We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good food busy tourist street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vogelhuis Oranjerie

Vogelhuis Oranjerie
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in De Koog
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Roosendaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food busy tourist street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

If you want to have some nice food in de koog, this is a good location. Also do not forget to try the local Texel beer. A must if you like beer!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joost V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    74
    30
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good restaurant in De Koog”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had some very good seafood here. The service was good and the price is right! So we recommend you trying Vogelhuis Oranjerie

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank vincenthalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great with young kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had a quick lunch here at the end of our stay on Texel. The menu is quite extensive and well priced. The kids got a very cool soft toy as part of their kids meal (a super souvenior). The jumpy castle and playground just off the big sunny terrace meant we could sit and relax and enjoy the sunshine. Good, quick service. All in all a recommended stop.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nederlander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best restaurant on Texel island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We've just spent a great weekend on Texel Island with my fiancee. At this time of the year (November - off season) the summer-holiday island was clearly deserted. There were only a handful of good restaurants open, but we've been lucky enough to find the Vogelhuis Oranjerie in de Koog.

Food is great, the restaurant looks really neat, and there is a central fireplace to add to that. The waiters are really friendly and adwise you based on your likes vs. trying to offer you the priciest dishes.

Try the starters, with some extra helping of a side, if you're really hungry. These straters are huge, nicely presented and offer a local touch - shrimps / lamb / cheese from the region.

The prices are also the best compared to the other restaurants around. A must try, if you're on Texel.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gergely K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good quality food, very professional restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

On Texel, this is one of the few professional restaurants. The quality is the highest we found on the island. The atmosphere is less impressive (there are many very nicely decorated restaurants on Texel, where the food comes on the second place), but the food is close to perfect.
Coffee and ice cream are perfect as well.
For about 40 Euro per person, we've had a very good (three course) dinner.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RvGeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vogelhuis Oranjerie also viewed

 

Been to Vogelhuis Oranjerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing