We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was expecting better....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westleton Crown
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westleton
Certificate of Excellence
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Was expecting better....”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

It was a pleasant place to stay with decent food and drink. The highlight is breakfast which is as good as you'll get anywhere....they kindly found me a quieter room when I needed one.
However, the rooms are pretty plain and small and mostly gathered around the car-park. Beware that the ground floor rooms get a lot of noise disturbance from the rooms above....footsteps, plumbing etc...the TV has very poor sound quality and needs to be loud for you to understand what's being broadcast!....the food is quite highly priced with quite small portions and a far greater emphasis on appearance than taste!

Room Tip: get an upstairs room if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    228
    107
    55
    20
See reviews for
100
496
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
east northants
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had our 30th wedding anniversary meal at the Crown last week, July 2013, and really enjoyed the meal and the service. The food was first class as was the service from the staff. When a waiter asked "how was your meal ?" , our answer "it was very enjoyable", the waiter said " thats what makes this job worth while". That sums up The Crown .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike/sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We enjoyed our multi day stay here, good location for exploring the area. Room was comfortable and clean and spacious compared to other place. En suite was updated and with a nice roomy bathtub for soaking in. The folks at the front desk were not as attentive as one might expect for a place like this, seemed to just be doing their jobs. The setting is attractive, and its convenient to go to the bar for a quick drink. Restuarant was just OK, nothing special. Although attractive to look out into their garden, it was way too cold to sit out there to eat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Westleton Crown while touring the country and plumped for this particular hotel after reading the information on their web site. Unfortunately the hotel did not live up to the hype. The room was quite modern but a little plain situated in a block of rooms which was one of several built in typical Suffolk style around the car park. The main reason we booked this hotel was the way the restaurant was presented in the publicity. I am sorry to say that we were let down on a number of levels. Having booked a year in advance I would have hoped for a reasonable table. What I got was the smallest restaurant table I have ever seen situated next to the entrance so we were disturbed by every diner and waiter who went in and out of the place. This would not have been so bad if the place was full and all the tables were the same but there were several bigger tables for two better positioned that remained empty all night. To add insult to injury my pigeon starter was overcooked and my suet pudding main came with a merge spoonful of gravy decorating the plate and was therefore very dry.
The Westleton Crown either needs to dumb down its publicity or deliver on its promises otherwise lots of visitors will be one time guests only.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

we recently spent three nights here and were blessed with wonderful weather. Our room was comfortable and clean though not one of the larger ones. Although we entered from the drive up to the car park we overlooked a small garden and the room was quiet. The hotel's garden is lovely and the restaurant opens up on to the terrace so you can eat outside. We also enjoyed eating in the 'parlour' at the front which was nice and quiet. Food really high quality - a dish of duck with spiced plums was particularly delicious and the poached eggs at breakfast were just right. The young staff were hard-working and attentive. The hotel is a short drive away from the RSPB reserve at Minsmere - you could even do a dawn visit and be back for breakfast! We didn't manage that but we did get spectacular sighting of a bittern fishing for his dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chgLondon48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I was able to book a suite at the very last minute - the weather report looked good for the weekend on the east coast, so it was an impulsive decision. Very glad I did though. Westleton is a lovely village with a true old fashioned country feel to it. Our suite itself was fine: large and airy with a roll top bath. The shower could have been more powerful - it was a bit on the weak side. Our only real complaint was that the suite overlooked the entrance which was at times very noisy even after 11pm (but almost all of the rooms appear to give onto either the car park or a dining area). For a small village the nighttime traffic was pretty heavy! And the motorbike rider who works at the Crown (André I think) left work at about 12.30am - that was far too loud - the whole village must be woken every night by him! However, back to the good points: the restaurant was a gem! On a lovely warm night, dining in the garden - who could ask for better. Extremely pleased with the food and presentation and all the staff were friendly. Breakfast deserves equal praise.
We live in the west of Suffolk but The Crown is so well placed for the east coast - we'll definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILTON KEYNES, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We go back and back because they truly welcome dogs; have great rooms; good bar menus; and the most fabulous breakfasts. It was a treat on this last visit to exploit the pretty gardens by eating outside in the overdue sunshine and then walking it all off on Dunwich beach. England at its hospitable best.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REF007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westleton
2.5 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
2.6 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
6.3 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westleton Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westleton Crown

Property: The Westleton Crown
Address: The Street | Westleton, Westleton IP17 3AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Westleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westleton Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westleton Crown is a traditional Coaching Inn with origins extending back as far as the 12th Century. It retains the character and rustic charm of its heritage whilst offering guests the sophistication and comforts of contemporary living. With its quietly cracking log fires and real ales through to the 34 newly refurbished, stylish, comfortable bedrooms and imaginative menus we are sure that you will enjoy every part of your experience at The Westleton Crown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Westleton Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westleton Crown Hotel Southwold
Westleton Crown Southwold
Westleton Crown Hotel Southwold

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing