We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly proprietress”
Review of Hotel Zierikzee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Zierikzee
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zierikzee
Oaxaca
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly proprietress”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were happy here in our light filled up 2 steep flights of stairs room. We had great views of the town from our window, and everything we could want was a short walk away. Mariska was helpful, and the breakfast delicious, and charmingly offered. Our shower had plenty of hot water, and our bed was comfortable. We thought the room was a good value in expensive Netherlands.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oaxacawoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
2
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
216 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here in August 2012. This hotel has an alleged nautical theme. It was old with a steep staircase, and uneven floors. There was no guest bar area. The room was very small, and the shower / toilet was even smaller and very cramped. The breakfast was a bit of an egg hunt, literally. All the breakfast items were in separate cupboards. It took a good while to find the muesli, the milk, and the coffee (machine). Once we discovered where all the breakfast items were, it was fine. There wasn't anywhere to store our bikes and we had to leave them outside in the rain. On a positive note, the wi-fi worked properly. Zierikzee itself is a quaint little town that we would have liked to explore better, but unfortunately it was raining heavily while we were there. We wouldn't recommend this hotel. Try somewhere else if you can.

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CondadoJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zierikzee hotels

Sonthofen, Germany
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

After reading the Tripadvisor ratings of the Hotel Zierikzee, I was really looking forward to my stay there after a cycle tour of Zeeland. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was quite OK. The hotel itself is relatively "worn out". Nothing works very well and the sleeping quality even though very quiet is poor. But in Zierikzee there does not seem to be much else to choose from. I thought the price to be exagerated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2409JohnEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, easy walking distance to shops, restaurants and sights. The rooms are small but adequate. The 3 we saw have lovely big windows with a nice outlook and are very, very clean. There is sufficient and easy parking.

Be warned the staircase is very steep (though this is very common around Netherlands).

Breakfast is excellent. The owner - Mariska - is lovely, friendly and very helpful. It was our pleasure to stay at Hotel Zierikzee and we highly recommend it if you're looking for good service, genuine hospitality and great location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fi-kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Welcome by the owners, they arranged to rent a bike for us, during a bank holiday. The rooms are small but sufficient, the breakfast is good. Recommended for a short stay in the region of Zierikzee.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Hotel had small rooms but clean and great service. Great location since it was walking distance to main street and also close to a supermarket. Rates were reasonable and the breakfast was good for the whole family. Great Zeeland experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uspinoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

Spotlessly clean room in a beautiful historic building , well decorated if a little basic and with little sign of its historic past. Good shower room. Our room was on the first floor - up a very steep staircase as is common in the Netherlands. But if you have dodgy knees or mobility problems this could be difficult.

The room was cold when we got there but warmed up quickly when we put on the very efficient heating. This was intentional by the hotel - it is very keen on its green and eco credentials.

The bar felt like a throw back to some hippy past - but the breakfast room was fine and breakfast itself good. Excellent service as can be expected in the Netherlands.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — bar
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank V75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zierikzee
1.9 mi away
Hostellerie Schuddebeurs
Hostellerie Schuddebeurs
#1 of 1 in Schuddebeurs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
7.3 mi away
Resort Land & Zee
Resort Land & Zee
#1 of 2 in Scharendijke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
8.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Ter Duin
Grand Hotel Ter Duin
#1 of 5 in Burgh-Haamstede
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Badhotel Renesse
Badhotel Renesse
#1 of 9 in Renesse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
8.1 mi away
Fletcher Landgoedhotel Renesse
8.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant De Korenbeurs-Willem4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zierikzee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zierikzee

Property: Hotel Zierikzee
Address: Driekoningenlaan 7, 4301 HK Zierikzee, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Zeeland Province > Zierikzee
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zierikzee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Zierikzee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing