We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Friendly and welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel van Beelen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel van Beelen
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Katwijk
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Friendly and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Having enjoyed a stay here 10 years ago, we booked again. The hotel is even better. We gad a really good stay. Staff could not have been more helpful. Rooms were scrupulously clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great with plenty of choice. I could not think of anything I would wish to change about the hotel - not even the quirky stairs.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    12
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
46
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cockfosters, Barnet
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

This small B&B hotel is family run to a very high standard. The management and staff are friendly and most helpful. The room was as described, it was clean with all of the normal facilities. The breakfast was excellent with a good variety of food. There is no parking at this hotel but for a refundable deposit you receive a card to use at an underground car park some 250/300 metres away which is free. The only problem was the steep stairs to the first floor where our room was as they do not have a lift, apart from that they within a few metres from the road where the promenade is.

Room Tip: Discuss with their reception as they cater for all needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxembourg
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

Excellent location - meters away from the beach. Van Beelen is a very efficiently run B&B in Katwijk. The breakfast was good and the hosts are very nice.

One slight issue - unfortunately we had a big bag and the stairs are a bit winding. As I said though - slight issue. We would definitely stay here again.

I can also recommend the spanish resto next door!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdmexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

Except for the seagulls and the odd local, Katwijk aan Zee is empty in mid November. And that's exactly what we wanted: a quiet get-away before winter starts. The hotel added the family touch. We stayed in a cosy and spotlessly clean studio and thoroughly enjoyed the buffet breakfast. Friendly staff comes as a bonus. Learning the rules of the house (no parking here but parking there, not through this door but through that one, etc. etc.) was easier than expected. We were lucky though to have quiet neighbours, as the walls are paper-thin. Although the recently opened disco round the corner wants to be heard on Friday and Saturday night, this but didn't bother us after a long day of beach-combing.

Room Tip: If you appreciate tranquility, ask a room in the side street, preferably on the top floor (no 23 or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luc1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

I was looking for a non-chain hotel and this is the best you could ask for. Fab welcome cosy room, lovely ambiance.... Really great location in a wonderful village. This is the real deal!

Room Tip: The studios on the top floor give extra space and a little kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Arrived late on a windswept January night, deciding to stay in Katwijk for the the first time (usually I stay in larger Noordwijk). This hotel offerred decent rates, but the room was tiny and cramped. Free wifi was slow, and I found the owner unhelpful with my queries. At least they gave out bags of peppermints at the end of the stay.

Katwijk itself was a sleepy town in January, with just a few locals walking around. Shops were open late, so good for a stroll. But there's little to do without a car to get you around. I'll be staying in Noordwijk again on my next trip....

Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Munkii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

We spent there only 4 days , but we did appreciate each one.

This is a very smart little Hotel, making you feel welcome right from the first minute of your stay. Mrs. Mol and her friendly crew are doing everything in order to make you feel comfortable. Hotel is very clean, the crew is cleaning everything each day..

You are offered breakfast for just € 5,00 p.person, a ridiculous sum if you consider quality and quantity and the variety of what you get.

We felt like at home and we decided to come back and stay a few days longer.

There ist just one point which might surprise you, going up to the first and second floor might be a bit difficult for elderly people as the steps are "really dutch type", i.e. quite a bit steep, but people without handycap will be gettting used to it wihin short.

We have been trying out quite a number of B&B in the Netherlands, this one is far the best, go and try it out yourself !!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOK39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katwijk
0.1 mi away
Hotel Noordzee
Hotel Noordzee
#1 of 4 in Katwijk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Wassenaar
Hotel Wassenaar
#4 of 5 in Wassenaar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
3.9 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nicolette Apartments
Nicolette Apartments
#3 of 4 in Katwijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zee en Duin
Hotel Zee en Duin
#4 of 4 in Katwijk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel van Beelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Beelen

Property: Hotel van Beelen
Address: Koningin Wilhelminastraat 10-12, 2225 BA Katwijk, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Katwijk
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Katwijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel van Beelen 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel van Beelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing