We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sri Lankan food as usual.”
Review of Moonstone

Moonstone
Ranked #35 of 300 Restaurants in Hove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $33
Cuisines: Indian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Sri Lankan food as usual.”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Good to have a nice meal again here . This is best Sri Lankan resturant in UK to my knowledge. Always liked the place, food is great.
But I should say, I noticed bit more improvement of atmosphere this time. So there are always things you can improve.
They were kind enough to cook my fevorite dish " Soya " even it's not in the menus any more.
Must try restaurant, if you are love your food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SriLankanInUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    69
    16
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really Sri Lankan food”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This is really nice resturant and serve proper Sri Lankan style food. Always remind me what I missing when I have a meal there . Not the cheapest Sri Lankan resturant , but if some one ask me, that's nearest as you can get to real Sri Lankan food in a restaurant in UK.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SriLankanInUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New chef??”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Ican't believe after amazing comments my husband and I had a disappointing experience, we haven't had Sri Lankan food but we are sure it might be better. My husband had a curry and it was so average and I had a fish fillet so tasteless, little and dry that im sure everyone who tries that fish doesn't plan to go back. Excellent service Im sure with a bit more attention they can do better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonstoneHove, Owner at Moonstone, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear HannahAP
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review, we welcome all feedback about the restaurant and our customers experience. We were sorry to hear you did not enjoy the food as much as you had hoped. It is really helpful to us if customers let us know at the time if there is anything they are unhappy with and then that gives us an opportunity to see what has happened and to, put it right and also offer you an alternative if need be.We have not changed any of the chefs and can only apologise for your disappointment. Please let us know if you do decide to visit us again. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really Sri Lankan food”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

This is really nice resturant and serve proper Sri Lankan style food. Always remind me what I missing when I have a meal there . Not the cheapest Sri Lankan resturant , but if some one ask me, that's nearest as you can get to real Sri Lankan food in a restaurant in UK.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SriLankanInUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious flavoursome food”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Went to this place for the first time last night. Was impressed! Everything we ordered was yummy...the devilled chicken was amazing as was the sweet potato curry. Delicately spiced food and attentive service. Will definitely be going back to sample everything else on the menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MadameJoJoJoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonstone also viewed

Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Moonstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing