We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless everytime”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westleton Crown
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westleton
Certificate of Excellence
Elvistheterrier
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Faultless everytime”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have never stayed at the Crown but we eat here regularly. Always made to feel welcome and the staff, mainly young, are efficient, with a sense of humour. Never had a substandard meal, we do hope to stay in the future but as we have a place to stay close by we haven't needed to. They allow dogs in the main bar, which is great when we bring our dog. Quite honestly if it's good enough for Wills and Kate, then it's good enough for anyone. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    244
    113
    62
    22
See reviews for
109
523
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2013

A one-night midweek stay in a Family "best" room for two adults plus a 5-year old and a two-year old. Room was stylish, spotless and spacious. Bathroom not huge and with large roll-top bath (no stand-up shower but we had been told this when we booked).

Service was exemplary: polite and prompt - our 5-year old's breakfast was tidied away when he briefly left the table but hadn't quite finished, however staff brought an entire new breakfast without being asked.

Breakfast was great, room service dinner was excellent. Room was on top floor and was quiet - kids slept fine from 8pm.

Couldn't have asked for more and will definitely be going back. £160 B&B for the four of us was good value and location was a good base for seaside excursions, certainly it compared very favourably to what we were being quoted for B&Bs in Southwold - up to £250 - just a few miles up the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VOBKOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The kids have stayed here the last couple of years in August with Granny and Grandad! They love it and we thought we would try it for a couple of days too this time around. Really great place; staff very helpful; rooms lovely and just a nice friendly atmosphere! We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

A fantastic weekend had by all the family my dad treated us to the weekend at this lovely hotel.
The rooms were lovely nice decor and very clean with some great little touches like the homemade biscuits and shampoos from the white company?
We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was delicious great choice and the kids weren't disappointed either with a good selection.
Look out for the daily specials.Throughout the stay the staff were fantastic very helpful polite and friendly.
We will definitely be back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We recently stayed at the Westleton after eating here a few times and always being impressed. And we were not disappointed. The rooms are simple in décor but comfortable and we enjoyed relaxing with a pint in the pub once we'd settled into our room. We used the Westleton as a base for a few days whilst exploring Suffolk and it was great for that. Our evening meal was lovely, their selection of desserts is particularly lovely - we had sticky toffee pudding! Our only quibble is that on our second morning, the breakfast was quite busy and staff seemed overstretched. We didn't quite get what was ordered (missing baked beans and mustard!) and the mushrooms were burnt. But this in unsual for the Westleton and so we are going to put this down to a one-off and will return! Breakfast on the other days was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clh333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2013

lovely hotel,quaint village setting but nothing else there, need transport to get everywhere. Staff are delightful, booked our room on line, went for good has we only wanted a base to stay but no mention at time that there is two goods, one good, one small, definitely had small, though nice furnishings lacking space.
Creaking floorboards and mossies at night, keep your windows closed, otherwise ok.
Suffolk though nice seems a very tired area, sitting on beach in a gusty wind or perhaps walking your socks off.

Room Tip: Dont go for good/good small, same price but bruised legs from lack of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Still basking in the memory of our fantastic stay at The Westleton Crown last weekend. Yes, we were blessed with great weather, which always helps, but this gem of a hotel would be a welcome retreat come rain or shine.

We booked with less than 1 week's notice, so were able to enjoy a rare 1 night stay on a Saturday night (usually a min 2 night stay is required at the weekend). The sensible and flexible approach demonstrated by the hotel in this regard set the tone for their "nothing is too much trouble" style of hospitality.

We booked a Suite (called "Marsh Harrier") and were delighted with the accommodation provided. This suite is set over two floors, with a wet room and small lounge area on the Ground floor, and a light airy bedroom on the first floor (complete with roll top bath and juliet balcony). Toiletries provided were of a good quality (White Company) and other nice touches included the provision of fresh milk in the fridge, a cafetiere with decent coffee, Earl Grey tea and nicely presented homemade biscuits. The room was spotlessly clean and the balcony overlooked the hotel garden. Due to the terracing of the garden, a net curtain might be a nice touch for the hotel to add in, but this would be my only comment for improvement.

We ate twice in the restaurant (evening meal & breakfast) and both meals were top quality. All food is prepared from scratch and the menu is creative. The dining space itself is stunning with bi-fold doors linking the courtyard dining room seamlessly to the Crown's terraced garden. Perfect for a summer's evening.

The location of the Westleton Crown is superb as a base for exploring the Suffolk Heritage Coast; we thoroughly enjoyed the hotel's "Inn to Inn" walk which is approx 8 miles in total, with a welcome stop at "The Ship" at Dunwich. The following day we headed out to Walberswick and Southwold before visiting the peaceful coastal village of Orford.

We felt thoroughly refreshed after our night at the Westleton Crown and very much hope to visit again in the near future.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different - the staff will be more than happy to chat through your preferences to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieT1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westleton
2.5 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
708 reviews
2.6 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
717 reviews
6.3 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
658 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,014 reviews
14.2 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westleton Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westleton Crown

Property: The Westleton Crown
Address: The Street | Westleton, Westleton IP17 3AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Westleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westleton Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westleton Crown is a traditional Coaching Inn with origins extending back as far as the 12th Century. It retains the character and rustic charm of its heritage whilst offering guests the sophistication and comforts of contemporary living. With its quietly cracking log fires and real ales through to the 34 newly refurbished, stylish, comfortable bedrooms and imaginative menus we are sure that you will enjoy every part of your experience at The Westleton Crown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Westleton Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westleton Crown Hotel Southwold
Westleton Crown Southwold
Westleton Crown Hotel Southwold

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing