We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strooppot

Strooppot
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Den Burg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strooppot
Save
You added Strooppot to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 3 Den Burg B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Francita is a very hard working and friendly host who went a very long way in helping our stay on Texel to be as charming as it was, which was very charming indeed! Strooppot is a lovely old farmhouse that has been very tastefully modernised. There is even an old folk tale attached!! Ask Francita about it ;-). All the rooms are a good size and we especially liked ours (in the loft). It is a 7 minute cycle ride into Den Burg and 13 from Paal 17 beach (recommended). We rented our bikes at the Texel ferry terminal and it took us 30 minutes to cycle there. It is a great base to explore the whole island. The breakfast is substantial and our stay was very good value, if we came back to Texel we would stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shermer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South of England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

De Strooppot is an old farmhouse about 2km outside Den Burg, the principal town on Texel in the centre of the island. The owner (Francita Bruin) welcomed us with when we arrived with tea in the garden. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We stored our bicycles in the barn. Francita briefed us on what to do for our 2 days on Texel and had plenty of maps and information. Breakfast was very good with boiled eggs, bread, ham, cheese etc. The house is extremely quiet. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at De Strooppot and Texel.

Room Tip: Francita has three rooms - all are good. One has it's own bathroom, the others share one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Englishmanonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed two nights in The Stroopot and had an extremely relaxing and enjoyable stay. We, ourselves, run a B & B in England and found a generally lower standard of room facilities ithroughout Holland. This is reflected in the price, though, which tended to be lower than in the UK. That said, The Stroopot had the best we encountered on our cycle tour. The room was large and the bed firm and very comfortable. The bathroom had a shower and a large bath, with plenty of hot water, perfect for relaxing in after a day on the saddle. Mrs Brown was very helpful and informative and provided a very tasty and generous breakfast. She even supplied us with bags to pack the uneaten rolls for a picnic lunch.

One slight drawback might be the distance from the town centre, only five minutes or so on a bike, but a fair old walk to the nearest restaurant.

The Stroopot proved to be an ideal base for exploring the beautiful island of Texel, and we would not hesitate to stay there again.

The history and Saga of The Stroopot was fascinating and worth a read on Google.

Try it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

We experienced a very friendly and helpful service. The room was simple, spacious and clean. The location is well suited if you are looking to explore Texel. It is close to the main bus link from the Texel Ferry which is 5 minutes walk away at zijstraat 12. Having said that probably the best way to get around the island is by bike, but the only close by (within walking distance) bike rental place gave us a different service in contrast to our accommodation. We were maybe partly to blame as we pre-emailed and stated that we would pick up our bikes at 10.30. We were delayed and only showed up at 13.00. However, we did not realise that this would be a problem until we arrived. The proprietor told us that he was too busy to assist us and we would need to wait for at least half an hour. We were the only clients in the place and the sign on the rental building clearly stated "open till 18.00." We decided not to hire the bikes in the end. We would advise you to consider this when planning your trip.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VayeniTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

Full disclosure -- we wrote the first review for the Strooppot from summer 2008. We returned this year with our two young children and with their grandmother and aunt. This time we (the six of us) stayed in two rooms in the main house with a shared bath (each room had its own sink, though). These rooms are cozy and positively immaculate, and Francita's hospitality simply cannot be beat. She made us feel so welcome in the home and garden, and provided ample breakfast with rolls, eggs, cheese, meats, coffee, juice, breads, etc. The Strooppot is not the place to go if you insist on typical US amenities like cable TV but it is a _wonderful_ place to go if you wish to just enjoy the peaceful coastal atmosphere. A great place to unwind. She was also simply lovely with the children. (There were a number there that weekend). She can also provide nice recommendations for restaurants and activities on Texel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blue_kazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Den Burg
4.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Texel
Boutique Hotel Texel
#1 of 6 in De Cocksdorp
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel de Lindeboom
Hotel de Lindeboom
#1 of 6 in Den Burg
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Koogerend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
De Smulpot
De Smulpot
#2 of 6 in Den Burg
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Opduin
Grand Hotel Opduin
#2 of 11 in De Koog
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Kogerstaete
Hotel Kogerstaete
#3 of 11 in De Koog
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strooppot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strooppot

Property: Strooppot
Address: Kogerweg 152, 1791 MK Den Burg, Texel, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Texel > Den Burg
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Den Burg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Strooppot Den Burg, Texel, The Netherlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing