We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, poor restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
't Wapen van Marion
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oostvoorne
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good hotel, poor restaurant”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed here to make use of a Bongo gift voucher that we had been given as a present which included an overnight stay and two three-course meals.
[ www.bongo.be ].

The route to the hotel was a bit disconcerting - imagine driving past the oil refineries of one of the world's biggest port - but the location of the hotel itself in Oostvoorne was delightful. The hotel is located at the edge of the town, and the lights of the refineries are visible at night, but was not a real issue. In fact, the hotel is on an island, with a bird sanctuary between it and the refineries on the other side of the water.

The hotel is very tidy, and the room was very comfortable. Our problems began when we tried to redeem the voucher for our three-course meal. The hotel insisted that we had to take the meal of the day - a greasy-looking barbeque - as part of the three-course meal. We didn't want this, so a long discussion ensued where we managed to extract another choice for the value of the voucher. After another long delay our choice arrived - mussels, which were excellent. Also strange, pets are allowed in the restaurant!

So in summary, nice clean hotel, let down by the restaurant. Th hotel has a pool, which we didn't use, so no comment.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ppmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    75
    35
    17
    14
See reviews for
14
76
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for one night, it is located on the far west end of Oostvoorne, about 2km walking from a nice Kite Surfing beach of about 1km walking distance from the "Oostvoornse Meer". The hotel seems to be very modern and open when you enter. Also the walls are decorated with nice texts.

The rest of the hotel couldn't be more different; some of the elevators are 11 years old and feel like they could break down any second. One of the elevators even won't notice if anyone is between the doors and will only stop closing it's doors when it actually hits you.

The rooms are OK, some cracks, broken glass in the paintings and funny colored stains on the wall all add up to the feeling the hotel needs some maintenance. The shower ain't any better, in both our rooms hardly any water came from the shower (though the tap for the bath did work OK).

A free indoor pool is included and is of good size, also the included breakfast is very nice. The staff seems friendly, the average room price is low and the location is fine. This is a great place to start your outdoor sports day in Zuid-Holland. The free parking, bike rental, Mountainbike Cleaning and Fitness Center all add up. It's a pity the rooms/elevators are in below standards condition.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WieMie-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Rooms are normal, no heating in bathroom (cold!); in the evening person on the reception was friendly, nut in the morning - very sad and angry, you can feel it!
Restaurant staff working bad - few times I had to wait for a while for my drinks; I warn I do not eat pork at all - they gave me few times pork meat instead of beef or chicken... often they mixing up orders and bringing different item... Also, very bad preparation for breakfast in the morning on the weekend: at 06:00 we got no breakfast!!! Night portier told us he didn't knew about early breakfast (but this had to be for 10 - 15 people!!!). Night portier is not motivated at all... I am very disappointed with this hotel/restaurant...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bulmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oostvoorne hotels

Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

Good Hotel in a good location for where I was working, good restaurant, and good rooms but spoilt by a lack of room heating - It was really cold.

Don't get fooled by the picture on this site - that's another B&B hotel with a similar name about 300 metres away..!!!

Pleasant staff, good food and clean,

Car park always full at night - and empties out quick in the morning - starting at about 6:30 - so not good if you're in one of the front rooms.

Another downside is not having any tea/coffee in the rooms - not what you expect for nearly a £100 a night in an pretty remote spot.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willow E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

This is the second time we have stayed at the hotel when visiting friends in nearby Brielle. Each time we have booked their superior rooms which they class as suites but are more what you might expect of an executive twin/double. Very comfotable and spacious with an in-room safe and worth the extra (I understand some of the smaller rooms are less attractive).

The open plan bar/bistro/restaurant area is relaxing and opens on to a terrace with a sandy childrens play area and views accross a lake and to the cranes of Europort in the far distant. Bicycles and even electric motor scooters can be hired at the hotel for exploring the coastal dune areas. Farther afield are the attracative old towns of the Zuider Zee which makes the hotel a good touring base for a less familiar but worth visiting part of Holland. Also handy for Tha Hague, Delft, Gouda etc via good motorway connections.

Hotel provides a good breakfast with hot/cold buffet. The restaurant, although not exceptional, has a good choice of dishes. We have eaten twice at the hotel and and on both occasions we were happy with the quality of the food and frienliness of the service.

Our last stay coincided with the start of the Tour de France in Rotterdam with 2 of the race teams using the hotel as their base. It could have been a disaster but wasn't. Which was a credit to the management of both the race teams and the hotel. In fact it added to the facination of our stay. Even though our room overlooked their assembly area there was no night time disturbance and their relatively early departure on the race day was a spectacle we would not have wanted to miss. We are not followers of the sport and the scale of their operation was an eye opener to us. A real bonus.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forestaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Great location near coast but you do need your own transport. Excellent service and facilities. Good food well presented in light airy restaurant. Good clean room with all the facilities you would expect. Friendly English speaking staff. All in all a very good experience and I will stay here again in 2010

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biffo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oostvoorne
3.2 mi away
Badhotel Rockanje & Brasserie Lodgers
3.8 mi away
Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Brielle-Europoort
3.5 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Zalm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Oasis Parcs Punt-West Hotel & Beachresort
6.8 mi away
Cape Helius Beach Hotel
Cape Helius Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hellevoetsluis
117 reviews
5.6 mi away
Citta Romana
Citta Romana
#1 of 2 in Hellevoetsluis
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 't Wapen van Marion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 't Wapen van Marion

Property: 't Wapen van Marion
Address: Zeeweg 60 | 3223 Cv, 3233 CV Oostvoorne, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Oostvoorne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oostvoorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 't Wapen van Marion 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your 't Wapen van Marion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
't Wapen Van Marion Oostvoorne, South Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing