We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Restaurant Hotel Grand Cafe De Swarte Ruijter
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Holten
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
200 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We booked last minute one night in this hotel, better say restaurant with option to stay overnight. Just great, a rather limited menu with orginal dishes. We choose to be surprised, and we were. One of the best restaurants of The Netherlands.
The cottage style rooms were very good as well, and the quite and beautiful location is a miracle in overcrowded Holland.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    19
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
7
30
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night and enjoyed the restaurant and the hotel. All perfect: service, food, room and all in details. The place is in a forest environment and next w'll bring our walking shoes and take more time.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ralphvanlavieren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

With regards to the food we agree with the previous reviews. This hotel is part of the JRE-group (www.jre.net) and is recommended by the 'Guide Michelin'. Althoiugh you can book arrangements (sleep & eat a 4-course dinner) we decided to book a last minute room (100 Euro for 2 people incl breakfast) and to have the 5 dinner JRE menu. Food was great and the quality was equal to some of the Michelin star restaurants we visited before. Because the restaurant is not too big the atmosphere is nice and the service is very punctual, but could be a little 'warmer'. You have the option to book a wine arrangement but they also have an extensive winelist with reasonable prices.
The rooms are very OK but i would give it a 3-star rating ; for 1 night it's OK but we wouldn't stay here for a longer stay.
Positive : very clean, nice bathroom with bath tub and espresso coffee maker
Negative : no fridge / not isolated - you can hear the neighbours. (but do you have to complain if you can sleep for 100 Euro?)
Agree that the breakfast is not aligned with the quality and choice of food you can pick during dinner.

Suggestion
1. There is another hotel 'Hoog Holten' close to this one with a nice terrace and also part of the JRE group. We'll try this one next time.
2. If you come here make sure you bring your bikes and do the 'Sallandse Heuvelrugroute' - a beautiful tour of 30 km. Nice place for runners and people who like (nordic) walking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank-Ilse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimini, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I really couldn't expect something like this!! What a beautiful surprise...
This is not really an"Hotel", i prefere to consider it like a cottage with more rooms :-D
Main house with restaurant and dependances where the rooms are.
Everythig was perfect: rooms are large and perfectly equipped, the bathroom is so nice...i really had a good sleep. Also the common spaces are very nice and really design..
I really suggest this place!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank filobacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

2 colleagues and I stayed here for a few days in Jan 2013 for a business trip. The rooms were spacious, clean and up kept. The dinner was simply amazing, and we received high quality service thorough our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2NRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
210 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We only stopped in for a cup of coffee/tea since we were early for an appointment in the area and were pleasantly surprised. For 3 euros each my partner had a large, tasty cappuccino and I ordered a tea and was pleased to get not the usual Pickwicks teabag and small cup of lukewarm water but a good-sized pot of hot water and a large cup, as well as a wooden chest boasting 10 types of loose tea! It's the first time I saw that in the Netherlands.

My only (tiny) gripe would be the service was really slow (15 minutes to prepare a coffee and a pot of water is a bit much since we were the only guests) but the tea and coffee were nice, there is a choice of sitting inside or outside (very scenic), the toilets were clean and nice, and there is free wifi (just ask the server for today's log in name and password).

If we were passing this way again we would like to come to this place again. It's the little things that make all the difference and this place is charming and quaint. Worth visiting.

We didn't have any food so can't comment on what they have, neither did we view any hotel rooms. But order the loose tea, it's yummy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
130 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Go to the Swarte Ruijter for old-fashioned service. Staff literally go the extra mile to pick up their guests, als I found when I arrived at the local train station. With luggage for most people it may be a bit of a hike. Having emailed whether it would be possible to walk to the hotel from the station, I was told staff would only be too happy to pick me up. And lo and behold, a nice staff-member met my train and another cheerful one delivered me to my appointment the next morning. At no charge. Reception (at the bar) and check-in were quick and informal, and I felt right at home as I was walked to my cabin-style room on the edge of the woods (with private sitting area outside) about a 100 metres from the picturesque thatched main building. Although the room was well-decorated (albeit a bit sparse and dark, like a holiday home) and had all necessities, don't expect a plush and four star hotel room. Food and service in the evening were great. A true gastronomic feast! Worth a detour! Yes, the extra mile...

Room Tip: Try visiting the Swarte Ruijter during the week, as it can be busier during the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TaxiFaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holten
0.3 mi away
Hoog Holten Hotel & Restaurant
24.9 mi away
Landgoed de Holtweijde
Landgoed de Holtweijde
#1 of 2 in Lattrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.9 mi away
AC Restaurant & Hotel Holten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de Uitkijk
Hotel Restaurant de Uitkijk
#1 of 2 in Hellendoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Herikerberg
Hotel Herikerberg
#1 of 1 in Markelo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Sallandse Heuvelrug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Restaurant Hotel Grand Cafe De Swarte Ruijter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Restaurant Hotel Grand Cafe De Swarte Ruijter

Property: Restaurant Hotel Grand Cafe De Swarte Ruijter
Address: Holterbergweg 7, 7451 JL Holten, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Holten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Holten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Restaurant Hotel Grand Cafe De Swarte Ruijter 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Restaurant Hotel Grand Cafe De Swarte Ruijter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing