We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holy Fish Frenzy”
Review of Balikli Gol

Balikli Gol
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Sanliurfa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Holy Fish Frenzy”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

According to Islam, Abraham was thrown from the adjacent hill into a burning fire. God decided to save Abraham by turning the fire into water and the burning coals into fish.
The result is a lake with the most pampered fish you could ever meet. I had nightmares about these carp. You are given food to feed them and, even though it was Ramadan, they devoured everything in seconds. Then the really alarming thing is that they follow you as you walk along the pool. Hundreds of them. I was even checking the hallway in my hotel in case a shoal of ravenous carp was heading in my direction.
Joking aside, Abraham was the beginning point for the three major religions of the world and to see his "birthplace" gives even more credence to the claims that this area is the cradle of civilization.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kev11385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    123
    30
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“an important place for all world”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This the place where all the story begin. To feel the mystic atmosphere and to see the sacred places has to be seen at least one time in life!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mustdent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
173 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“beautiful and peaceful”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The pools with the carp were fun but the park around it was just lovely. They lit up the trees and pathways at night and it's quite beautiful. They also light up the pillars above the park as well as the Pool of Abraham's architecture. If you are in Sanliurfa, it's not to be missed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice area in old town”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The pools are nice, full of fish and situated in a nice, large park area. Very busy, with lots of people, but no cars.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank IevX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Holy Carp”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The pools of holy carp were interesting. You could buy some fish food and feed the fish. Our guide told us that the fish were protected. People were not allowed to catch or eat them, lest they risk being cursed. You can read up about the religious significance of the place. Towards the end of the pools there were separate men and women rooms that show you the origin of the water that fed into the pools. I took a peek inside and saw some women praying. I didn't go in since I had to take off my shoes and didn't want to risk coming out and discovering that my shoes were stolen. Surrounding the pools was a nice park. A short distance away was a restaurant near a beautiful fountain. Abraham's Cave was also nearby.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank OzziesPiddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balikli Gol also viewed

Sanliurfa, Sanliurfa Province
Sanliurfa, Sanliurfa Province
 
Sanliurfa, Sanliurfa Province
 

Been to Balikli Gol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing