesty wouldnt let me!

Building is great, the garden is brilliant, choice of beers is excellent too. Go for lunch, and expect to be there a while as the staff sort themselves out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve6244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shockingly Slow Service”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Booked a table for 5

We arrived and were seated, and eventually handed menus after 10minutes and we were then bombarded with a list of what wasn't available.
I had to ask if we could order some drinks! We made a drinks order and after 15 minutes it still hadn't arrived, neither had anyone come back to take our food order.
I had to attract the attention of a waitress (who initially tried to blank me) and enquire about our drinks order which eventually arrived 5 minutes later.

Food order placed, we waited 20 minutes for starters, 15 minutes wait for main course, a second drinks order seemed to be a chore when requested. Clearing the table after main courses attracted a 15 minute wait, desert came out quite quickly (after a wait to order it) wed decided to not risk ordering coffee!


On the whole the food was average - roast looked like it had been microwaved, Yorkshire puss were flat, dough like and chewy.......

Highly doubtful that I would ever return, and highly unlikely to recommend to anyone I know.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hangleton Manor also viewed

Hove, Brighton and Hove
Patching, Arun District
 
Pease Pottage, Crawley
Ardingly, West Sussex
 

Been to The Hangleton Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing