We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel within an empty town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hengelo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The hotel staff were excellent, with ready smiles and helpful in every ways.
The rooms were excellent, clean and with the right amount of space.
The only problem I had was that my room card consistently had problems. I had to reset it everytime I had to use it. In the morning, after work, after dinner, etc. It's a card that is only good for one time use and the problem persist even after the staff changed a new card for me.
There are a few supermarkets nearby and if you walk a bit further with directions, you will find Albert Heijn for a better selection.
The train and bus stations are a stone's throw from the hotel and therefore, you do not need to drag your luggage over a long distance.
Behind the hotel is a shopping belt (town centre) with a wide variety of shops but don't expect good brands in this little town. I return to the hotel around 7pm daily and most shops including some restaurants were closed. The town becomes almost empty and scary at night, but that means a good and quiet rest in the hotel itself.
The only thing that I do not like about this hotel is its pricey breakfast and relative room rates. For that price I would be able to get a respectable hotel in Enschede, which is a lifelier town with breakfast thrown in. My new staff did not know the place well and simply booked a Hengelo hotel for me while I was busy with other stuff, when the nearby Enschede would be much better.
In summary, this is a good hotel within a quiet town. Excellent for those who are here for business and simply want to return to their rooms after a day's work to rest and nothing else.

A word of advice would be to book through a third party website like booking.com and not directly with the hotel to get better rates.

Room Tip: The suites are huge with Jacuzzis! Grab them if they are on promotion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wensink, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for your visit to our hotel and ofcourse for leaving this pleasant review.
I am sorry for the inconvenience caused by the not working roomcard.
We hope to welcome you again! Or in our collegue hotel in Enschede, Hampshire Hotel De Broeierd.

Best regards,
Marloes Wensink

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 571 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Its a nice hotel with a kind staff. The rooms are big and modern. Only the carpet need a refreshment because its not verry clean. The bathroom was nice and big. Breakfast was more than i expected so i was verry pleased with it. Enough to chose from. Its verry near to the citycentre and the cafe's are just around the corner. When i need a hotel in Hengelo again i would go back there.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chez T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wensink, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Sir/Mrs,

Thanks a lot for writing this review. With your input we can improve ourselves. I hope I may welcome you again soon in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Marloes Wensink
Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Perfectly fine hotel for a business trip, breakfast is ok, though limited selection of hot food. Location is very good, only a few minutes walk to the train station and also to the town centre where there are a lot of restaurants serving better food.

Only thing stopping this hotel from getting a '4' from me is the lack of an on site gym.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dtaylo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wensink, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Sir,

thank you for your review.
We do have a special dayprice for a gym nearby.

So maybe next time when you visit us you could have a work out in that gym.

Hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,
Marloes Wensink

hotelmanager
m.wensink@hampshire-hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Hampshire Hotel from Hengelo NL is very nice with quality service; close to the town center (a lot of shops, restaurants and places to be visit around).
The rooms from the hotel are nice, big, quiet and clean.
The breakfast is very good with all that is necessary.

Very nice hotel!

Room Tip: A room with king bed size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

A quick choice from a booking site led to a lovely, relaxed weekend. The hotel has a centric location in Hengelo, near shops and restaurants and close to the station, and the rooms are spacious. The bathroom had a bathtub and a shower and still a lot of free room in the middle, big and comfortable. The bed could have been a bit better, and the pillows deserve an upgrade. However, the decor was pleasant, with warm colours, not the boring hotel beige you can someties see.
Bikes were available for 8.50 per day and they were good, sturdy but light, reliable bikes, we made a tour of about 40-50 kms, via Enschede through the German border and back.
Staff are easy-going, very friendly and helpful, in a no-nonsense way. There is a parking place just opposite and it costs 13 EUR per night, but staff will be pleased to advise you where to go for free parking (not too far, actually, just cross under the train lane.
All in all: the hotel contributed to a very enjoyable weekend in Twente, recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ag M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Very clean, large rooms. Comfortable bed. Ironing board and iron available on each floor. Good choice for breakfast. Excellent location in centre with access to many restaurants. Some parking outside and a multistory car park opposite costing 14euros for overnight.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stopped here on our way to Berlin, and was most impressed by this hotel. Service was very good, check in very quick. The restaurant was good, and food first class. We had a studio room 510 and it was massive. Had everything you needed for an overnight stay.
Only a couple of things let it down and that was no mini bar or air conditioning. It was warm the night we got there, but must be unbearable in the middle of summer.
Very good value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hengelo
1.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Hengelo
2.6 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - De Broeierd Enschede
0.6 mi away
Boutique hotel 't Lansink
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stravinsky Eten . Drinken . Slapen
4.8 mi away
Resort Bad Boekelo
Resort Bad Boekelo
#1 of 1 in Boekelo
936 reviews
5.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Enschede
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo

Address: BP Hofstedestraat 50, 7551 DG Hengelo, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Hengelo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hengelo
Price Range: $80 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire City Hotel - Hengelo is easy to reach by car and train. Ideal for a weekend away in the heart of Twente. Certainly if you really fancy a shop till you drop. In Hengelo itself there are surprisingly attractive and original shops, which are included in the special shopping walk route (highly recommended!). But there's also perfect shopping in various cities just over the German border. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing