We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of De Zon Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
De Zon Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ommen
Certificate of Excellence
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

A solid hotel. Interior: modern design with nice paintings. Staff: good service attitude and polite. Location: on riverside; elegant dining room and terrace overlooking the river. Rooms: comfortable, good, soft beds, wifi - ask for riverviews. Bathroom: clean, big shower, bath, only one was basin. Breakfast: big, multi choice, fresh fruits and juices, farmproducts available.
Generally: location also near to busy traffic, road and riverbridge. Hence sometimes too much noise, also depending on the tourism season. But all in all good place to be.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meijerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    18
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
29
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed one night in this hotel and will not go back. The room was large, but near the fire door that made a lot of noise when closing. The beds are very soft and I woke up with back pain. Breakfast was oke but aldo overpriced, however coffee was bad and tea tasted like coffee. The room was not that clean with dust everywhere. I will not recommend to stay in this hotel as it is worthy of it's 4 stars. Next time in Ommen we will stay in a B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJC_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here for a wedding ,had a great corner room overlooking the canal and boats .hotel inexpensive for europe ,clean comfortable beds nice staff .ate in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast ,absolutely excellent authentic healthy dutch food .strongly recommended in a pretty area of holland away from the tourist areas .got there easily by train from schipol with one change on the train in zwolle .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arh0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wormer
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

It was just for a short break but definately worthwhile!
You just have to try the "beachseats" at the river Vecht.
Clean, pleasant and royalsized rooms.
We would recommend this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RenAWormer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

We stayed here a nice weekend in november and enjoyed our stay very mutch! The rooms were perfect clean and the employees were most gentle. The restaurant is nicely situated along the river and the vieuw is super. We loved the dinner and have even seen the kitchen en we met the chief! It must be even nicer during summer!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evshpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2006

We stayed here in July 05 for a friend's wedding which was taking place in the massive country house linked with the hotel a few hundred yards away. The hotel was a pleasure to stay in - nicely decorated in a modern style. Our room was an excellent size, spotlessly clean and lovely and light, and the breakfast was excellent as well. We really enjoyed the terrace bar with views over the river...and the nearby windmill. I'd heartily recommend this hotel. Ommen is a nice little town too.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ramsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
208 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 710 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2004

Quite a good hotel, but always overpriced. Unfortunately, there are very few other hotels in the area, and the main ‘competition’ in town (the Hotel Paping) is owned by the same people, so market forces do not work here. Alternatives are all fifteen miles away, to the west in the provincial capital Zwolle or to the north at the Tulip Inn in Hoogeveen.

The top-floor rooms that look inwards across the roof are to be avoided.

Helpful?
2 Thank SouthOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ommen
3.9 mi away
Mooirivier
Mooirivier
#1 of 3 in Dalfsen
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampshire Hotel & Spa – Paping
0.8 mi away
Wildthout Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Zwolle
12.7 mi away
Hotel Lumen
Hotel Lumen
#2 of 9 in Zwolle
4.5 of 5 stars 482 reviews
15.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Zwolle
Mercure Hotel Zwolle
#6 of 9 in Zwolle
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Zon Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Zon Hotel & Restaurant

Property: De Zon Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Voorbrug 1, 7731 BB Ommen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Ommen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ommen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Zon Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Restaurant De Zon in Ommen is situated on one of the most beautiful locations of Ommen, directly to the river "De Vecht".Not only the location is unique, also the building ,dated from 1893, has it’s own special atmosphere. This because of the old high sealings, the modern looks, Uncle Henry’s Pub and the wonderful terrace with view over “De Vecht”.Find out yourself: De Zon is a dynamic and modern hotel & restaurant with a rich history.We are proud we may call ourselves Art-Hotel. In our lounge, conference rooms and restaurant we expose beautiful paintings of the famous dutch painter Henk Helmantel and the abstract, colourfull painter Jan te Wierik.Our kitchen is well-known for it's great quality. Our chef Arjan Bisschop and his kitchen-team a lot of organic products from our region "Het Vechtdal".We are looking forward to welcome you as a guest in our hotel & restaurant! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your De Zon Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing