We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in Brighton & Hove”
Review of Graze - CLOSED

Graze
Price range: $19 - $71
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A short distance from the impressive Brunswick Square, in the heart of Hove's famous Regency district, the award-winning Graze Restaurant is a food venue of considerable reputation which appeals equally to locals and visitors to Brighton.The lavish Brighton Pavilion inspired interior makes for a sophisticated fine dining experience in which to enjoy the culinary magic of gifted Head Chef Will Stanyer. To experience his seven course tasting menus, for which Graze is renowned, alongside the inspired wine flights or to eat from the Modern British three course set menu is to share in a passion for flavours and an indulgence in the aesthetic pleasure of dining.Graze is ideally situated just a short walk into Hove and just a pebbles throw away from the sea and central Brighton. So named as diners 'graze' the tasting menus, Graze Restaurant is now in its 5th year, holds 2 AA rosettes and is rated as one of the top restaurants in East Sussex by the Which? 'Good Food Guide 2011'.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I love this restaurant. I've been going for a few years now although haven't been for a good 6 months or so and, after last night, i was wondering why! Last night was simply fantastic - we opted for the taster menu with accompanying wine and it did not disappoint. We were really looked after, the food was innovative and super tasty and the variety of wines we tasted were really thought through. Kate is fantastic - on a busy Saturday night we felt like we were her most important table (this is a brilliant skill she has) and her humour and energy is infectious. This IS the best place in Brighton & Hove. I look forward to returning again soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tinablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrazerSussex, Owner at Graze, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear tinablue,

Thank you on behalf of Graze for taking the time to leave such a warm review, and thank you personally for the name check.

Your review is the reason we continue to work hard at Graze. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards, Kate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 200 of 353 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

I went there in August for a special occasion with my partner and we had a horrible experience. Having been to some of the most amazing restaurants such as L'atelier de Joel Robouchon, Le Gavroche, Fat duck, etc. We were expecting half decent food from Graze, given that it's not exactly cheap.
The food: BAD BAD BAD throughout. To say a few: the duck starter is overpowered by a low quality chocolate we couldn't even eat it. The quantity is ridiculously small. Just not acceptable (I am used to small portions in good restaurant but this is actually ridiculous). The pork main course was dry and tasted like it was made a week ago. The mash potatoes tasted really greasy - they do better ones at Wetherspoons. Really not worth the money. If you know good food, you will absolutely hate this horrible restaurant. You can taste the poor quality of ALL the ingredients used, and they don't even go together. Presentation was awful too.
The wine: After keeping us waiting for 20 minutes the waitress said that they didn't have the wine we had ordered. She didn't suggest a similar wine and when this happens, in this type of restaurants, they HAVE to suggest a better wine and charge you the same price. Obviously this did not happen in this tacky mediocre place. The waitress just ignored us for another 20 minutes and left us to it.
We went there for a special occasion, the waitress was aware but we didn't really receive any special attention or even a complementary glass of champagne - NOTHING. Again for what you pay, you expect a better experience.
Maybe we have high standards as we live in London and we get excellent quality for what we pay, but there is no excuse for the FOUL tasting food served in this nightmare of a restaurant.
Don't waste your money here! AVOID!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrazerSussex, Owner at Graze, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Girlbexplorer,

What a deeply upsetting review to read. It’s upsetting to us as owners who continue to make a huge emotional, financial and practical investment in Graze. It’s upsetting to a kitchen who work incredibly long hours composing and serving a menu that’s full of imagination and personality. It’s upsetting to the service team who are as committed and professional as it’s possible to be. It’s upsetting the farmers, grocers, creameries and wine merchants who rely on restaurants like Graze for their living; each of those suppliers constantly deliver the highest quality produce that’s grown with responsibility, care and commitment.

I would ask you, in the future, to consider more carefully the tenor of the words you use on Trip Advisor and think of the impact they have on honest, decent and hard-working restaurants like Graze.

I would hope that, should you ever make the very brave choice of opening and running a restaurant, you’re not subjected to words so distressing.

We didn’t open the restaurant to upset anyone. Each person who works in a restaurant does so because they have in them a commitment to creating an environment and experience that’s as pleasant as possible.

At Graze, we’re simply trying our absolute utmost to deliver a restaurant people want to visit.

It’s a shame that, seemingly, you’ll no longer be part of that group.

Regards, Kate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

With this being our daughter's favourite restaurant, it seemed only right ot choose to have lunch here for her birthday celebration.
We ate exquisite food, with the ingenious texture and flavour combinations a culinary delight. Portion size was just right. All dishes were beautifully presented by knowledgeable and attentive staff.
Thank you to everyone at Graze for making this a meal to remember, particularly for the birthday girl!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fliss11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrazerSussex, Owner at Graze, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Fliss,

Particularly given the special occasion, it’s extremely pleasing to hear how much you enjoyed dining with us at Graze. I’ll let our kitchen know how much you appreciated the tastes and textures – they put an incredible amount of work and thought into creating and preparing every dish that leaves the pass.

Please do return, special occasion or not.

Best regards, Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Three of us went for dinner last Sunday evening, we booked in advance for 7.30pm, but the restaurant was not full all night. We fancied the taster menu at £47 each plus it's wines at an additional £39 per person, but one of our party did not eat fish and as the menu had to be for the entire table we could not order that.

We ordered from the a'la carte menu. Portions were small. The wine list started at around £20 and went up steeply.

The best part of the meal was the dessert which was a chocolate confection and we had a bottle of Campbell's Rutherglen Muscat which is always amazing and a better choice than their suggested desert wine.

It was a good experience, the waitress seemed a bit ditsy which was charming.

The place is decorated in a slightly kitsch style and the table was small for a restaurant that charges their prices. We'll probably go again but only when we can't get into other preferred restaurants.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SipandSample
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrazerSussex, Owner at Graze, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear SipandSample,

Thank you for those candid notes. It’s good to hear that, on balance, your experience was a positive one.

With regard the tasting menu there is one course of the seven that is a fish only course, (there are options elsewhere on the menu) however we do have a vegetarian alternative here and our chefs are always happy to amend menus if they can to suit our diners. We'd be delighted to do this for you if we can on your next visit.

I agree that the Muscat Rutherglen is a lovely wine and does also go well with chocolate desserts, though the Antique Pedro Ximenez is just superb too and the Banyuls from Perpignon cuts through the sweetness and is a little more of an unusual match. .

We look forward to have you return.

Best regards, Kate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I attended a wedding reception here, and had an amazing experience. The food was inspirational. As the wedding was a Scottish/American union, the seven course taster menu was planned around this theme. Traditional dishes from each country were deconstructed and blended together to create some fantastic flavours. The haggis, neeps and tatties style canapies certainly impressed me, (I hope to be able to recreate them at home!) as did the cranachan/apple pie dessert. The service was excellent, the staff very helpful and knew exactly what everything was being served. Glasses on the tables were never empty, including the water glasses. I felt the staff went out their way to make this a very personal and enjoyable experience for the wedding party. If back down in Hove I will definitely make a date to go back here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Graze also viewed

Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing