We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy - but perfectly adequate”
Review of PUUR Lage Vuursche

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
PUUR Lage Vuursche
Ranked #1 of 2 Bilthoven B&B and Inns
Kuopio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy - but perfectly adequate”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I stayed here at the weekend (inadvertently due to overbooking in the place I had intended to stay). The room was very basic (no TV) but the bed linen was clean. There is a shared bathroom and shower at the end of the corridor - a wash-hand basin in the room. Breakfast was good (freshly baked bread, cheese and some cold cuts, fruit). All in all for under 40 euros a night, this is really good value. Judging from what other reviewers have written about the hotel where I had intended spending the night, I think I benefited from this mix-up

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUUR L, Manager at PUUR Lage Vuursche, responded to this review, June 18, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Sometimes you get Lucky with a bad situation. It's therefor great to hear we have made good for your mixed up at the other hotel.

We hope to welcome you another time (we also have rooms with a television on the room, the PUUR Beleven and PUUR Genieten rooms).

Kind regards,

Anke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
9
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreux
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked by Internet a room and found that the room we were allocated was upstairs via a steep stairs with narrow steps. As we are senior and my wife doesn't have very good vision we were a bit shocked as the site of the hotel doesn't mention the fact that the access to some rooms may be difficult to some people. The lady receptionist offered us another room, called apartment which it really is, for only a small supplement downstairs.
It solved our problem and had a pleasant stay in the woods.

Room Tip: Attention to the access to rooms 11 - 15,steep stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr_p_j_seip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUUR L, Eigenaar at PUUR Lage Vuursche, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, earlier this year.

I'm very glad to hear that you appreciated the solution for the stair-situation.

We have 3 apartments and 2 double rooms on the ground floor, so if one guest have problem with the stairs, please mention this in your booking so we can book a room downstairs.

Hope to welcome you again at our B&B, and this time without the steep stair shock of course!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Combination hotel and camp site in a quiet forest area.

Stayed here as a base for cycling day trips. Very basic room, (no TV) but clean, comfortable and fine for our needs.

Excellent and plentiful breakfast. Free, fast wi-fi. Very friendly and helpful staff. Somewhere to get a beer at the end of the day after 150km in the saddle would have been great, but otherwise everything was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonthofen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Well this was a nice change! The PUUR Hotel Lage Vuursche is situated in a clearing in the forest. There is a camp site and chalets but we stayed in the hotel. Our room was very nicely decorated and had a balcony looking out into the wonderful green surroundings. Everything worked perfectly, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom clean and well designed. It was not possible to eat here as one has to book in advance. From the look of the kitchen and the quality of breakfast I would guess that a well planned evening meal here would be a good experience. Just a guess. The price was ok, but to ask 5% for the use of a credit card is a little exagerated if not even illegal? Not sure. Nevertheless a very pleasant one night stay

Room Tip: Take a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2409JohnEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NessZ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Located in an amazing forest. Nice hosts. Chalet is nice.
We stayed for one night. Includes breakfast, linen and towels.
shower stall doors wouldn't seal so water were all over the floor
the kids wouldn't go to sleep before I removed spider webs over their beds
Every guest is kindly asked to wipe clean the Chalet and get rid of the trash before leaving, Otherwise he might have to pay 50 euros more (we cleaned)
We paid 188 euros for a couple +3
In my opinion, too expensive for the value

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My Partner and I were taking our caravan across to the Netherlands for the fist time to stay near Utrecht where my youngest daughter works. We had scoured various websites for a touring caravan site, but my daughter found this for us.
What a wonderful place. Peaceful, family run, welcoming and excellent value for money. Much better than many UK sites.
Have no fear of language difficulties – the family speak excellent English (one member having studied at Plymouth University. Breakfast, home prepared bread coffee and dinner (pre-booking necessary) are all available. An excellent display of local attractions is provided.
Nearby is the village of Laage Vuursche (10 mins walk) in which are several excellent restaurants.
The whole area is set in a forest through which there is excellent walking and hiking.
Beautiful Utrecht is 20 minutes away; many interesting places to visit are nearby.
I cannot recommend this place highly enough and we shall certainly return

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Booked this place almost by accident, mainly for its location close to some waypoints I was visiting in Holland. Lage Vuursche is a forest with a lake, and is probably considered a chic area, considering that the Queen has a residence there. This hotel is set outside the town centre, around 5 minutes' walk. Parking is easy. The rooms are great, with ensuites, and are beautifully lit by natural light.

Breakfast is fantastic, with freshly baked bread and focaccia. When needed, we were provided with a packed breakfast due to an early departure. Tasty, abundant and fresh.

They seem to be very flexible about cooking meals for guests. There is no menu, you just tell them what you want beforehand. Didn't try this, but maybe I should have.

A word of warning about Lage Vuursche. Restaurants close very early! Kitchens close at around 19:00, so make sure you calculate your timings correctly. There is one pub serving pizza, and another doing some meat dishes, otherwise you're very much confined to the local speciality which is pancakes.

Room Tip: Rooms at the extremities of the building suffer from poor wi-fi coverage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalteseGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bilthoven
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ernst Sillem Hoeve
Hotel Ernst Sillem Hoeve
#1 of 1 in Den Dolder
118 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton Royal Parc Soestduinen
5.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt- Utrecht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Restaurant Hotel De Kastanjehof
Restaurant Hotel De Kastanjehof
#1 of 1 in Lage-Vuursche
55 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bed & Bubbles
Bed & Bubbles
#2 of 2 in Bilthoven
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PUUR Lage Vuursche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PUUR Lage Vuursche

Property: PUUR Lage Vuursche
Address: Koudelaan 25, 3723 ME Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Bilthoven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bilthoven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your PUUR Lage Vuursche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing