We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place on earth!”
Review of RSPB Minsmere

RSPB Minsmere
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Westleton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Minsmere is a great place to discover nature. The RSPB shop, cafe and visitor centre provide a perfect introduction before you explore the beautiful countryside walks. Enjoy stunning woodland, wetland and coastal scenery and close views of a wide range of wildlife, including many rare species. Families can begin their journey of discovery in the Wild Zone, or build a den in the Wildwood Adventure. The nearby Discovery Centre is perfect for school visits, birthday parties and exhibitions. Self-guided activities include a free explorer backpack to borrow, and there's a regular programme of events in school holidays. Seasonal wildlife highlights include: spring birdsong, nightingales and booming bitterns and nesting avocets; summer butterflies, flowers and nesting terns; autumn migrants, red deer rut and colour; winter ducks, evening roosts of birds and Christmas shopping. Volunteer guides are often available to help you identify Minsmere's varied wildlife.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best place on earth!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is birding heaven. We just love it here. I've lost count of how many times we have visited. Once we saw four bitterns on one visit (3 were flying). The knowledge of the staff and volunteers is excellent. They are unfailingly helpful and friendly. The cafe sells locally sourced food which is of excellent value and the shop is well stocked with specialist books and birding equipment alongside more general items. All are very good value for money. I cannot recommend Minsmere too highly.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    92
    18
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Brilliant birding in a beautiful location”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Bitterns, marsh harriers, otters and a starling roost. And perfect weather. Good choice of walks I.e woodland, coastal and good views from hides. So good we visited two days running

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 813Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A fantastic birding and wildlife experience.”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

A great place for birding. Very varied terrain, which includes a long stretch of beach. A good pair of binoculars is a must. The hides are of good quality, and an essential part of the visit.

We were fortunate enough to see a starlings murmuration at the end of our visit; said to be some 40,000 birds strong. The staff are very knowledgeable and friendly. Just wish we lived closer to this fantastic RSPB reserve.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank CityBoy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
319 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Birding Paradise”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

February is not exactly a great birding month this year but at Minsmere watching a Bittern for nearly 30 minutes and seeing several Marsh Harrier in the air together on a bright sunny (yes sunny ) day along with several hundred duck .It was very relaxing

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cotonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redbourn
Level Contributor
166 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent reserve for birders of all ages and experience”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We were luckily enough to taken on a warden's tour and were truly surprised by the shear size of the reserve. Seven wardens and many volunteers manage this vast reserve and turn their hand to many activities beside actually managing the wildlife .There is a great children's area with it's own play area and hide. The site is worth visiting thorough out the year as there is always something of interest. Well stocked shop and cafe serving locally sourced food. One is able to view the birds from many paths and broad walks thus you do not have to stick to the hides

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Redbournite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RSPB Minsmere also viewed

 

Been to RSPB Minsmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing