We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, accomodating hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hengelo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014

My experience of Hampsire in Hengelo was very pleasant. Nice and clean hotel, at great location, close to the heart of the city as well as the train station. Staff was helpful and when a small problem with payment arose they were very helpful.

Room was massive, but on the negative side the carpet is a bit outdated.
Bathroom was also massive with both a bath and a shower.
Wifi was extra fast and bed was excellent!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MC_Dooren, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you for your review at Tripadvisor.I'm happy to read you had such a good stay at our hotel! We always do our utmost best to give our guests the best service we can and it always nice to hear we succeeded!

We hope to see you again soon!
With kind regards Marieke Dooren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 555 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

The hotel is fine but being a city centre hotel there is noise from the street. My room faced the square which has a popular bar next to the hotel. As the hotel does not have air conditioning with the windows closed the room became very hot.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MC_Dooren, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Anthony,
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I'm sorry to read it was too warm in your room and you could not open the windows because of the noice outside.
I hope this experience will not stop you from visiting us again, we would be happy to give you a room on the other side and a fan, so you will have more comfort.

With kind regards, Marieke Dooren - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Our stay at Hampshire in Hengelo was very pleasant. Our room was tidy and silent, with excellent beds. Service was very nice and good, as was the breakfast. We can gladly recommend this hotel .Thanks!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed here a few times and it's always been 'good' and this 2 night stay was no exception. Everything works, staff friendly, rooms & bathrooms fit for purpose. I've had cleaner bathrooms, faster internet and less worn carpets before but despite this, I'm sure I'll be back.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank H2EauNo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Meijer, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear sir, madam,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay in Hampshire City Hotel Hengelo. I hope to see you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

A good hotel in walking distance to the train station and city center. It has large, comfortable and concept rooms. It has free Wi-Fi access in rooms. The breakfast was good but expensive when we compare to similar hotels. The personnels are smiling and helpful. If I visit Hengelo again I would prefer this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gül T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Meijer, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Gül,

Thank your for your positive feedback regarding your stay in Hampshire City Hotel Hengelo. I hope to see you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Soap dispenser was dirty, complained, that evening; still dirty, cracked bathroom floor, thick layer of dust on the coat rack shelf, stained bathrobe, and more. DO NOT STAY HERE, not your moneys worth!

Room Tip: In another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels
Thank Fah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Meijer, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear sir, madam,

First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in the Hampshire City Hotel Hengelo. Based on your feedback, I would like to get in contact with you to talk about your experience. Can you please send me an e-mail via m.meijer@hampshire-hotels.com?

Many thanks in advanced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Decent hotel in walking distance of the train station. Large, comfortable rooms.

Big, well-lit bathroom with shower stall plus a bath tub, which is a welcome bonus. Hair drier and magnifying mirror mounted on wall - great for make up, shaving, etc. Nice thinking, Hampshire. The shower water, though, kept oscillating between hot and cold. All hotels should take note of the bathroom at this hotel - there is a whisper-quiet intake duct above the shower stall that's always on and it actually works! The mirror hadn't a trace of steam during or after showering - excellent! Why can't all hotels use this method?

The room had a safe, which is always a plus, but it didn't work, seemed the battery was dead. Why can't hotels check these things after guests check out, and have maintenance change the batteries before the next guests check in?

The hotel has no parking but they will validate you for a discount at the garage across the street (13€ overnight at the time of my stay).

Free Wi-Fi but no access in rooms above the first floor. Higher rooms must use wired internet, which is so archaic, and rather unusable in this era of smart phones and tablets.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadWrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Meijer, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear sir, madam,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay in the Hampshire City Hotel Hengelo. I hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hengelo
1.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Hengelo
0.6 mi away
Boutique hotel 't Lansink
2.6 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - De Broeierd Enschede
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Resort Bad Boekelo
Resort Bad Boekelo
#1 of 1 in Boekelo
921 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stravinsky Eten . Drinken . Slapen
8.4 mi away
Theater Hotel Almelo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo

Address: BP Hofstedestraat 50, 7551 DG Hengelo, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Hengelo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hengelo
Price Range: $71 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire City Hotel - Hengelo is easy to reach by car and train. Ideal for a weekend away in the heart of Twente. Certainly if you really fancy a shop till you drop. In Hengelo itself there are surprisingly attractive and original shops, which are included in the special shopping walk route (highly recommended!). But there's also perfect shopping in various cities just over the German border. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing