We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It’s heaven on earth.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mooirivier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mooirivier
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dalfsen
Certificate of Excellence
ottersum
Level Contributor
127 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“It’s heaven on earth.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

To visit Museum ‘De Fundatie” in Zwolle in August 2013, we stayed 2 nights at Hotel Mooirivier (Beautiful River). It is five years ago converted from a conference center into a hotel with meeting rooms. It is beautifully situated on the River Vecht about 10 kilometers from Dalfsen center and 20 kilometers from Zwolle city center. You can rent bikes (9.50 a day) and make some beautiful trips in the surrounding. The hotel has various buildings and thus covers a fairly large area. In the main building you’ll find the 101 rooms and the 2 restaurants. The first, The Bistro, has a large terrace where you eventually can have your diner, if the weather permits this. There is also a second terrace near the river. The second restaurant is down stairs where a 3 or 4 course meal is offered at a reasonable price. It is the same room where breakfast is served. The whole building has no air conditioning, nevertheless it is pretty cool. Mooirivier has a very large parking for free and you can use Wifi without charges, but the connection in our room was quite often interrupted for a short time.
If you enter the hotel, you come into a large lobby which runs out into a large lounge. Staff in all areas is very kind and helpful and check inn/check out went very smoothly. Check your bill on departure because of the unfortunate account system, there is no direct connection between the signed vouchers and the description on the invoice. Staff needed at least 20 minutes to discover an error in our invoice. Which apart from that, does not affect the excellent service. For example, I left my little box with medicine and staff called me and sent it prepaid to me.
We asked for a quiet room and we got one (room 156). The room is rather small but efficiently arranged. It has a twin bed with excellent mattresses and 4 pillows, although for some people the mattresses are somewhat soft, I suppose. There is a large linen cupboard, a small LCD TV, a working table and a large mirror. There is neither a fridge nor a minibar. The 2 windows, overlooking the garden are very well soundproofed. The bathroom has a washstand, a toilet, a hairdryer and an excellent shower, with an anti-slip floor and a safety grip at the wall. There are small pieces of soap and shower gel. Like the rest of the hotel, room and bathroom are impeccable clean.
The warm/cold breakfast buffet is amazingly good, both with respect to quality of the (locally prepared) products as well as their variety. There is a large variety of bread, meat and cheese products, yoghurt and jam and the English buffet is highly recommended as well. We once had diner in the Grand Café and once in the (breakfast) restaurant. In the former you can have your diner á la carte in the latter it is supposed to have a fixed 3 or 4 course menu, which is changed every day. The food is of very high standard at a reasonable price, In my opinion worth a Michelin star.
All in all, I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel, be it for a private or a business stay. The price of 69 euro a night including breakfast is very competitive.
Tip: visit museum De Fundatie in Zwolle which was re-opened in 2013. At the top of the museum a large blue sphere has been built where levels 3 and 4 are located, which gives the museum its characteristic appearance

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwmpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooirivier, Public Relations Manager at Mooirivier, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
You made our day! Thank you for these warm and generous comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Also thanks for your feedback regarding our billing system, we are working on a better and faster system.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experiences at Mooirivier. We very much hope that we may welcome you again!

Kind regards,
Mooirivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    73
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
63
2
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stopped for one night. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the hotel was completely quiet through the night and the restaurant we ate at (there are 2 in the hotel, I understand) trying for a bit more than your average hotel restaurant.

I've seen one review here suggest the restaurant staff weren't particularly friendly and the food was average. In my experience the staff everywhere were fantastically friendly and as for the food - well, if the introductory goat cheese & apple white-chocolate-covered popsicle offered for free as we sat down counts as average then you're living in a slightly odd world.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidJonesBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limmen
Level Contributor
200 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here two nights during a business meeting. This venue is an old farm right next to a river. Beautiful surroundings and what made it even better was the first snow of the year. The meetingrooms are modern with all the equipment you need. The restaurant is good. Breakfast and lunch include lots of healthy food and local produce. Diner was good but lacked enough side dishes. My room (108) was small but comfortable. Double bed, TV, wireless internet (free), bathroom with shower (no bathtub). I can definitly recommand this place.

Room Tip: There are bigger rooms, so ask for those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milo1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent 1 night here and we were very happy. Service was good, breakfast good. The room we stayed in was spacious with a very large bathroom and fantastic double shower. Bed was extremely comfortable. WE had dinner at their restaurant and it was superb. Lovely quiet place we you can walk along the river there. No faults here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed in this clean and modern hotel for one night and do not regret our choice. The rooms are spaceous, clean and well equiped with a big flatscreen tv, safe, minibar, hairdryer and all the bathroom amenities one would expect. The grounds are nice and it's location next to the river makes it even more romantic. Breakfast was excellent and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betelnutisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed here. The location is lovely and the rooms are good, but are showing a little wear and tear compared to last time. Breakfast is good and the bread is some of the best we tasted.
The only negative, which we were very disappointed by, is the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room. This wasn't a problem last time as we used the coffe/tea machines in the hallways however this time they turned the machines off. When my husband asked for some hot water and a little bit of milk (he had his own teabags) he was told he had to pay for it and the coffee machines were for conference guests only. Maybe they are more interested in conference guests rather than hotel guests?

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Muppet71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

It's a beautiful hotel in a country side environment with very beautiful scenery.Am here in summer n it's awesome riverside view is very relaxing. Highly recommend fr those looking fr complete peaceful holiday but food is so so. About 1.5 hrs from airport.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jayacindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalfsen
7.3 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Zwolle
10.1 mi away
Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle
8.8 mi away
Hotel Lumen
Hotel Lumen
#2 of 9 in Zwolle
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Bilderberg Grand Hotel Wientjes
11.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Zwolle
Mercure Hotel Zwolle
#6 of 9 in Zwolle
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hof van Dalfsen
Hof van Dalfsen
#2 of 3 in Dalfsen
4.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mooirivier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mooirivier

Property: Mooirivier
Address: Oude Oever 10, 7722 VE Dalfsen, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Dalfsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dalfsen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mooirivier 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Mooirivier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing