We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very busy, so a good choice”

De Gekroonde Suikerbiet
Ranked #3 of 45 Restaurants in Zierikzee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $28
Description: Classic, traditional Gastropub, which is modern at the same time. Elected as best bar in Holland 2017/2018
Restaurant details
Description: Classic, traditional Gastropub, which is modern at the same time. Elected as best bar in Holland 2017/2018
Reviewed July 13, 2018

We moored our boat not far from De Gekroonde Suikerbiet and saw how fast their outside seating area filled up. Had to be a good sign. we arrived and there were no free tables in their outside (tented) area, so they brought out a table and put it just outside the bar door on the pavement. A bit sloping and traffic passing, but full marks to making sure we were included. Then we spotted a free table so moved into the "proper" area.
Then all those beers to choose from. After some poring over the beer menu, we chose and were not disappointed.
Food menu was equally varied and the mussels were just amazing. A huge pot-full of large molluscs, very fresh. Zierikzee is the mussel capital of Zeeland and lives up to its reputation.
Second night I tried a beefburger, clearly home-made and very tasty.
Service was the usual Dutch polite, friendly and caring service which we were getting used to.
Yes, we'll go back there again.
(Oh, I forgot to mention, they have a large-screen TV in the bar, so the World Cup afficionados could watch the match!)

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutger P, Manager at De Gekroonde Suikerbiet, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2018

Thanks for the review. We’re glad you had a good time and enjoyed the service.. hope we’ll meet again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 134 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2018

The staff here are very friendly and serve a wide selection of beers. The food is tasty and in large portions. Can get busy on a Friday and Saturday night, but open all week.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutger P, Manager at De Gekroonde Suikerbiet, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2018

Then our collegue Paul orobably wasn't working ;-)

Friendly guests make friendly staff, thanks for visiting us! One question: what should we do to earn your fitfth star?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2018 via mobile

Last night 10 of us ate here. There is an outside are by the canal and in inside bar and dining area. We were inside. The selection of beers are substantial but most are in 25 or 33cl measures which is strange to us English. The food was very reasonable it tasted good and was on the good side of the curve on price. The let down was the service. It wasn’t that it was bad, it just wasn’t there. Most of the time we watched an waited to be waited on and it just didn’t happen. By the time we got someone’s attention for the bill, I was getting hungry again!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutger P, Manager at De Gekroonde Suikerbiet, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2018

Dear Martin,

Thanks for visiting us and letting us know how you experienced your visit. Good to hear you liked the food. We regret that you didn't appreciate our service.We also regret that you didn't appreciate the fact that we made room for you on one of our busiest nights in the year allthough you didn't make a reservation.
Concerning the measures of our beers: We know that there is a difference between (your) imperial system and (our) metric system. But to hold that against us in a TripAdvisor review...well,remarkable.
Finally: Our staff made a great effort to help you. We did not hear one complaint on the night it self while we thanked everybody personally when you left. All in all: we had had another impression then you describe in your review. But I guess we misjudged that..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2018

Amazing pub with friendly staff. They always take the time to have a word with you. And they remember faces form years ago. Whenever I'm in the Zierikzee area, my first dinner is always in this cafe. The Classic Bietburger is the best burger in the world and the assortment of beers is amazing.
And not to forget, this cafe was elected this year as nr 1 Cafe of the Netherlands, after already being in the top 10 for years.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Olaf v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutger P, Manager at De Gekroonde Suikerbiet, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Always welcome! We hope you'll have a lot of 'First dinners' in Zierikzee in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2017 via mobile

Everything about this place is nice (it has been ranked number 1 of cafés in The Netherlands) but wait until you have seen the available beers. Trappist beers from the Netherlands, Belgium and even Austria but also local beers and others coming from far away. Something I had never seen before in a café : 36 months aged Orval Trappist beer! A real beer lover paradise!!!! Also great whiskies ;-)

Date of visit: November 2017
1  Thank ThomasD6162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutger P, Manager at De Gekroonde Suikerbiet, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2017

Thanks for the great review. I think you weren't able to try all our beers, so hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Gekroonde Suikerbiet also viewed

Zierikzee, Zeeland Province
Zierikzee, Zeeland Province
 
Zierikzee, Zeeland Province
Zierikzee, Zeeland Province
 
Zierikzee, Zeeland Province
Zierikzee, Zeeland Province
 

Been to De Gekroonde Suikerbiet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing