We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seriously, do not stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Airman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Airman Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meppershall
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seriously, do not stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

When I went to my room I found it already occupied by somebody else. This was a bit of a shock.

The food was generally poor: the pudding was really grim; at breakfast the white of the eggs was uncooked. Couldn’t find staff most of the time, the bedroom was unpleasant.

Room Tip: Book at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLC_UH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAirmanHotel, Reception at The Airman Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
The hotel would like to apologise for the mix up with your room. Reception staff have put new measures in place to ensure this does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    37
    33
    32
    54
See reviews for
39
59
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This attractive looking pub offers no frills pub rooms. Our room was clean and a good size. The walls are thin, but we weren't disturbed during our one night there. An ironing board was provided quickly when asked. Tea bags and coffee sachets, plus milk, were not provided in generous quantities, but I have no doubt that we would have been given more if we'd needed the same. The TV was very small, so you will need good eyesight! We watched TV on our tablet (wifi is free), which was an easier option. There is no air conditioning and the pub is located on a roundabout - consider this if you need windows open. The curtains are thin - consider this in the summer months. Toiletries are very basic, but most people travel with their own these days - we do so this wasn't an issue. Our double bed had a good mattress. The single bed did not. We did not pay for breakfast, so cannot comment. The staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful. This pub does not provide a luxury stay, but it doesn't promise to. The room rate would be excellent value for money if breakfast was included. If you need to be in the area on a budget, then this pub is fine. Unlike Beadlow Manor Hotel nearby. Steer clear of there. If you prefer corporate, then you may pay less if you book ahead for a Travelodge or Premier Inn etc., but you wouldn't get the convenience of a more rural location close to Hitchen and Shefford.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor are small with sloping ceilings. Rooms at the front overlook the roundabout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireDales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

My parents came to visit this weekend and stayed here. They wouldn't ever again. They were met on arrival by a polite receptionist but when they asked her a little later on about a missing remote control for their tv, the woman gave them a key for room 27 and told them to go into room number 1 to get their remote. Dad found room number 1 empty but clearly occupied as clothes were strewn around the room, so he backed out fast. Safe to say when my parents left the room for the day they took all of their valuables with them.
They said their bed was lumpy, they tried to compensate by laying the extra blankets underneath them, it didn't really help. They would have preferred to have complained, but there was no one around.
They waited an hour for breakfast this morning after ordering it (sunday) as there was only one girl serving seven tables.
The cleanliness of the room was ok, but I'll upload a picture of their bathmat. I wouldn't bathe in there.
They described it as tired, noisy (you could hear the people in the room above and in the halls) and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank This-is-today
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAirmanHotel, Reception at The Airman Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
The hotel has removed all the non slip bath mats from the bedrooms and replacing with new ones. TV remotes have also been replaced. Refurbishment to the hotel bedrooms is due to start this winter to improve standards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Meppershall hotels

Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here because of attending a wedding nearby. Disappointed in the room, needs updating, sparse and gloomy. we had a room on the top floor with a gabled wall in the bathroom which meant you would need to be a 3 ft midget to use the shower. Nothing in the hotel worked. the TV wouldn't switch on, I had to beg and chase to get an ironing board. The beer taps needed new gas which the hotel never had, and the meals were miserable. It looked like the poor young man and young woman working were running round doing everything themselves, from reception to bar, to kitchen. Never going back I am afraid...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deekay911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAirmanHotel, Reception at The Airman Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
The hotel has since employed a new head chef and we are very pleased with the general feedback of his new menu's. Additional staff are now on shift through our busier times of the day. The hotel has taken all other points on board to help us improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed there last night and the staff were very pleasant BUT- We were put in room 23 which was very tired and in need of repair and decoration, the table with the kettle on swayed from side to side which was dangerous and it had a double bed and 2 singles which all looked ok until bedtime when we got into bed and immediately had to get out because of the strong smell of urine. We took clean sheets off to reveal a very stained mattress, my husband went down to reception but nobody was there so we both slept in a single bed with the window open. Again my husband went to reception to complain and it was a cleaner doubling as receptionist who said she was glad we had complained so that matters could be attended to. We went into the bar for breakfast and whilst chatting to our family we saw a slug and trail under the breakfast table which we took a photo of.
Before leaving we filled out a complaints form which was in our room and on arrival home we had a call from the hotel saying that they were going to send us the bill for the mattress which was very upsetting. We showed our family the state of the mattress before leaving and it was bone dry and obviously been there for a long time and we cannot believe that the manager is trying to turn this around, if they do not want feedback then they should not leave forms out for guests to fill in. We will be taking this further and advise others to avoid staying there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 216jann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

As with some of the other reviews I was a little apprehensive about booking the Airman.
I checked in but the key wouldn’t go in the lock. I was given a larger room with no questions or hassle.
I’ve stayed in lots of hotels from less than 1* up to 5*. You get what you pay for. For the price I was impressed with the room, clean, bright and comfy.
The bar was well stocked (before the reunion arrived!) and the staff were very helpful, the breakfast was good.
Altogether I had a great weekend. The bar tab for room 29 has been framed :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAULHARRISON1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We booked into the Airman with some trepidation given its poor reviews on this site. However, it was conveniently close to a family party we were attending, was very reasonably priced,and offered us 2 cots at no extra charge, so we decided to risk it. We need not have worried. My daughter and son-in-law and their twins had an enormous room with a four-poster bed (plus the 2 cots), and we had a smaller double room which also had ample space. On arrival, my daughter had to ask for more towels but these were provided quickly. We both noted that only 1 tea-bag and 1 biscuit (plus instant coffee and a few milk sachets) were provided per double room. However, when we asked for more tea-bags and milk, again these were provided at once. The rooms were spotlessly clean and everything worked fine. On the down side, the carpets were very worn and looked shabby, and our room had no easy chairs.
We were happy with the full english breakfast, which was plentiful, and brought to our table by the waiting staff following our order (much better than the buffet-style breakfasts offered by most hotels which are invariably cold and congealed). The waiting staff were very attentive and understanding about the messy eating habits of toddlers.
We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay and would definitely go again, preferring the atmosphere to the large chain hotels.

Room Tip: The ones at the rear of the hotel have a nice view over the fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueandPhil67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meppershall
8.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
4.9 mi away
Days Inn Stevenage North
5.1 mi away
Firs Hotel
Firs Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hitchin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hitchin Priory
Hitchin Priory
#8 of 8 in Hitchin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.8 mi away
Champneys Henlow
Champneys Henlow
#1 of 1 in Henlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Old Piggery Guest House & Yurts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Airman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Airman Hotel

Property: The Airman Hotel
Address: 16 Hitchin Road, Meppershall SG17 5JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Meppershall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meppershall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Airman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Airman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Hotel Meppershall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing