We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel at the seaside” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Noordzee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Noordzee
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cadzand
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel at the seaside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great hotel at the seaside. We stayed for 2 nights from sunday till tuesday end of November, so the hotel didn't have many guests which was probably an advantage.
We took a "Duinkamer" which was situated on the 4th floor and we did have quite a nice seeview. The room was spacious enough with some nice fauteuils to relax. It also had a fridge, so we could keep our own refreshments cool. There were even wineglasses in the room!
We used the pool & sauna which was very clean, it had one Hammam and 2 different sauna and a nice rest area.
The breakfast offered a large choice of bread and pastries, fresh juices, fruit,.... couldn't be better.
We had dinner in the restaurant, it was delicious !!! We can warmly recommend this hotel !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kim165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    93
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
72
135
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tervuren, Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having had a great stay at another hotel in Cadzand, de Blanke Top, I was interested to try out one of the other 3 hotels which are located looking out over the sea and a girls night away was the perfect opportunity.

I arrived early at the hotel several hours before the normal check in time but the friendly receptionist let me check in and go straight to the room. I loved the decor of the room which was seaside charm with white washed cupboards and little gestures such as bag of chocolates, a shell on the bed with a welcome card and really nice tea/coffee facilities and glasses, gave that extra special touch.
The hotel is built so that most rooms have a sea view from the side and my room, a Dune room, on the 2nd floor had a lovely view (despite the weather). The beds were really comfortable and spacious and I had the best night sleep I've had for a long time. The bathroom didn't have a bath but was very modern and had a great shower.
We ate in the restaurant which was also beautifully decorated with tasteful lighting and friendly service. We had the menu which was lovely food and good value.
There is also a pool and sauna which unfortunately we didn't have time to use as we preferred to walk the beach and visit the local cafes during our limited stay.
Overall I had a lovely stay and wished I could have stayed a bit longer and I will certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teejay12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Amazing location on the beach with a 360° view on the netherlands and the sea. Very nice rooms, cosy and well decorated. Nice welcoming personnel. Big indoor swimming pool.
The best place for a romantic week-end if you want to see the waves from your bed.
Super hotel to go with your family with large suites and direct foot access to the beach.
A really top hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for the upper floors and South oriented: they have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lamadou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur, Belgium
Level Contributor
203 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just spent one night in this hotel for the first time, the location is very nice, facing the north sea. This hotel offers all the amenities you can expect from this type of resort, very nice rooms with balcon, mine had partial view on the sea, decoration in new england style with bath, shower, coffee and tea, flat screen and free wifi everywhere.
If you come by car you will enjoy a free parking with bikes local.
At the end of the day, take a short break at the heated pool or in the hamam or enjoy a lot of treatments in the spa.
I booked this night via booking.com for 200€/night breakfast included (warm and cold buffet inside or on the terrace but depending on the weather conditions)
To conclude : a very nice resort not far from Knokke, Sluis or Breskens, all those small cities can be reached on a esasy way by bike, about 8 to 10 kilometers by small paths through the Zwin natural reserve.
We will certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oliveerpent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Booked this hotel for a family visit (parents 50th anniversary). Stayed 3 nights in a Master Suite and Duinkamers (some of them had sea view and some a shower or bath). Interior nice. Enough to do for all ages. Pool with sun deck was nice, didn't use the spa but it looked great. Went for the "aroma massage". Massage was good but no "aroma" at all. Good hotel service. Breakfast one of the best I have ever seen in Dutch hotels, very varied choice. Dinner was ok. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you book a "Duinkamer" ask for one with a sea view. Some (towards the end of the corrid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettycake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Great nice room! When we sat in the bath, we good see the sea! Really nice! Breakfast was perfect, enough choices. I've had a really nice massage. The room there was nice and everythings was very private! The people of the hotel were nice and helpfull! You'll have to walk for 5 min. before you're in the village/centre of Cadzand. Nice shoppingarea with enough restaurants, etc. When you love to walk in the dunes or at the beach this is the right spot for you! A real nice place to relax and to forget everything what is bothering you. The swimmingpool is also really nice!

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view, that's no problem. Every room has a view at the see!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Talliemeisje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Staying in this hotel for the second time in 2 years, we noticed a clear quality decrease.

Overall, I would now rate this hotel rather as “3 stars and half” and not a 4 star hotel any more.

Premises of the hotel are still nice and advantages of choosing this hotel still remain, as I wrote in my precedent review of 2011:

- Free hotel parking easy to use for guests (but can be full on weekends)
- Close to the beach but outside Cadzand Centre (need 10min walk).
- Quiet location.
- Good choice of food for dinner & supper: the restaurant is Michelin quoted since a couple of years.
- With some exceptions, helpful staff.
- New this year : free wi-fi but we had very slow connections in our room (3rd floor) as the wi-fi signal is weak.
- Large pool & spa area.
- Spacious room with nice decoration & balcony.

However, in one year only, we noticed a clear decrease of the overall quality. The owners probably invested a lot in the renovation a while ago and now it is routine and an “easy money” hotel. But as always, if you do not progress, you regress.

Some things the Noordzee hotel would need to do if they want to stay as a favourite hotel destination:

- Cleaning need definitely to be improved ( ie: throw pillows of the bed on the floor while vacuum cleaning is not an hygienically manner to proceed, in the same manner, letting hair on the pillow, etc … ). Quality was not always constant.
- For long stays, please replace the dressing gown by a clean one ( during a 2 weeks stay, they don’t replace any - even if you tip the cleaning lady… ).
- Overall maintenance has to be done ( ie: broken things and furniture has to be fixed, painting of the dirty and scratch walls has to be done, replacement of coaches, bed pillows, cleaning premises is absent, pool with papers on the surface, etc.).
- Replace broken plates / broken bowls / broken glasses at breakfast. Better clean forks & nives.
- Breakfast food is always the same and some items are not always fresh ( ie: cookies are re-used the next day, salami turned green … ). Also, you need to get yourself your spoon, fork and knife. Has become too much "buffet style".
- Room safe has become too small for all the electronic gadgets we possess these days. My iPad was too big for the safe !
- No minibar (just empty, noisy fridge) and no bar in the hotel. Hotel is dead calm after 22h.
- Reception closes at 21h so you better arrive before 19h to check-in.

We don’t know if the hotel Noordzee care a little less about their customers, however we noticed some other little gasps in service.

For instance, one friend come to our hotel to make a surprise. As the GSM network is not working well in that area, he asked the young lady at the reception to call our room, which she said she did, several times even … However, we were in the room for the whole afternoon ! So, during 5 hours he waited, nobody was able to help him find us in our room… So we did not had the occasion to meet.

Another situation : the safe battery was low and thus, safe did not close any more. Battery was not replaced during our stay. As a result, I constantly let all my valuables stuffs in the car …

As we understood while discussing with some local persons, it seems locally there is a certain jealousy against “successful people” and thus, little “revenges” of people living in houses located left to the hotel are more and more present. For instance, they are calling the gardener at 7:00 am every day. Is part of the plan “how to loose customers in 10 easy steps”. That definitely wake up customers looking for some silence. As proof, the breakfast room was full very early !

Not to mention the sound of garbage truck reverse is constant for minimum 30 minutes and that for 30 to 40 minutes every morning, except weekends …

In conclusion, Hotel Noordzee in Cadzand is becoming now quite average and it needs refreshments and improvements to stay on the top.

Would I recommend this hotel in Cadzand to others ?

For people coming from a circle of 150 kms around, willing to have a short escape, yes - but with some reserves. For other persons coming from far destinations, definitely no. Cadzand is too small and you often need your car to do something.

Now, not about the hotel, but it contributes to give you a better understanding of the Cadzand climate :

We clearly noticed a clear decrease in quality of shops ( and a certain xenophobia against tourists ). Maybe local people are not aware on the fact that without tourists, Cadzand is only a 160 inhabitants place during winter … And if you spend around 14’000 euros per week on a holiday for 2 persons only ( hotel, lunch, food, some souvenirs ) - you definitely have plenty of other choices in the world… ;-)

To give just an example : while eating on the fishman place located just in front of “De Honte Drank Shop” in Cadzand, we saw and hear several times the owner of “De Honte” shout VERY loudly at all his customers when those customers requested for a purchase receipt, a present wrap or a bag for their purchase !!!!!!! Being native Dutch, I understood absolutely all offensive words the Honte owner yell at all respectful customers. Incredible : I almost forgot there are such words in Dutch … ;-)))))))) But that’s certainly the reason why the de Honte shop in Cadzand look full of merchandise and empty of customers … LOL

Otherwise, the fishman in Cadzand just in front is nice and maatjes ( local fishes ) are tasteful.

Will we go back to this hotel & Cadzand ? Probably not. A shame cause it was good last year...

Room Tip: You have sea view from floors 3 till 5. Parking view (south) gives noise from garbage trucks for del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SwissSpaceBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadzand
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Blanke Top
Hotel de Blanke Top
#1 of 6 in Cadzand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strandhotel Cadzand
Strandhotel Cadzand
#3 of 6 in Cadzand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Badhotel De Wielingen
Badhotel De Wielingen
#4 of 6 in Cadzand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel The Roosevelt
Boutique Hotel The Roosevelt
#2 of 10 in Middelburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Schelde
Hotel de Schelde
#6 of 6 in Cadzand
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.0 mi away
De Drie Gevels
De Drie Gevels
#5 of 6 in Cadzand
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Noordzee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Noordzee

Property: Hotel Noordzee
Address: Noordzeestraat 2, 4506 KM Cadzand, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Zeeland Province > Cadzand
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cadzand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Noordzee 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Noordzee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing