We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westleton Crown
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed for two nights 10 + 11 Feb. Avocet room - very nice, comfy bed, big shower, etc. Good deal with Dinner, Bed and Breakfast. Staff excellent, nothing is too much trouble. Food was lovely and I had one of the best calf's liver I have ever had. Very nice to have a glass of wine whilst looking at the menu by the log fire. Will return when the weather is better as there is lots to see nearby. Can recommend a visit to Snape, Aldeburgh and Southwold as well as Walberswick and a walk over Dunwich Heath. We saw a herd of red deer in the rain!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
There are newer reviews for The Westleton Crown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 806 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed for two nights (Sunday/Monday special half-price deal) 2nd & 3rd Feb. Marsh Harrier is a two storey suite with a balcony overlooking the pretty multi-level garden.
Bed was very comfortable, huge bath in the bedroom was a super novelty, and the walk-in shower downstairs had loads of hot water. All in all, the suite was very cosy and comfortable and at half-price was exceptional value. At full price it would still be worth the money.
There was a wide choice of items on the breakfast menu. I tried a selection from the full English option (it would be impossible to manage the whole list!) and on the second day chose the locally smoked kippers. All freshly cooked to a good standard, with home-made-bread toast and decent tea.
The evening meals were superb. Between us we tried tempura prawns, shin of beef fritter, sirloin steak, pork belly, Mediterranean fish stew, beef blade - all were beautifully presented and tasted great. We didn't manage desserts, but these looked good too. Prices were very reasonable for the quality of food and cooking, and the portions were generous.
The staff were helpful and friendly, and the whole place had a nice relaxed atmosphere.
So, were there any niggles? Well, my breakfast eggs were not as tasty as I expected, although beautifully cooked; a little disappointing, but not worthy of complaint.
Would we go again, and would we recommend the Crown to friends? Definitely!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed end Jan in Swallow Room. Double bed (not king), reasonable size, tea coffee, nice and warm. Didn't like the fact that the Velux window let so much light in first thing - a sturdier blind would be better and the fact that you can hear the neighbours from time to time. Great bathroom with bath and shower. Good towels, toiletries etc and papers delivered to the room. Ate in the restaurant friday night which was very good and we had a 50% off voucher (Jan offer). I had the Home made Soup followed by the Hake which had a few bones but was tasty. The bar had a good choice of beers. Wine was reasonable priced. Breakfast choice was excellent - had fruit, juices, cereal, eggs, smoked salmon etc and endless coffee from the hovering attentive waitress. Would definitely use again. Great for Dunwich Heath walking and the Coast. Free Wi Fi in bar areas - and in rooms but signal strength was poor in rooms.

Room Tip: There is such a choice of room locations - in the hotel, in the annexes or in cottage conversions on...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed on a special offer, lunch was poor, coronation chicken was sparse to say the least, tasted more of butter than chicken, chips were awful but the beer was great. Evening meal was spot on, 100 percent better than lunch. Even the chips were far better,daft I know but true.
We tried for a room upgrade but were to late, our room Tern was small and compact but nice. No shower which was a pain as the bath is 3/4 and I'm 6ft2. Bar / restaurant is a great area serving some great beer.
The staff are a real credit, really friendly, talkative and helpful.
Area is great for exploring Suffolk if only I had booked early as with two dogs our room was too small. Lunch let it down but the evening meal brought it back.
Ticked off the list but several more to explore before a return visit!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at the Westleton Crown for a two night break in January. This is a lovely old Coaching Inn with extra accommodation in the grounds. Our room was in the main building and was quite small but very we'll appointed and spotlessly clean. The staff were friendly and attentive, check-in, bar, dinner and breakfast service were all excellent. We (and our dog) were made to feel as though nothing was too much trouble. Food and drink quality was very good, if a little expensive, but the attention to detail and little extras make this a great option for a short break.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jds38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Nice pub with rooms. Staff are fantastic, very helpful and service great.
Room was very small (tern) in the main building.
The walls were very thin you can hear your neighbours every word.
Very nice little village and worth a visit.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room, the good rooms are small. Ours was on the front and the crown pub sign squeaks i...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claire c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and wish we could live there full time ! The place is defined by the charm and attention of the staff, the quality coming from the kitchen and all the little touches that make the difference between good and great. As if that wasn't enough the room rate was 50% off in January !

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite which was spacious and just across the courtyard
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westleton
2.5 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
727 reviews
2.6 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
729 reviews
6.3 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
670 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,036 reviews
7.7 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westleton Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westleton Crown

Address: The Street | Westleton, Westleton IP17 3AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Westleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westleton
Price Range: $131 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westleton Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westleton Crown is a traditional Coaching Inn with origins extending back as far as the 12th Century. It retains the character and rustic charm of its heritage whilst offering guests the sophistication and comforts of contemporary living. With its quietly cracking log fires and real ales through to the 34 newly refurbished, stylish, comfortable bedrooms and imaginative menus we are sure that you will enjoy every part of your experience at The Westleton Crown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Westleton Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westleton Crown Hotel Southwold
Westleton Crown Southwold
Westleton Crown Hotel Southwold

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing