We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value”
Review of Red Snapper - Hove - CLOSED

Red Snapper - Hove
Cuisines: Thai, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“excellent value”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Although this restaurant looks small and unprepossessing from the outside it is well worth a visit. The food is Thai style and all our dishes were freshly cooked and appetising. The restaurant does not have a drinks licence but they welcome you bringing your own. The menu covers a range of food including seafood and their speciality Red Snapper.
The prices are very reasonable and with your own wine this proves to be an inexpensive dining experience.
The seating and decor are basic but the service is friendly and efficient. It seems popular so it would be as well to make a booking,

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bilje113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem!!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Great value BYO with lovely food. Very intimate with only a few tables. Service really great and friendly

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Janski66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“I love it!”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I love it, it is a really nice place to eat. The service is good, and quality of food is nice. it is a shame they keep charging for crackers, they should be free. I am sure people would drink more if they did.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank MartinElwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Thai restaurant around!”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

The Red Snapper is a small and hidden restaurant in Hove. The food is delicious and the best thai food I have had. The staff are very nice and as it is quite small, it has a nice atmosphere and is nice inside.
Bring your own drinks which helps in keeping the cost down. Small menu but lots of variety and good prices!
. Everything we ordered was delicious and will definitely be going back. Only criticism is that they completely forgot about 1 of our main meals, by the time it had arrived we had eaten the rest of the meal.
Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice food and i is bring your own”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I lived in hove for 5 years and loved going to red snapper ( I prefer the hove location over the seven dials location). With friends we would always get several dishes and then share. The fish wrapped in foils is YUM YUM. Also the coconut soup is very good. In general you can't go wrong here. It is bring your own and the prices are very reasonable so you won't feel robbed at the end of the evening either. I recommend reserving a table upfront if you are with a larger group as the restaurant is small ( they can cope with bigger groups easily!)

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marijke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Snapper - Hove also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing